We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, fabulous fitness center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
2 reviews
“Great hotel, fabulous fitness center”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stay at this hotel on a weekly basis. Sorry to hear another person reported problems with the valet service because my experience week after week has been excellent. My car is waiting for me first thing in the morning and someone is always there to greet me upon my return home at night. The rooms are extremely comfortable. The fitness center is actually a local club connected to the hotel and hotel guests have full access for free. It's simply the best fitness center I have ever seen, bar none.

Room Tip: My only complaint is Internet access from rooms on the inner portion of the hotel is sometimes probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    93
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
84
66
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A wonderful boutique hotel connected to a world class athletic facility. Great staff, great food, great experience! BART is located very close if you desire to travel into downtown Oakland or San Francisco. The valet staff and bell staff are always friendly and helpful. I always enjoy staying at this property.

Room Tip: Get a corner room so you can see the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylebap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend staying here when visiting Walnut Creek and the east bay. Well run property, excellent staff, comfortable rooms with delicious bedding, huge, well equipped gym, beautiful spa and relaxing outdoor pool area. And BART is just a very short walk away if you want to get into San Francisco without the hassel of driving. We are Platinum Premier members and this is our favorite Marriott property by far. In fact, we have stayed here many times over the years and are never ever disappointed. On our recent visit for our daughter's college graduation - Angel and Luis, the Front Office Manager , went above and beyond to ensure that our visit was perfect. Other then a Housekeeping-related issue during our stay which was promptly and very pleasantly resolved by Nicole at the front desk - the Renissance Club Sport once again met our high standards. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank katcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very nice Marriott hotel with great gym included. Gym includes outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, bocce court. Indoors is a huge gym with every type of equipment, a room for spinning, racquetball, basketball, separate men's and women's locker rooms with showers, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Most people there are gym members.

Valet parking only, $20.

We had free internet (fast enough) and breakfast included. Buffet was OK, but not great. Service was top notch.

Rooms were generous size, very comfortable.

Rooms could use a safe.

Hallways could use a patrol to pick up dishes, odd silverware, etc.

Convenient to I-680. Rooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveler91356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel itself is really nice, but unfortunately the parking situation made the stay really frustrating on the way in and the way out. I left feeling like I never want to go there again. They require valet parking and charge you $20 for it; however, they were seriously short on parking staff both days, making a big back-up of cars, confusion, and a frustrating wait (we could've have gotten our own cars! And we had to pay for this??). I finally parked myself in the valet parking.But on the way out, same situation. Waiting and waiting with tons of cars and frustration all around. One guy working the parking. I went in to tell the front desk this was terrible, especially when we have to pay $20 to be parked They weren't all that concerned about my frustration. They simply told me that this was rare. I said that's great, but on my way in and out it's happened and I'm totally frustrated. I just want to get my car and go! They weren't even sympathetic, which I thought was strange. Otherwise, the staff was great! And if you are a fitness buff, this is paradise!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTrails0368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis D, Front Office Manager at Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Happytrails0368,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize that your parking experience was affected by our high business levels during your visit. Be sure that we have taken the proper actions to prevent this type of incidents. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with a greater experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very nice hotel, great breakfast buffet, and HUGE workout facility. My only complaint was the double beds vs queen beds - that extra 6 inches makes a big difference with two people in a bed. The room was spacious enough to handle two queens, so I don't know why they chose two doubles instead. Otherwise, great property.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a short vacation in the Bay Area (California) and truly recommend this hotel. The room was quiet, the bed very comfortable, the food options in the hotel perfect for our needs (we used the deli and took food to our room). I had a wonderful swim and could have enjoyed more of the exercise options but was a bit short on time. We find valet parking a bit annoying only because we cannot easily retrieve items from the car. However, the very quick response we received to all car requests made this experience a positive one for us. Location was perfect for shopping and a trip up Mount Diablo. Definitely will return to this hotel if we're in the Bay Area again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
1.0 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diablo Mountain Inn
Diablo Mountain Inn
#5 of 7 in Walnut Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel

Property: Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Address: 2805 Jones Rd, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-7848
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a leader among hotels in Walnut Creek, CA at the Renaissance ClubSport, where a unique blend of full-service accommodations with a world-class sports club, creates a superb spa-style fitness resort and luxury hotel in suburban Walnut Creek. Guests can enjoy complimentary access to the 85,000 square foot ClubSport fitness center, offering the latest cardio and strength training equipment, five group fitness studios, racquetball, handball ans squash courts, an aquatic center and childcare center with activities for kids of all ages. Guests at our Walnut Creek hotel can also indulge in fine cuisine and beverages at our C-Blue Wet Bar and Bistro, or be pampered at R-Spa, our luxurious day spa. Complimentary high-speed internet access is also available throughout our Walnut Creek, California hotel's luxurious property. Located just 30 minutes from San Francisco and Napa Valley, this centrally located hotel in Walnut Creek is sure to provide all the accommodations and amenities you need for a spa weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing