We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''unsafe and slept in fear!''”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victorville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shady Oasis Kampground
Reviewed 2 September 2012

koa's are great,shady oasis this place is something out of deliverence we got there and after a day of riding dirtbikes we rented one of their four person cabins we grilled and were enjoying ourselves but as the afternoon persists things started to change ,a couple of red flags had been in my mind as soon as we got there first of all when we first got there it seemed like all the staff was related by one form or another everyone had tattos and a couple of Confederate flags caught my eye ok, no big deal right...then everyone seemed to be in a bad mood very rude and no kindness was felt kinda gave me the creeps they had family members permanently live on the campground in trailers

Room Tip: cabins are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank an0nym0us0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Shady Oasis Kampground over the Memorial Day holiday. We chose this campground because of location...was the closest to the softball fields where our granddaughter was playing. When we checked in I asked if our three family members, who were staying in a hotel, could come to our trailer for a meal. Was told I would need to pay $5 a person for them to enter the campground because they were having "entertainment". This was a shock to me as it is only $3 a person for staying overnight in our unit. When I pointed this out, the lady said "well just come in and tell us they are staying the night". FYI.....family decided not to come over. We spent time with them elsewhere. The person checking us in required us to wear amusement park wrist bands for our entire stay (how uncomfortable and annoying).As former campground owners, we know the hard work it takes to maintain the facilities...after our busy season we always repaired, replaced and repainted. I should have listened to Terrible's review as the same moldy, torn shower curtains that were there in November were still in the bathrooms. In the women's restroom only one shower had a door. The others had the nasty torn shower curtain like those in the showers themselves. The one thing that was really good was instant hot water.....UNTIL THE LAST MORNING of our stay. I went to the restroom about 9:30am and found the door locked. The lady on duty was standing in the office doorway and saw me walk past with my towel yet did not tell me I would need a code so I had to walk back and ask for it. When I prepared to step into the shower discovered that the nice instant hot water was now barely warm. Let it run for a few minutes....when it did not get any warmer I had to dress and go to the office. When I said there was no hot water, a man came up to check it out. THE HOT WATER HEATER HAD BEEN TURNED DOWN TO WARM! I took a quick cold shower. Our Good Sam Card was not honored "because it was a holiday weekend. ". When I asked for the discount on Monday night was told that was part of the holiday even though the lady had just said there would not be many campers after the holiday and we would have peace and quiet our last night. We enjoyed the many hummingbirds around the campground but will not stay at Shady Oasis again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My name is Betty , I'm from Los Angeles Calif, My brother Lou and his Family have been here before and they invited be to tag along this Momerial Day , witch was my first time there, i was so happy i went , the experance i had could not be expressed enough, the people were no polite , nice and respectful, joyfull , the camp site is very clean , i enjoyed the entertainment the d,j ,swinning pool, riding bikes, thank you for such a peaceful place i will most definitley be returning with other family members. Thank you for such house potality, keep up the good work, and keep putting smiles on peoples faces,,, Thank you Ayala,Menchaca Family,

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betty a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have stayed here three times in the last 2 months. Two times in the cute air-conditioned cabins and once in a tent site. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definately be back soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Cruiser817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

In one day, we drove from Bryce Canyon on our way home to Ventura County . Originally, we had planned to stop in St. George, but it didn't look as nice as it did on the internet, so we just had lunch there, and walked around.

2 hours later, we were driving through Las Vegas, not my favorite place, whether in an RV or even if we got a room. So we kept going.

By 6 pm, we were in Victorville, and saw this former KOA campground. It is fine for an an overnight rest stop. As will all KOA's, it is right by the freeway, so a little noisy, but not as bad as I would have thought. There are some spots with mature trees, including ours, which dripped pitch right where I was walking (can't blame the park for that!)

We did not see the bathrooms or showers. The pool was locked at 7 pm, when the front office also closed. I don't know if it was open before. It looked clean. There were a few RV travellers already here, including one family, and a couple more came in during the night.

As with many campgrounds, there is a permanent living section, which we didn't explore. Seemed quiet and well-maintained. The 2 women at the desk were pleasant. One drove us to our spot in her golf cart, and later, when I was emptying trash, she lifted the bin lid for me! I thought that was very nice.

I don't see this as a destination campground, but I felt safe and very grateful that it was here for us to get a good nights sleep and an easy start for the final leg back home.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed in this RV Park for 2 nights while completing Route 66. The lady at the reception was very snotty and charged us $3.00 per child per night extra (we have 2 teenagers). The total bill came to over $70.00 which was ridiculous considering the pool and other 'amenities' were closed. The bathrooms were in one word disgusting - there was so much mold on the shower curtains it was scary. The floors had dirt that was ground into the grout and the toilets did not flush that well. Each shower stall had black tape all over cracks and there was hair from who knows how long ago stuck to the drains.
We were forced to shower there one morning, since they turned the water off overnight, after they had assured us they would not do that.
We have been on the road for 6 weeks, driving close to 4,000 miles and this is by far the worst place we have ever been to.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rom124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47Gerrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victorville hotels
3.4 mi away
Green Tree Inn & Extended Stay Suites
7.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Victorville
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Victorville
Holiday Inn Victorville
#4 of 19 in Victorville
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Victorville
Hilton Garden Inn Victorville
#1 of 19 in Victorville
597 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Victorville
Comfort Suites Victorville
#3 of 19 in Victorville
131 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travel Inn & Suites
Travel Inn & Suites
#6 of 19 in Victorville
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Oasis Kampground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Oasis Kampground

Address: 16530 Stoddard Wells Rd, Victorville, CA 92395-2819 (Formerly Victorville / Inland Empire KOA)
Region: United States > California > Victorville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Victorville
Price Range: £20 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plenty of shady sites gives Shady Oasis it's name, and makes it a great place to stop after a long day of driving through the high desert. We are a short distance to such places as Disneyland and Hollywood, and provide full hookup sites as well as tent sites, and cabin rentals. There is plenty on site to keep you busy such as volleyball, horseshoes, a swimming pool and a rec room; or go for a walk along the riverbed or hike in the nearby hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing