We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golf's Good Deal”

Boundary Oak Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This championship 18-hole course features a hilly landscape with a lot of water in play.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golf's Good Deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I am your average hacker and have played this course many times. For a municipal course it is surprisingly well maintained, the greens are excellent. It is a nice course to walk but carts are always available. There is just enough water to allow you to drown a few balls but in general even all of your errant shots are findable. It can get busy so especially on weekends don't expect a quick round, but it is never an issue on week days. Also if you decide you want to get married right before you play a round you can do that just adjacent to the 1st hole tee box! It is a nice course and I don't think you'd be disappointed playing there.......give it a try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JdR2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golfing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I play golf there every week and have been for 20 years, it's a great municipal course with great views of the valley.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wahOOOO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good local course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I used to play this course all the time when I was younger and could walk 18 holes, but now that I'm older and prefer to ride when I golf, I have found other better courses that include carts with their green fees at a much better overall price. This course is nice to play, but the fairways are not the best. Many times your fairway lies are like the rough at better courses. The greens are usually excellent here and putting can be difficult on some of the greens. From the blue and black tees this course is long and tough. From the whites tees, the two par fives are reachable for an average golfer. This course is good if you live close by, but there are many better places to play in the area if you want to drive 15 to 30 miles.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Woodpecker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
243 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This golf course is one of the toughest that I've played. Long par 5s, fast and tricky greens. The setting is beautiful and the course is well maintained. Play it if you get the chance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Good, local golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The course is in better shape since the management change in the last year. The slope ratings seem accurate. Very pleasant for twilight golf but good anytime too. Just remember, everything drains toward John Muir Hospital!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merideth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boundary Oak Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Boundary Oak Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing