We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, well-kept campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Visalia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in a 1-room Kamp Kabin. Nice landscaping around. Outdoor sinks for campers' use; good laundry facilities. Bath houses are well maintained. However, one is co-ed, so unless you want to find your kids bathing with kids of the opposite sex, I'd make sure you're using the non co-ed showers, even though each unit in the co-ed offers its own privacy. Our cabin included a comfortable full or possibly queen bed plus bunks. There was a picnic table and grill/firepit as well as the porch swing. Not a bad drive to Sequoia from here. Their wi-fi is their only downfall. They only offer 1 free hour of wi-fi per device, but when I tried to log on, I immediately had to pay online for a 24-hour usage at $3.95. This is small, I realize, but not for anyone staying longer than one night. I just think that's a bit ridiculous. Other than that, this is a beautiful place and their pool is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Located in the middle of industrial area way outside of Visalia, poor or nonexistent facilities on campground for kids ( old and fully sunbathed and dusty playground, closed swimmingpool in 31 degrees C) I wont ever come back or recommend!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank JutkaSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed in many KOAs. This is one of the best. It has a friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. The restrooms are modern and clean. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and inviting. The landscaping was beautiful and showed the hard work the staff must have put into maintaining it. We loved the large air conditioned recreation room. On hot days it became out haven.

I would not hesitate to stay here again if I return to the Visalia area with my camper.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Visited this site as part of a stopover on the way to LA from Yosemite. The staff were nice and friendly, had a park which we struggled to get our daughter off. Games room is a bit dated. Struggled to find the campsite as Sat Night got us lost and not great signage to the site.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

My family and I chose to stay here mainly because we were planning on visiting the Sequoia Kings Canyon Parks, and this seemed like the best bet, plus from their website it seemed like a very nice shaded place (which with the high temperatures that Visalia/Fresno is known for is a must!).
We arrived and saw that the 2 sites that we were assigned had practically no shade at all, when I asked at the front desk if it were at all possible to at least move one if our units to a more shaded area the Asian lady who runs the place said "No, if you don't like it you can leave" WOW! What customer service, she was rude and no help in making the customer feel welcomed at all.
The pool has no shading only 4 tables with umbrellas, and a scorching hot ground. The pool for most of our stay was filthy! The water so bad and cloudy that- I kid you not- you could hardly see your feet! The last week we stayed (almost 4 in total) the pool was finally cleaned.
The pictures that are on the website show green and flowers, expecting you to think you are heading to a nice setting; nope, industrial buildings and ghetto looking houses surround this KOA.
The staff (other then the Asian couple that runs the place) are all nice and try to be very helpful and accommodating.

Internet is hardly existent.

This place is ok if you are just dropping by for the night, like I saw many campers doing. NOT for long term stay though.
Won't be coming back here again, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luariyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had a great couple of days at this KOA. Great site - nice pool and clean restrooms. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Games room kept kids entertained too. Stayed here July 2013. The only downside was that the wifi was slow and we experienced intermittent problems in connectivity (as did others).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zada205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Very friendly helpful staff. They have a store with little essentials that you might need, or have forgotten. the staff made useful suggestions on great restaurants and sights.The place is very clean and very quiet. The only problem I had was that the wireless Internet they advertise is slower than dial up.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
881 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
778 reviews
1.7 mi away
Visalia Sequoia Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
215 reviews
6.6 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA

Address: 7480 Avenue 308, Visalia, CA 93291-8767 (Formerly Visalia/Fresno KOA)
Region: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Visalia
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visalia / Sequoia National Park KOA is a family friendly park that is located in Visalia,California near Sequoia & kings Canyon National Parks which makes it a great spot for those who plan to visit the Sierras. This location provides opportunities for wonderful day trips such as downtown Visalia with all its quaint shops and restaurants or Exeter with its murals and antique shops. For RVs, we provide grassy, shaded pull thru sites with cable TV & Wi-Fi. Our tent sites are large and grassy with restrooms near by. There are one and two room camping cabins with air-conditioning. We also have deluxe cabins available. All sites have tables and fire rings. Our facility also contains a pool, volley ball court, horse shoes, a playground for smaller children, and a game room. Four our pets we have a K9 dog park. Planning a family reunion or group event? Reserve our Recreation Room for your "get-to-gether". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing