We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
397
202
79
30
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
202
79
30
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslego landsitting areavisit legolandmin drivefree breakfastsan diegoyogurtpull out sofagreat place to staysoccer tournamentfitness roomthe breakfast areashuttle serviceheated poolmini fridgefamily vacationlarge room
Filter
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great rooms! Nice housekeeping staff. But I didn't get the back corner room as promised. Out front instead, listening to the street construction noise. Speaking of construction. You have to contend with a big detour to get to the hotel. A little annoying after about the fifth time. Management gives conflicting answers. No we don't have a washer/dryer. Yes we have wash and fold laundry service. No we don't have laundry service on the weekend. Different people, different response. Breakfast is an ordeal. (Mornings up and down the elevator a big ordeal when one is broken).Too little room for the number of guests. POWDERED EGGS! Yuk! Forget about the breakfast sandwiches. Been here since Thursday night (thanks for forgetting to tell us we had to put the key in a special slot to bring power to the room). Friday night I asked how to order the breakfast sandwiches that are touted on the website. Management said, no ordering, just take one. What, no sandwiches Friday morning. They must have run out. Shipment came in Friday, We will have them Saturday morning. Saturday morning, no... sandwiches only on weekdays. Three days of powdered eggs and sausage links. Waffles or cold, breaking apart pancakes. Lines 30 people deep. Gotta be a better way. The coffee is good.

Room Tip: Corner rooms... I was promised, but never delivered.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Christy K,

I so sincerely apologize for your less than excellent experience at our hotel. I am very disappointed that we didn't meet your needs (especially since you are from my home town)! We do have construction going on and the 2 block detour is very inconvenient but I am glad you were able to find us!

Let me clear up the confusion regarding laundry for you: We do not have an on-site laundry room, but we do have a service that can turn around laundry in the same day if need be. They do not operate on Sunday's.

Breakfast is the pride and joy of our host of amenities, and it is very popular. At times there is a very high demand and queues develop, but we do our best to manage the flow. BTW, I assure you that our eggs are not powdered. We do offer sandwiches during the week, but based on the sheer volume of guests we do alter our menu to keep up the pace and make sure everyone can enjoy breakfast. I am delighted you enjoyed our Starbucks coffee!

I hope you give us another chance to meet your needs, this is not typical of the level of service we are so proud of!

Wes Lavender
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife, son, and I stay here two to three times a year when visiting family in the area. We used to stay at budget places, but found that we go what we paid at those places. Then a couple of years ago, we found this place online and decided to give it a try. We pay a little more now than the other budget places, but it is worth the price. This now is the only place we book.

The front desk service has always been friendly and helpful.

The free breakfast is a big plus, especially when you want to eat quickly in the morning before going out for the day. It does get crowded in the breakfast area, so go early if you can.

A few other good things: The rooms are spacious and clean, wifi has worked in every room I've been in, and the hotel is in a nice, quiet location.

We're headed back there in two weeks and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear travelbug301,

It's awesome to read that we are your hotel of choice for your frequent trips from the OC to Carlsbad! I am delighted that you feel our value proposition is worth the increased price from some of the budget chain hotels near us!

We do have very fast (50 mb/s) internet speeds, and the breakfast is one of our most popular features and we always encourage our guests who want a fast experience to join us earlier than 8:30am.

We look forward to hosting your family again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night while visiting town for a wedding. Check in was quick and easy and the front desk (if you could call it a front desk) staff were very friendly. My wife and I loved the fresh take with which the hotel approached everything when building the hotel. No forbidding long desk with an office to hide the front desk staff, no TV in the bedroom(!) and a nice division between the sitting area and sleeping area. The hotel is close to everything (grocery stores, Starbucks, etc) and only 6 miles to Carlsbad State Beach. Breakfast exceeded expectations and the pool area was clean and well maintained. We will look for Hyatt Place hotels in our travels going forward.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank adurb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear adurb44,

We are delighted that we were able to host your wedding party! Thanks for staying with us!

Hyatt Place as a brand is only 6 years old, and it is a very intentional brand with specific expectations of value and purposeful service at guest touch points. What this means is we are not like a "typical" hotel because we want our guests to feel as if they are staying with close friends rather than being a transaction. Our team of professionals are constantly on the lookout for opportunities to meet the needs of our guests in creative ways, and I am excited that we met did so for you and your wife!

Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you at our location again!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The family recently spent 8 days touring So. Cal. and stayed at Hyatt Place. They raved about their accommodations. Their room was large and clean. The beds were better than average for a hotel. And the morning breakfast buffet was amazing.They also took advantage of the workout area, but were disappointed that there were no weight machines to use. They also enjoyed the time they spent poolside. All and all a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We asked to be on the top floor, as you won't have to hear anyone above you.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDVikesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear NDVikesfan,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to host your family during your 8 day trip to the San Diego area! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our suite of amenities and large clean rooms met your needs!

Our 24 hour fitness center does have 4 pieces of cardio equipment and a bench with dumbbells from 5-50 pounds in 5 pound increments. We have heard from a few guests that they would like to see "cable" weight machines and we are in the process of evaluating this opportunity since the room does have so much space!

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This Hyatt Place is amazing. Great staff with hospitality and service as their focus. The location is good with easy access to many locations. Gallery food is well prepared and presented based on the standard Hyatt Place menu; however, staff make service 'local' and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBennett101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear BBenett101,

I'm delighted you chose our hotel to be your base of operations during your recent trip to Carlsbad! It's gratifying to hear that our team met your needs with our purposeful service and relevant menu selections.

As a newly built hotel we offer a variety of amenities to reduce our carbon footprint and the in-room energy management system is key to reducing consumption. We also offer sustainable chemicals, linen re-use program, single-stream recycling, energy star appliances and optional light touch housekeeping as well as our low water consumption landscaping.

We hope to see you again soon when you want to come out and ride the Belgian Waffle Ride again!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews