We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny Little Town, Amazingly GREAT Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Union Inn + Pub

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Union Inn + Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Volcano B&B and Inns
Pleasanton, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tiny Little Town, Amazingly GREAT Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We eat out a LOT and live in the SF East Bay Area. We can rarely say that EVERYTHING we eat during a restaurant meal is the best we've ever had, but this was the case at the Volcano Union Inn. We were referred there by a local businessperson in Sutter Creek and were told to expect an informal, relaxed setting and excellent, well-priced food. So, we weren't expecting anything more than a nice meal in a VERY small, but quaint town.

That we were impressed is understating how much we enjoyed the place, the food, the ambience. Staff was excellent (attentive, knowledgeable, professional) the place filled up quickly as the Friday evening dinner hour progressed (we were glad we got there for an early dinner as there were people waiting to get in by 6:30) --- but it will be worth the wait if the place is full when you get there. Have a drink at the bar and anticipate your meal --- it'll be great!

Next time maybe we'll stay the night!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is a very nice, casual place to stay. The room had all the comforts we could want, dinner downstairs was great, the employees were helpful and friendly. We'll go back in the summertime when there is local theater, and there's a lot of winetasting nearby too.

Room Tip: The two larger rooms are facing the street, which doesn't get a lot of traffic but you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veggiejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My boyfriend and I always enjoy our evenings here. The food is wonderful! We have many favorites. However, I suggest asking about their daily specials. We are fortunate that they are nearby to visit frequently. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

My hub and I were in tiny Volcano for the festive Scottish candle light walk....rather than drive back to civilization decided to overnight at the Union Inn. If you are seeking a fancy boutique hotel or crave the B & B cult experience of being coddled by innkeepers, sharing breakfast & your fondest wishes and dreams with your fellow lodgers then don't stay here.
We stayed a night in the terra cotta room, loved it, one of the bigger rooms, found it very comfortable, has door/window that open to the balcony, a huge tub, just the right size bathroom (if you need more bathroom why are you in Volcano?) and very clean, emphasize: room was very clean, no dust, no dirty carpet, simple nice furnishings, very nice bedding and comfy bed, a little sitting area, flat screen TV if you really need that. Decor was just right, not trying to hard. Rooms are above the bar and restaurant, yes there is some noise, which you new if you chose to stay here and found charming, as well as the creaking narrow stairs, it is called ambiance so enjoy it or don't stay here. So if you want to get away from suburbia, feel like you went somewhere old timey STAY HERE, relax on the balcony, enjoy the freezing crisp air, explore the town's cemeteries, enjoy a tasty meal at the restaurant & bar below or have a pint at the cozy pub by the St. George, or do all as we did. Just remember you are in a tiny old gold country town, your hand will not be held and your cell phone prob won't work, just be patient and soak up the character that Volcano and the Union Inn offers. p.s. what we loved was you could bring your breakfast which came with your stay up to your room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShunpikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This tiny jewel of a town has been my weekend my favorite for over thirty years. The 2 local Inns have changed owners a dizzying amount of times. But a few years ago the people who own the highly reputed Taste in Ione reopened the Union Inn Restaurant on the ground floor of the Inn.From the looks of the happy crowds of people(including my family and me) who dine there it will be around in its current configuration for a very long time.
During the weekday Volcano is a small town of 103.On the weekend the town is jumping with double the population and the Union Inn restaurant is full.In the warmer months you can sit outside on the patio,sometimes with music.But no matter where you sit the food is great. Try the Duck Legs or the Lamb burgers. The Mac and Cheese seems to vary wildly but always worth the chance.I love the Tempura. They serve NO BAD wine.Great service 99% of the time,but the other 1% is guaranteed to be at least nice and polite.
This is one of the very few REAL FOOD places open on Mondays in Amador.The town is a living museum.Walk around!!Go to the theater indoors or outside .
Volcano is a wonderful town.Calm and quiet and 45 minutes to Kirkwood.The Inn part is not fancy but very old towny and comfortable.If you are one of those travelers that needs to interact with and get chummy with the proprietor,or need your hands held... grow up or go somewhere else.This is mostly self catering but the rooms are roomy, VERY CLEAN and very comfortable.The breakfast is ample and the coffee good.
Just to be clear ,I do not know the owners and have no interests in this place. My review is based solely on my many experiences visiting this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

This is small taste of Heaven. The rooms are beautifully decorated in modern decor and the bathrooms are completely renovated. Breakfast is a served over a two hour period, which lends to a relaxed atmostphere. The restaurant serves a scrumptious lunch and dinner, and all of the employees welcome you with open arms. Bring a good map with you so you can explore all of the side roads, and enjoy your overnight stay. We know that we will return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa_orio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We were sadly disapointed. the room was dirty, carpet stains on carpet and the table on my side of bed was not cleaned. The shower head was awful. There is no host/room keeper on site so you are on your own at night. No phone in the room, and the locks are not the greatest. The breakfast was ok not as great as Sunset Magazine said it was. Too bad because the hotel is cute and fun but the service was not great.
The restaurant bar downstairs was great, except, we heard the noise from the bar until about 11-12 pm. Then the food delivery truck woke us up in the AM one morning.
Sorry we really wanted to like this place but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jose1today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
10.6 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pioneer Inn & Suites
Pioneer Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Pioneer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
12.1 mi away
Rest Hotel Plymouth
Rest Hotel Plymouth
#1 of 7 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Union Inn + Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Union Inn + Pub

Property: Volcano Union Inn + Pub
Address: 21375 Consolation Street, Volcano, CA 95689
Region: United States > California > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Volcano Union Inn!How The West Was Won Fun!Take the WILD RIDE to Volcano to enjoy great food, friendly faces and comfortable lodgingThe Union Inn Hotel was built in 1880 by four itinerate French Canadians for $400. It was a boarding house for hard-working miners and locals until the 1920's. It enjoyed a brief reawakening in the 1950's, and thereafter it was, by turns, vacant and empty, a private residence, and finally it was restored into a lovely destination in 2000 by the David/Burney Family.Now the Volcano Union Inn is reborn as a California Pub and Four-Room Bed and Breakfast in the picturesque village of Volcano, deep in the heart of Amador County and the California Gold Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing