We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Just out and about.

I actually live in Visalia and yet hadnt really ever visited this park. The grounds were overgrown... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
djsmith2016
,
Visalia, California
A Good Place for Family Outings

Mooney Grove Park is a family friendly park with kid activities, lots of grass, picnic areas, and... read more

Reviewed 11 April 2017
Jim L
,
Visalia, California
via mobile
Read all 45 reviews
  
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
10
9
11
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
9
11
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I actually live in Visalia and yet hadnt really ever visited this park. The grounds were overgrown in many areas, bathrooms were not clean, trashes were over flowing in some areas. However, the musium looked interesting and I will be going to check that out, but as far as thoughts of booking a function here, I will pass. I admit, I was disappointed in the lack of upkeep. Its a beautiful area, just could use some improvment on the grounds.

1  Thank djsmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The park needs to be renovated, the duck feces are everywhere in the park. There are old playground metal pieces left from what I am assuming the 80's. At one time they had paddle boats and those are gone too. The museum is ok, they built a new one but it's kinda pointless, they could have done better with it.

2  Thank Cris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Great Park full of fun. You can play Frisbee golf, ride paddle boats, fish for trout, have a family BBQ, visit the museum...etc.

Thank BluesTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We love the museum that is on the park, entrance is free, but would like a donation. It is about pioneer times, there is a wide variety of barbed wires, branding irons, early pistols and rifles, and some old buildings that are very interesting. Lots of walking areas.

2  Thank jeannecass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

It's a peaceful park to go play disk golf, run, or enjoy the scenery. When in Visalia I definitely recommend this place!

1  Thank SunnyvaleKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Plenty of things to do and see. We loved to stroll and watch everything around us. So glad that there is plenty of shade there as the day was extremely hot.

Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Mooney Grove Park is a family friendly park with kid activities, lots of grass, picnic areas, and many oak trees, etc. I saw many families relaxing and enjoying the serenity of the park. Other groups were playing games in the grass, listening to music, or celebrating a birthday or other occasion. This is true all day long. There is also a small museum in the park-and it is worth a little time to see.

However, at times it feels less family friendly at dusk or later-as those who frequent the park at these times are not always family oriented. The county government is trying to alter this issue.

I recommend going to the park-but during the daylight hours.

Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Lots of great old oak trees to see and have a picnic under. There is also a museum of Tulare County history to see. Unfortunately the amusement area has been neglected and is no longer open. The last time I was there, the price to enter the park was $5.00.

Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Had fun walking and enjoyed feeding the ducks and watching our grandkids play on the swings. good wholesome fun and great place for a Bar-B-Q

Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The park has been a part of the community for a century. It has broad lawn areas and picnic tables under a canopy of an Oak forest.There are play structures for kids and a fine local history museum in the park. The Museum is very well done. The park, unfortunately, has been neglected. The lagoon that once had boating is now full of litter, the numerous wild fowl that called it home have left. Many repairs seem needed and everything needs painting.

1  Thank mfulmer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews