We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Pok
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Place to stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Was there last weekend. Rooms are good size, not huge with a full kitchen and pull out sofa.
Comfortable and quiet and was a pleasure to stay at and only $119. per night.
Have a good breakfast. Not the best I have had but certainly hit the spot.
Parking was easy.
Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Mine was on the back, overlooked houses back yard and was very quiet. Had the window open the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramitch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    49
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
75
22
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springville, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed overnight and enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast as nice and rooms nearly new.
We received an early check in, which was very helpful for our plans that day. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because it is less than fifteen minutes by car to Legoland and the price was around $100. per night. Several reviewers mentioned it can be very noisy on the weekends, so the top floor would be best when it is crowded. My room was 109, and there was some noise from loudmouths gabbing in the lobby/ dining area, but it was not enough to keep me up at night.

Traveling alone this time, I needed a hotel where I feel safe. And most Marriott properties score high on safety. The suite had a king bed, sofa, long desk/table and a functional kitchen. A one bedroom would be more suitable if a family with children stayed here.

The breakfast was okay because most of us don't eat like royalty at home, and if we need that on the road, we can stay at a full service Marriott, which we often do using points for vacation travel. I enjoyed the yogurt, juice, raisin bran and apple. They offered egg biscuits and a few other items I did not try, but no cook yourself waffles.

This hotel can be hard to find, especially at night. It is located behind the Chevron station on the corner of Sycamore and Melrose. There are few eating places nearby, but if you drive about three miles down Sycamore and turn left on University, you will find a Stater Bros. grocery store, a Target, WalMart, and many mores stores.

During midday, it is fun to drive along the coast through Carlsbad and stop downtown for a special treat at Subzero ice cream where they make each order right in front of you using liquid nitrogen. It is also hard to find in a strip mall on the corner of Oak next to 7 Eleven.

If I need to stay in this area again, I would return to this hotel when rates are reasonable around $100. a night. There is a lot of price competition when you hit the $150. level per night. The kitchen is a real plus for those wanting to stay in at night. And it is a good base for those working in the area for a week or more.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bagsalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Location is nice, but the rest is below average for the price: my room had some permanent unpleasant odor. The doors are shut with such loud noise I felt that jails may have similar locking systems . Noise insulation generally does not exist, you will hear water running, taking, walking from your adjacent rooms.
The hotel has no quiet time policy: loud parties are going on throughout all night on weekends when hotel is full.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I spent one night at the TownePlace Marriot in Vista. The room was well appointed and had very good internet connectivity and speed. The room was nice and clean, and the kitchenette had a microwave, stove and dishwasher. Nice HD television as well.

But the hotel lobby was a little off-putting, the desk was set well back from the door and seemed more like the ticket office than a hotel. The free snacks and drinks were definitely a plus, just the layout of the lobby area was odd. It seems that this hotel is used for long stays more than short vacations, so it had the apartment living vibe. Nothing against apartment living, just felt that way as opposed to typical hotel stays.

I wish I could give the place a 3.5 instead of a 3, because that seems a little harsh, But if 4 means Very Good, then I'll have to stick with a 3.

Room Tip: Stay off the 1st floor - very busy and possibly noisy. Second floor may be best because the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank whiskyandgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here with our soccer team, and it is a very clean, spacious hotel (3 years old). Each room has a full kitchen, with full-sized fridge, cooktop, dishwasher, microwave, plates and utensils. There is a laundry room downstairs and the pool area (with 2 BBQs) is nice. Very accessible, as there are lifts for the pool and jacuzzi. The included continental breakfast is uninspired, but there are healthy options, such as bananas, bagels and yogurt. The staff is very friendly. The Mexican restaurant ("Mrs. Taco") and the pizza place next door are excellent, and there is a drive-through Starbucks across the parking lot. A great deal! Would recommend to anyone visiting the Carlsbad/Vista area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skypark91107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

...that some folks mentioned below. I stayed over the completely full Fourth of July weekend and didn't have any issues with slamming doors or brushing teeth. I will echo the dull breakfast remarks - cold cereal, juice, yogurt, bananas, coffee. They could kick this up a bit, but the Starbucks across the parking lot helps a bit. I wasn't thrilled with the Mrs. Taco restaurant nearby either - nice ambiance, but the food was bland. For me the bed was great and the wifi was free and I got the room for points and it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Don't think there's a big difference. I like top floors since no one walks on your head, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pen_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#22 of 36 in Carlsbad
145 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista

Property: TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Address: 2201 S Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081-6700
Region: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace San Diego Carlsbad/Vista Hotel Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing