We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Zone for Young Singles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diablo Mountain Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Los Angeles, CA, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Party Zone for Young Singles”
Reviewed 8 October 2006

My wife and I stayed at this place when we came to the Bay Area recently to attend a family event. An unsightly garbage dumpster was placed right next to the only stairway available... and the room was decorated in what WE call "early hand-me-downs". If you want to be reminded of your college days you will feel right at home here. Especially when your experience turns out like ours:
A group of young people kept us awake most of the night as they partied loudly in a room near us.
We tried to notify the front desk of their craziness around 3:30 AM, especially when it carried out into the parking lot, giving us reason to believe that the partying young men didn't seem to be stopping at anything....yelling, banging on things. We were very unhappy to find after several attempts to reach the front office....There is no one there during the night! So if you stay here, keep this in mind. If you are a group of young partiers looking for a place to be wild...this place will be the perfect choice for you!
Otherwise... do as we will, and find a better place to stay even if it costs a little more. (We stayed at the Renaissance Stanford Court in The City the night before so thankfully had a wonderful time and a good nights sleep there).

  • Liked — convenient to freeway access
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here..... IF you are of the "party hearty.... stay up all night" set!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GeosanProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    27
    19
    7
    10
See reviews for
22
18
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2006

My husband and I stayed here about three years ago (Sept. 2003) and remembered it as a very easy (and clean) place to stay. The decor leaves a lot to be desired with mismatched styles of furnishings, etc. You can park your car in front of your room, so you don't have to carry your luggage down long hallways like you do in many of the newer hotels (and wonder what is happening to your parked car during the night).
BUT if you are honestly looking for a place to get a night's rest, go somewhere else now....because we learned the hard way: When we stayed here this last time (Sept 2006) we were extremely disappointed. A very young girl (14?) checked us in. She didn't seem to know much about what was going on and left us waiting at the desk to take the housekeeper to a room to give her instructions. So.. it took about a half hour to get us checked in, which did give us time to see that the muffins left over from the day(s?) before were saran-wrapped and waiting to be presented to us and the other guests the next morning. (We made a mental note to go elsewhere if we wanted a fresh breakfast.)
An hour or so later, we wanted to take a rest before we left to go for dinner, but a group of loud rowdy young women, obviously drinking, caroused at a table outside our room near the pool.
During the night at 3:30 AM, we were suddenly awakened by the arrival of the guests staying just below us....yelling, knocking things over. We called the number on the phone in our room to report it and were met only with a phone ringing and no answer....same result when calling the "so called emergency" number. As the craziness below us accelerated, we became alarmed as heavy-set young men who appeared to be on drugs roamed through the parking lot, yelling loudly and looking for trouble. One jumped over the fence to the pool and rattled the gate, yelling like an ape. We were sure they would stop at nothing. We considered calling "911" but didn't want to have police at our door.
When we sleepily reported what happened the next morning, another young girl at the desk, Jerry, said a partial refund would be given to us...but, two weeks later, we have yet to receive anything. We had an important event to attend the next day but because of all of this (and as a result a lack of sleep), we had trouble staying awake the next evening. Unfortunately for us, in our haste to get out of this place, we left one of our bags behind...which when we called them, were relieved to find that they did find. They promised to send it to us ASAP, but have yet to receive it...OR our refund. We will never stay at this place again...it is a complete mis-managed mess!

  • Liked — easy to get to freeway, fairly clean, ability to park near room
  • Disliked — mis-management....inability to get help when needed.....seemingly good neighborhood? NOT!
  • Tips/Secrets — pass Walnut Creek and go to another area
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ClassyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walnut Creek hotels

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2006

Please do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. I've stayed at all kinds of motels and hotels and this was by far the worst experience I ever had. The hotel is on the highway and extremely noisy. The toilet didn't work. The smoke detector was covered in plastic. The staff was extremely rude (when we inquired about the toilet), insisting that the toilet worked properly. I don't have high expectations but I do want a working toilet and a considerate staff. The other hotels in Walnut Creek are more expensive but certainly worth it.

  • Disliked — Broken appliances, right on highway, extremely rude and unprofessional staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here!
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank R100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2006

Very, VERY noisy as it is below a freeway - even in our "quiet" room in the corner. However, the air conditioning unit drowned out the traffic noise! The pool area was quite dirty, probably from pollution dropping from the freeway, anyway, reading a book by the pool was not an option because of the traffic noise. An airport runway might be quieter. When booking online, I made two requests/enquiries but got no response, on arrival I was told that this was because they had no way to communicate with me...BUT they had my email address, my home address and phone number. One of my enquiries was regarding two rates I had been quoted (one on their own site, the other, travelaxe) but they refused to honour or negotiate the lower rate (US$20 less). As it's a family run business, they had the flexibility to compromise. The room was grubby (threadbare carpets not recently cleaned, I kept my shoes or socks on all the time) although the toilet and shower were clean. There was a large plunger next to the toilet! What was that all about? The beds were old and not very comfortable, but worse - the mattresses were covered in plastic sheeting. Why? I’m not sure I want to know the answer. Every time you moved in the bed, the noise was loud enough to disturb others sleeping in the room. There were numerous stern notices around the place warning of fines of US$100 or US$200 for breaches of the rules on pets, property damage or smoking (10 feet from doors and windows, OR ELSE!). I don’t like being threatened in this fashion. The only reason this place is still in business is that the few other hotels in Walnut Creek are much more expensive and up-market and this is the only budget hotel available, but budget hotels don’t need to be like this. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulTheMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2005

A good choice for the budget-minded. The accomodations are basic, small, a bit aged, but clean. The bathroom was clean and had been updated recently. Whatever ambiance might have been achieved was lost when we saw some sort of insect traps scattered throughout the room, and discovered that one of the mattresses was encased in plastic. But to be fair, we never had any bug problems during our stay. The hotel is in a safe location, only a 5 minute walk from downtown; but you are in the shadow of the highway, so its a bit noisy.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WEWITKOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2005

I have stayed at this hotel several times, and liked it very much. It is a modest Inn tucked away between a church and the freeway. The rooms are clean, bigger than average (for a small establishment) and the family- owned business staff are friendly and accomodating. A continental breakfast of fruit, cereal, boiled eggs, danish and yogurt is included in your room price. I stay there whenever I am in Walnut Creek and recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tsduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 November 2004

The Diablo Mountain Inn took our reservation and guaranteed us a rate. The rate was $5.00 higher when we checked out. On top of that, the hotel is just feet from the freeway and the only way to get any sleep is to have earplugs. The Management was not willing to concede that they had made an error in the rate. Not recommended.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
1.1 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
760 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Pleasant Hill - Buskirk Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diablo Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diablo Mountain Inn

Property: Diablo Mountain Inn
Address: 2079 Mt Diablo Blvd, Walnut Creek, CA 94596-4335
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Diablo Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diablo Mountain Inn has been welcoming visitors and business travelers to the charming town of Walnut Creek for over twenty years. Successfully built on friendly service, fantastic value and a central location, Diablo Mountain Inn remains the obvious choice for savvy budget travelers to the East Bay. Many of our guests are loyal, long-time visitors of the inn conducting business in the area or visiting their family and friends. We look forward to helping you plan your trip and visiting with you soon! The motel has 24 guestrooms with a king, queen or two beds, air-conditioning and cable television. Some guestrooms feature a microwave, refrigerator and DVD player. Guests enjoy a Continental breakfast each morning in the lobby. Pet-friendly guestrooms are available with an advanced reservation and a fee applies. Guests enjoy complimentary high speed Internet access, onsite parking and unlimited telephone calls in the U.S. and Canada. This motel offers the ideal price and location to shopping and downtown business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diablo Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diablo Mountain Hotel Walnut Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing