We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but Condesending Hotel Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked a night at the ClubSport on Thanksgiving evening. We have stayed there several times in the past, and we've enjoyed the clean rooms and excellent fitness facility. This time however proved that we will never stay there again.

We checked in late after a dinner. The receptionist found our reservation, printed our keys and wrote the rate ($109) and room number on the key envelope. We had only booked for one night so in the morning, the bill had been passed under our door. Upon opening the bill, I learned that I was not going to be charged the $109 rate but $269! Surely there must be a mistake. On the way to breakfast, I stopped at the desk to rectify the bill. The receptionist typed a few key strokes and said that the $269 was correct and that was what we would have to pay unless we could produce the "friends and family" form. I told them to call the manager who calmly told me with a s*&t eating grin that yes, indeed we would have to pay.

I walked away furious and relayed the experience to my wife. She then went to the manager bringing the room key envelope to explain that we will pay the agreed rate. Again the smiling and condescending manager emerged saying with a smile that unless we could produce the form then we would have obliged to pay the full rate. Again we explained that we did not agree and that the night reception should never have quoted the $109 rate. Still smiling, she said that she would call the girl to verify. After an unsuccessful attempt at calling, she came and said that she would reluctantly honor the $109 rate but in the future the hotel would not be so "generous". Really? Generous? How about honoring the quoted price to begin with?

While this hotel is a comfortable place to stay and they have an outstanding sports facility, I cannot get over the behavior and smugness of the manager. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OceanView_415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have family in Walnut Creek and usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express, which we have always found adequate. Now we know what we have been missing. We chose the Renaissance because we were not renting a car and wanted a hotel close to the BART station. What a surprise! It is like going from a motel to a five-star hotel. The hotel is stunning, with three pools and state of the art fitness facility. The rooms are beautiful (they look new), and the service was impeccable. There was a town car available to take us to any spot within five miles of the hotel. The BART station was a short walk away, and we spent an enjoyable day in downtown SF by taking the train. The only negative was that the internet connection was spotty at times. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We reserved several rooms under a special ‘Wedding room block’ rate for our September wedding. Renald and Monica, in the group booking department, were a great help from beginning to end of planning. They were accommodating to any requests and helped with a smile.

The Renaissance and their staff stepped up to the plate quickly and found alternative options when they received word that transportation for our wedding guests did not pan out minutes before the ceremony. (The shuttle company was not in any way associated with Renaissance as it was a private company we had hired). Our guests, who were waiting in the lobby, were kept in the loop by the front desk while the bar staff kept them occupied with full bellies.

Each guest has commented on how beautiful the hotel was and that it was a great value for what they paid!

As a bride, you just want to relax the night before and the day of. Renaissance made this all the better with the amenities they offer such as a sauna, complete gym, spa and pool. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else if ever in the Walnut Creek area. Period.

Room Tip: A bridal suite is offered to the bride and groom as a great discounted rate if 15 rooms are reserved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 310travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A work out facility second to none. Rooms are comfortable but unless you want to use the health club you could find a better place to stay in WC. I love the facility, travel all over the world but look forward to staying in wC and staying here because the workout facility is just fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights on a vacation to the Bay Area. My friends and activities are in the East Bay (Oakland/Berkeley) and SF but owing to the great deal I got on the hotel I decided to stay here. It is a really nice hotel and I made great use of the attached health club every day. I didn't use the pool or spa but they looked very nice. Another plus is that the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Pleasant Hill BART station, so public transport access to the Bay Area is convenient. Of course because the hotel is a good ways from the city, travel time is somewhat lengthy than if one were staying in Oakland or Berkeley. The facility also requires a $19/day for valet parking- with in/out privileges. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was spotless and the weather in WC is much nicer than in SF. Wifi was complimentary as well. Unless you eat in the hotel restaurants there isn't much in the way of food close by. I hit a burrito joint about 15 minutes away by car that was good, and there also seemed to be some places closer than that by car, but slim pickings for those that want to walk across the street. I would stay here again if my travels take me to Walnut Creek, but would likely stay closer to SF if vacationing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We used to live in Walnut Creek and visit here at least once a year. What does it say about a property which is the only one you stay at? The location is convenient to the freeway, BART and downtown. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and large. You can't beat the gym. It is excellent and the classes offered are great too. We had the breakfast buffet 2 mornings and thought it was very good with many choices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WA_traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had business in San Francisco, but the hotels were all sold out. The Renaissance is within a short walk to bart and a 30 minute ride into SF. The rooms were spotless, and the on site gym was fantastic. The service in the restaurant is a bit spotty, they are slow and not very organized.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexanderlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
1.0 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
509 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel

Address: 2805 Jones Road, Walnut Creek, CA 94597
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range: £109 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a leader among hotels in Northern California at Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel. Here, we offer a unique blend of full-service accommodations with a world-class sports club, to create a superb spa-style fitness resort and luxury hotel in Walnut Creek. Guests can enjoy complimentary access to the 85,000 square foot ClubSport fitness center, offering the latest cardio and strength training equipment, five group fitness studios, racquetball, handball and squash courts, an aquatic center and childcare center with activities for kids of all ages. Complimentary high-speed internet access is also available throughout our luxurious property. Located just 30 minutes from San Francisco and Napa Valley, this centrally located hotel is sure to provide all the accommodations and amenities you need for a spa weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing