We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you just need to stay for the night. This is not for a romantic getaway.”
Review of Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place if you just need to stay for the night. This is not for a romantic getaway.”
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is about half a mile from my house and I have stayed the night on a few occasions when my husband was not my favorite person and I just needed a place to rest my head. Honestly, its a great place to just get away. Each time I check in I tell her Im alone and will be the entire night she puts me in a room right next door to her or directly above her office. To me that was a sweet gesture and made me feel secure and cared for. The room is nothing special, do not expect chocolates on your pillow and a robe in the closet. It is a place to rest your head for a night or two and go about your way. Overall I am pleased with the place and works great for what I use it for. :) Hope it becomes your little escape too on those terrible fight nights.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natigoosepoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
1
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed here for business - upon check-in, they had us in the wrong room. Went down to lobby and they fixed instantly. They put us in a large, nice room. There was lots of storage space, but no closet. The bathroom was small-ish, but there was a seperate sink area. They also give you cake and coffee every morning!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is definitely a lower star motel and far from let's say, a Hyatt Four Points Hotel.

Pros: all painted surfaces were not worn out. Looks like the owners put effort into painting. Room was clean. Furniture was in decent condition. Staff was very courteous each day I spoke with them. Internet WiFi worked well and pretty fast most of the time. TV had more than the minimum cable channels, but I don't remember if they had HBO (Not that that's a great loss anyway). A/C worked well. 24 hour Coco's restaurant close by. I did not smell marijuana smoke on the property.

Cons: Room is very old/dated. Furniture style & room style is much older. No coffee machine, hair dryer, in the room. I didn't ask the staff if they had those items available to loan me. TV was an older type, not a modern flat screen. Close to freeway, but traffic died down during sleeping hours. Looks like a slightly rough side of town. Fellow patrons at the motel were very rough around the edges. There was a tough lookin' guy that saw me carry something to my car and he literally stopped on the balcony just to watch me load it in the car. If you were a lone female staying there I don't know if you would be comfortable. Later I saw a large woman with bare sleeves and tattoos walk into her room. No elevator but it's only 2 stories tall.

So the Cons might not be a deal breaker for you, but you will definitely know that you are not sleeping in a Hyatt Four Points. But like I said staff was friendly & courteous. Still I can't give this such a high rating like other people did.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixdude1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

People who have rated this facility higher than awful must have memory loss. The managers were friendly and tried to overcome the many shortcomings, but for $295, double what we normally pay for a 3 star motel in the area, this “2 star” was awful. Contrary to the promotional advertisement it has no "mountain view", is next to the freeway and noisy, pool is empty and "closed", no hair dryer, musty room, very thin towels, sink drained very slow, and no coffee maker or tissues in the room. The advertised "complimentary newspapers" and "premium TV channels and free movies" did not exist unless ESPN is "premium". You better be young and fit to carry luggage because there is no elevator, only a stairway to the 2nd floor. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlbletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vista hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

The sheets were stained and there was hair on the mattress cover. We called the lady at the front desk and she immediately came and replaced the linens.

It's an older hotel, toilet seat was wrong size for the commode. Need some modernization.

The rest of the room was satisfactory. The service was superb.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcf1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Didn't feel clean. Water from bathroom sink smelled like sulfer. My skin crawled when I got into bed. If you must stay here, bring your own soap. Freeway noise.Not the worst place I've ever stayed in, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Second time with my crew, outstanding service, will be coming back with family, close to all
but pay almost half. all we need is a clean , safe place to sleep. And this is it. No danish and cereal in the morning, but then why pay an astronomical amount for it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billcarvajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
2.0 mi away
Motel 6 Vista
Motel 6 Vista
#5 of 9 in Vista
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
3.2 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
6.2 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#6 of 27 in Oceanside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Inn

Property: Vista Inn
Address: 745 W Vista Way, Vista, CA 92083-4415
Region: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Highway 78, this motel is less than a mile from the Wave Waterpark and County Courthouse, just a 10 minute drive to Oceanside Harbor and a 15 minute drive to LEGOLAND, The San Diego Zoo Safari Park is 19.5 Miles away. Coco's and Dennys restaurant within walking distance. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, microwave and refrigerator, Television with premium cable, complimentary toiletries, free coffee in the morning. Additional amenities on request include hair dryers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is offered daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing