We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, for the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Vista
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Not bad, for the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel isn't bad for the price. It even has hardwood floors! The room itself was spacious, even though it was laid out a bit awkward. There was a small sink, fridge and microwave but only 2 chairs at the table. The pillows were WAY too flat and the towels WAY too small. When we went to the front desk for more pillows we were told they didn't have any! The shower was narrow and they didn't have the nice curvy curtain rod.

We didn't go into the pool since we were heading out to Legoland and the water park but it looked pretty big.

Breakfast was muffins cut in quarters and a crockpot of oatmeal. The coffee was weak but the kids enjoyed the o.j.

If you want a cheap meal nearby, go to New York Style Pizza. For $20 you get a 2 foot (at least) wide pizza with 1 topping. It was ridiculously large but we had it for breakfast the next day too.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Join the America's Best Value Inn club (free) to get an even better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    15
    17
    8
    16
See reviews for
28
14
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Service was okay as was breakfast, server and front desk helpful and pleasant. While the room was generously sized it was very old and dated, old food bag was found under the bed (so maybe not the most thorough cleaning) and I saw one renter with a 50+lb dog which is a turnoff for us with dog allergy. I found the price we were charged, $147, to be out of line with nicer places in LA and Orange County. Maybe this is San Diego pricing, but we were 8 miles from thencoast and 35 miles from San Diego...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Califormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
297 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

This hotel was booked on Priceline and is the second time in ten years where Priceline failed to provide a good hotel. Rooms are large and the property is quiet, but it is run down, the rooms are dirty, and the staff is lousy. Add to that the single worst breakfast I have ever had at any hotel - ever - and the money spent on this hotel was a total waste.

I would not stay here again if it were free, or if I were paid to stay, I would select another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConVivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vista hotels

Santa Rosa, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Wanted to save some money for a 4 night stay while visiting relatives in Carlsbad and this hotel was rated pretty good here on TripAdvisor so gave it a shot. Definitely not a lux hotel but met our expectations for the price. Walls are a little thin but ok with the A/C turned up in the summer. Big parking lot, tennis courts were actually being used by guests and even a chipping area for golfers. Has a frig and microwave, somewhat thin bath towels but replaced every day. Not used to dispensers for bath and hand soap but they worked well. Cable on TV has the usual channels. Really were not in room much but worked just fine for sleeping overnight. Would stay there again if we need to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well away from CA-78
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elutz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

One of the best America's Best Value Inns that I have stayed in.
Clean, large rooms with microwave & refrigerator.
Continental breakfast - average fare, but good. I liked the hot freshly prepared oatmeal.

Room Tip: Sign up for Am. Best Value card for added discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sierra_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Pros: Large rooms; comfortable beds; mini-fridge; free Wi-Fi.
Cons: Non-smoking room smelled somewhat of smoke; cigarette burn hole in sheets and cigarette marks on vanity and toilet seat; outlets and lamps and overhead light fixtures that did not work; very thin towels and blankets' no protein foods (egg or yogurt) at breakfast.
Worst problem: When we reported that there was a sticky food stain on a blanket and aksed that it be washed or replaced, it was only dabbed at. The stain remained for the second night. I can understand the housecleaning staff missing it when first making up the bed, but I cannot countenance staff not replacing a dirty blanket when specifcially asked to do so. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EditorEGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

I stayed at the America Best Value Inn and Suites in March, 2011 to attend to family business. I was there for 5 dqays but had to extend for another 4 and there was no problem doing so. The room was spacious and welcoming. It came equipped with a microwave and fridge...both worked well. The cost of the hotel was wonderful since I was working on a budget. No problems at all. I cannot talk about the continential breakfast since I did not eat there. The staff were very attentive to my needs and helped me when I needed to print something off the computer, or fax paperwork. I would definately stay there again and recommend you stay at this motel if you will be in the Vista area. Oh....don't forget the view of the mountains. The price and accommodations were perfect. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
2.0 mi away
Vista Inn
Vista Inn
#7 of 9 in Vista
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franciscan Inn Motel
Franciscan Inn Motel
#4 of 9 in Vista
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Vista

Property: Motel 6 Vista
Address: 330 Mar Vista Drive, Vista, CA 92083 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )
Region: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Vista is conveniently located off of SR 78 and Mar Vista Dr. Restaurants and shops are nearby. Visit California's vineyards and wineries, or play golf within 5 miles. The beach is only 7 miles. Enjoy our outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Americas Best Value Hotel Vista
Americas Best Value Inn Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing