We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Friendly”
Review of Valley Ford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valley Ford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valley Ford
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We happened upon this hotel on accident and we're glad we did! Really cute, down to earth room with a great wooden deck with ample seating. Super friendly owner who stayed up late for us. We loved it and were sad we couldn't be there for Oysterpalooza!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

What a lovely spot for two weary travelers! No distractions! Wonderful bedding! My "Keurig Away From Home" in the hallway!! If we had arrived earlier we would have sat on the porch for awhile. That was only regret......that we didn't have longer time to spend there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I gave this a 5 star for me. It is not for the traveler who needs internet or phone service. But that is true of much of the coast.

The rooms are immaculate and decorated in accordance with a typical farm home. If you are there between Thurs to Sunday, you get to eat fabulous oyster dishes at the restaurant! There are 2 other restaurants within walking distance for other times. Both good.

The owner was remarkably responsive and helpful.

Room Tip: Sorry no room service. I couldn't un click.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitskid42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

While I enjoy historic hotels, I do expect modern conveniences - like a working shower - for $200/night. The hotel itself is an adorable old building and the very small rooms are comfortable. There is zero sound proofing so you will hear every snore next door or noise from the restaurant/bar below (which closes around 10pm). The tiny shower in our room had less than a "trickle" of water with only freezing water. When we tried to find someone to help us, there is no staff on location so we were unable to shower. The restaurant downstairs had super friendly service and good food but if you like personal hygiene or don't really want to hear every single sound from the near by rooms don't stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Valley Ford Hotel for a birthday weekend getaway, and it was AMAZING! We were so impressed with the friendly staff, clean rooms, quaint bar, and restaurant. This place was perfect! The restaurant and it's food was delicious!! The rooms were sooo clean (no tv was a good thing), smelt amazing, and it was the perfect temperature! My fiance and I have decided that we will have our wedding here, and use their catering as well. They have a BEAUTIFUL patio in the back, and a wonderful garden. I LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Things to remember:
1) If you want to eat at the restaurant, make sure to look at when it is open, and make a reservation!
2) Remember, there is no tv, so be prepared for a none to low service tech getaway. It's still soo much fun!
3) Check In at the bar, and if you arrive late, your key will be in an envelope at the front.
4) I'm a heavy sleeper, but you may hear some noise from the bar.

AND the best part, was the continental breakfast on Saturday morning. EVERYTHING WAS DELICIOUS and homemade for sure! They use everything free-range, organic etc, so make sure you're a little open to that. But no worries, from someone who does not eat free range, healthy all the time, the food was still AMAZING!

PS: We went horseback riding with Bad Boy Cowboys (preplanned and paid) on Saturday-totally worth it!

I cannot express how wonderful our trip was. If you get the chance to stay at this retreat, please do! We totally recommend it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5. Clean, quiet, and smelt wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I would like to express how much we enjoyed our five day stay at the Valley Ford Hotel. In an earlier review I stated that I have been staying at this Hotel since before the turn of the century – well this will continue in this century. Shona and Brandon makes one feel welcome with every visit. They are wonderful hosts! The food at Rocker Osyterfellers (and the weekend Continental Breakfast – homemade scones!) is 2nd to none. So if you want to take a step back into time and just relax consider staying at the Valley Ford Hotel. We will continue to do so!

AFC

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I loved staying at Valley Ford Hotel. The location was perfect for access to everything in West Marin. The room was clean and cute and I slept soundly! There are a lot of thoughtful touches including the Keurig Coffee bar in the hall. My only regret is that I was there on a day when the restaurant/bar was not open. I will definitely come back to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley Ford
5.9 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,585 reviews
6.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
521 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
124 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
90 reviews
24.2 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Ford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Ford Hotel

Address: 14415 Highway 1, Valley Ford, CA 94972
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Valley Ford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valley Ford
Price Range: £102 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley Ford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Valley Ford Hotel, built in 1864, is located in the rolling hills of West Sonoma County, in the quaint community of Valley Ford. The hotel has seven charming guest rooms, each with a queen bed and private bath. The rooms feature comfortable high-thread count triple sheeted & quilted beds, over-sized bath towels and local artisan soaps. Rocker Oysterfeller's Kitchen & Saloon, which celebrates local, seasonal and sustainably farmed foods with its Southern inspired dishes is just downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Valley Ford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing