We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Franciscan Inn Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and Friendly”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have had the misfortune of having to stay in hotels while waiting for permanent housing to become available. I am a mother of teenage boys, finding a place that will accept them and allow them to be kids is HARD to say the least. We have endured many managers and staff at other places for things as trivial as playing too loud? Here the boys can play in the pool, play football in the grass, be KIDS! Thank you so much for that. I recommend this place for anyone looking for a great room at a reasonable price. The rooms are larger than most in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwallace1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Never stayed there. Might be a fine place, but do not call. The person who answered took my information then quoted a rate of $69 and pretended they didn't know the web price. Offered to lower it to $59 (web shows $45). This troubled me so I went elsewhere.

So don't call, just book through any of the various web interfaces and hope for the best. Ironically, I called because I assume the net bookings cost a commission and I might save the hotel a buck or so. Silly me!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vista hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is really an old-fashioned, family road trip motel, and I am really glad we stayed here. The beds, while firmer than I'm used to, were comfortable enough and clean. The bathroom, clean. The rest of the room, clean. The price? Low, low low. Pool was well-sized and clean, no overwhelming chlorine smell, with enough furniture for mom and dad to hang out while the kids splash. There were windows in every area of the room (even a small privacy window in the bath), so there was lots of natural light. AC unit was kind of loud, but on low all night, it helped make sure we weren't awakened by any of our neighbors (they seemed to be mostly small families and business travelers, but I'm very sensitive to sudden sounds, so the AC was a help to me). As with any motel, I recommend not being barefoot but wearing socks or sandals around the room, because, come on, people come right in off the street outside. Our room was nonsmoking and did not smell of smoke, but there was an ashtray outside. The staff were super nice, friendly, and helpful, explained everything and answered any questions we had. Surrounding neighborhood was working class, not "scary" like some people said on the travel sites. For eats, try the dinner just across the parking lot, Sal & Ceci's, or head across the street to the supermarket.

Yes, the Franciscan Inn is dated, but if you just consider it a "classic" from the '70s, you won't be disappointed. If you want a way to save money on an old-fashioned family road trip, close enough to the beaches, wine country, and all the rest of the exciting things SoCal has to offer, stay at the Franciscan (and have some delicious pie at Sal & Ceci's--it's to die for!).

Room Tip: Ask all the questions you want at the desk, make your concerns and wishes clear, and they will be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TeachBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here when the San Diego HIghland Games were going on. Other more expensive hotels were booked and it was last minute, so we went here. It was easy check-in. The room was in a timewarp of the 70's, but was super, super clean. Quiet! Will stay here again!

Room Tip: 153 is on the second floor and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern, Calif.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a very affordable place with decent amenities. There is a refrigerator and microwave in each room. There is also free wifi (something you can not get at a Hilton). The beds are not the best. We have stayed there 3 times and they have varied from comfortable to awful. The bed spreads have not been changed in a while as most have holes in them but the room is decent size and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLENDALE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

After one night in the room, we canceled the rest of our nights and found a friend to stay with for the rest of our planned trip. The main reason for leaving was lack of adequate security on the doors and windows. For 2 women travelers feeling safe in a hotel room is important to us. The hotel staff did not charge us for the additional 2 nights which we canceled, so we were glad about that. I will say the room was quite large, which is great for a family. However, the luggage rack and the clothes rack were extremely rusted, and should be replaced. The wall had various stains which could be removed. Would not recommend this hotel even for the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AZTraveler055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

made reservations on line using credit card. when we arrived person at front desk asked for cash. did not even give option of using credit card. I told them to use crdit card and they could not get it to work. they were using the old fashion way using paper then running through a machine that kept coming up duplicat transaction. while i was inside my family was sitting in the car and noticed that the ice machine was outside, A person came to get ice and there was none. Another person came to get a soda from soda machine that was sitting next to ice machine and it also did not work. Needless to say i got the heck out of there and went somewhere else. Yhx to my daughter and son in law we got another place to stay. I will never consider this place again or advise anyone to stay at this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
1.4 mi away
Vista Inn
Vista Inn
#7 of 9 in Vista
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Vista
Motel 6 Vista
#5 of 9 in Vista
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
3.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
7.6 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#6 of 27 in Oceanside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn Motel

Property: Franciscan Inn Motel
Address: 955 S Santa Fe Ave, Vista, CA 92083-6909
Region: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Hotel Class:2 star — Franciscan Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Franciscan Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing