We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn San Diego Vista
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Tracy, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We stayed at the La Quinta because it was between Legoland and The San Diego Wild Animal Park. Check-in was friendly and easy and the king suite was very roomy. But the fold-out couch was very worn out. There was rope under the mattress in an attempt to replace long lost springs. The rope did nothing to improve the worn out saggy mattress. So we folded the bed back up and my son slept on the couch. (after we had to call down for bedding because there was none in the room).

The nights are chilly even in San Diego in December but we were unable to run the heater because it clanged every time we turned it on.

Monday morning, bright and early, we were awakened by loud voices near our hallway. It seems management has some sort of morning meetings on our floor in one of the king suites.

I will say that we were credited for a night because of the lack of heat.

The staff was friendly and courteous but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rmkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    73
    65
    41
    48
See reviews for
120
46
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

I see that the reviews for this hotel have been somewhat erratic, but I have nothing but good things to say about it. I've never stayed at a La Quinta Inn before, so I had no idea what to expect.

At check-in, I was greeted by a friendly attendant who quickly switched my Expedia reservation to a room with a king bed. The room was very spacious, extremely clean, and well-appointed. There was a fridge which would have been helpful had I had a longer stay. The bed was comfortable.

I appreciated plentiful, free parking. It was most helpful to have free wireless internet access. I enjoyed the 10% discount at the adjacent IHOP. The pool area looked nice, though I didn't go there. I enjoyed some fresh bagels, milk, and apple juice from the continental breakfast. And I enjoyed the free local newspaper.

Of specific value to me was the fact that the staff allowed me to come back later in the day and spend several hours in the lobby working on my laptop, even though I had already checked out. And they let me come behind the counter and print out my boarding passes, at no charge.

This hotel isn't very fancy and doesn't offer many bells and whistles, but it offered everything that I needed. And I especially appreciated the graciousness of the staff. If I come to this area again, I'd love to stay here again and am happy to recommend it to others.

  • Liked — free parking, free wireless internet access, cheap price, great staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I spent one night at this hotel and when I got my credit card statement there were charges for 5 additional nights with outrageous add ons. There were even charges twice for the same day.. When I called the hotel to questioin these charges and ask for copies of the statement for which this charges were made, the women told me that I was lucky she was not going to press charges for the damages done, told me I was no longer welcome there and hung up on me.
I authorized one night stay with a AAA discount to be charged to my card. Who authorized the other 5 nights without my permission. I have in excess of $1000.00 of unauthorized charges to my credit card from this hotel for that stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jkjhousty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vista hotels

Ukiah, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

The good news is that my room was clean and everything worked. However, when I noticed there were no bars of soap in the bathroom, I went to the desk to say that housekeeping had forgotten to leave soap at the sink or shower. The clerk simply said, "The July 4 weekend caused us to run out." No hint of an apology. Earlier, when I was checking in, I asked the same clerk if she would input my Southwest Airlines frequent flier number, showing her my airline card, and she replied gruffly, "We don't take those here." The next morning, the breakfast was the worst I've seen at any La Quinta (I'm a Gold Level Rewards member) and didn't come close to what was advertised on the La Quinta website for this hotel: no waffles, even frozen ones; no pastries; no yogurt.; no fresh fruit. There was only coffee, a couple kinds of cold cereal, and some bagels. The fruit juice machine had only orange juice, which had not been replenished and was just yellowish water. The coffee was weak. After my trip, I wrote a complaint via the La Quinta web site, telling them what I had experienced, and they refunded my full payment for the night I stayed. This location simply needs new management.

  • Liked — clean room, good location
  • Disliked — terrible management
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_rat_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We stayed at a La Quinta Inn Old Town an were pleasantly surprised with new everything (read my review) but this La Quinta Inn was the complete opposite.

No refrigerator nor microwave but coffee maker in bathroom.
No new comfy beds but hard uncomfortable beds.
Needs newer TV's.
Hotel is in dire need of being updated inside and out.
Lobby looks to have been updated somewhat but lacks any warmth.
Breakfast was adequate for continental. frozen waffles, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice, bagels, cereal and toast.
No working spa
Park under windows of rooms like a motel.
It was clean but not spotless. Some grime on bathroom floors and on wall that 409 could have cleaned up.

The only positive was the free WI-fi and that it does share the parking lot with IHop and under the freeway in other direction is Panda Express, Souplantation and a few more places to eat plus Walgreen's. Across the street from Burlington coat Factory.

I would not stay again...I would choose The Hampton's Suites in San Marcos about 10 minutes away instead as it is also near many more newer eateries and nicer area.

Staff was friendly and did their job right.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank ihave2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We had stayed at La Quinta in Carlsbad before,(which is a wonderful hotel 10 miles away) and thought this would be the same- we were wrong. This hotel was $50 less a night- well there is a reason.

This seems to be an older property and our room had cigarette burns in the furniture and a leak behind the toilet which made a big puddle- thankfully we didn't slip and fall. The shower also had a leak. We were moved to another room and the toilet constantly ran. I think that they need to invest in a good plumber.

The breakfast was also a step down from the Carlsbad property- frozen waffles instead of fresh, less selection and a confusing lay out, (refrig not labeled for customer use).

The best part of the hotel is that IHOP shares a parking lot and give 10% off to La Quinta guests.

It is an ok hotel for the money.

  • Liked — Staff was friendly. Hotel is near IHOP
  • Disliked — Bad plumbing, not up to par with other La Quinta's
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DixonCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

This motel is a bargain for San Diego. We stayed the week of the July 4th. We needed a hotel that allowed our Engish Bulldog. Not only did they allow the dog but didn't charge an extra fee. The hotel is in a safe location however it is NOT close to local attractions (Sea World, Beach, USS Midway etc). We spent alot of time on the freeway. The room was standard (no frig) but very clean. The staff was helpful. The breakfast buffet was okay. However the woman in charge was rude to several people. Because of it's location, we won't stay here again. However we will use other La Quinta's Hotels.

  • Liked — Clean, allows dogs
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Vista
Motel 6 Vista
#5 of 9 in Vista
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Vista Inn
Vista Inn
#7 of 9 in Vista
27 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
430 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn San Diego Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Diego Vista

Property: La Quinta Inn San Diego Vista
Address: 630 Sycamore Ave, Vista, CA 92083-7910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Diego Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Diego Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Vista Hotel Vista
La Quinta Vista
La Quinta Hotel Vista
Vista La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing