We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay, but no hot tub as advertised on website”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Overall our stay here was nice. For the price we paid we were very happy with the room layout. Some of the decor could use some upgrades, but that isn't an issue to us. The complementary breakfast was very good. Parking was easy next door. There were many shops and restaurants next to the hotel in downtown Visalia.

The main negative I have is that as of 10/9/13 their webpage says.... "Guest will also enjoy the fitness center and outdoor hot tub". Also, there is a picture of the hot tub on website. We headed out to find said hot tub in full swim gear & we found it, the only problem being that it is filled in with concrete. The outline of the hot tub looked nice, but i would have preferred a little less concrete.

Honestly this is a pretty good place to stay for the price, but it's kind of a bummer when something is on the webpage and its nonexistent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schmoaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimi D, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Sorry for the confusion, the spa was removed do to new ADA requirements, We are trying to get all pages upgraded. I am glad you enjoyed everything else with us, and hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Spacious rooms with suite to sit and relax and big bathroom. Nice staff, parking covered and next door in the middle of Visalia just behind the main street. Nice restaurants and shops close by. Did not sleep well because of a lot of street noises till 3am. Cars accelerating loudly, people shouting, very disturbing. Maybe it was because it was a Friday evening. Breakfast was complimentary and offered lots of warm and cold choices enough to make it to lunch and beyond.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We've stayed at this Comfort Suites twice, the first time many years ago when it was new. It's location is perfect, we hardly used the car as we could walk to shops, and restaurants. We like the "suites" as they are roomier than most hotel rooms, and have all the amenities. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good, with waffles, eggs, bacon as well as the usual bagels, sweet rolls, yougert, fruit, etc. The hotel shares a city parking garage, but having indoor parking in the heat of summer, was a real plus. The hotel is starting to show it's age, the drapes were looking worn with the hot sun beating in on them, only one elevator, so sometimes a wait to get back to the room. Reasonably priced, though, so can't really complain. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We arrived early, and had no problem checking in for Friday/Saturday nights. Request a room not fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancymoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great staff and location, comfortable room. Breakfast was typical of what you'de expect from a Comfort Inn, this location offered a managers evening reception w/drinks. The drinks were average beer or wine offerings but it was kind of weird since you were given a "coupon" good for two drinks p/person but the woman running the evening shift couldn't recall who had what and when we asked for our second drink she told us we had them already. UM....no we didn't. Not a big deal but just felt weird having a disagreement about having another beer after a long day of driving. The other hiccup for me with this strange smell in the room, not musty but almost like there had been a fire or something. Not enough to complain about since we were only staying one night. Overall a very comfortable stay, good location with very good staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoFirewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimi D, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

I am sorry about the problem you had during the Managers Reception, I do appreciate you writing to let us know, we always appreciate hearing from our guest.
I hope you will give us another chance, to make your stay with us everything it should be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great downtown location and close to all eats.

Staff very helpful and great breakfast..

Held both rooms together and when we arrived late they were next to each other.

Helped with our restaurant selection and was great idea.

Room Tip: Pillows could use a little work, pretty small great HBO and staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmacguy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were only here one night but it was a very pleasant experience. We arrived very late and the staff was great. He had us checked in right away. Parking was very secure and easy. The rooms were well stocked with the basics and very clean. Overall we had an enjoyable experience and a restful night sleep.

Room Tip: We had the double queen room. Very spacious with a mini living room at the front. Nicely set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a very nice hotel in downtown Visalia. All of the rooms are suites. We stayed here 1 night on our way out of Sequoia NP. Parking is free in the garage next door and spaces are reserved for hotel customers. The room was clean and very nice. The breakfast had hot and cold selections. We also used the guest laundry and the front desk gave us a room on the same floor which made it convenient. The hotel was also reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaloja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visalia hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
778 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 14 in Visalia
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#5 of 14 in Visalia
486 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
5.7 mi away
Visalia Sequoia Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 210 E Acequia Ave, Visalia, CA 93291-6319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range: £74 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel located in downtown across from the convention center. Close to dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Suites Visalia
Visalia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing