We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Walnut Creek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Walnut Creek”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Everything about the hotel is wonderful -- spotless, well-maintained rooms; terrific people; extensive breakfast choices; readily available business center and convenient location. M-F daytime shuttle service and warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookies top my list.

For long-term accommodations, hotel manager Steve professionally fulfills your requests. The staff makes you feel welcome every time you walk through the lobby. Many thanks to Donna, Ed, Jairo, Luis, Margaret, Mike, Mitch, Rafael, & Silvia.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear SY,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I will share with all of the staff, especially the staff you mentioned that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. Thank you again.

Steve Dodaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    212
    80
    18
    8
See reviews for
185
120
41
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

this is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel. and we have nothing but good to say. The staff is always so warm & welcoming. Our room is always confortable. The breakfast is beyond continental and very good. I love the cinnamon rolls.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandBsALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Kand BsALT,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will share your positive review with the staff. Hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you

Steve Dodaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed for 5 nights over a wedding/family visit. They accommodated our family to be all on the same floor with out rooms. They were cleaned beyone expectation each day. Room service, maintenance, front desk, food service were all courteous and friendly. No issues with the rooms at all, the breakfast was great! The workers there really took an effort to make it special. Lots of choices and fresh. Even a pancake machine! The lobby and outdoor area were great for chatting with family and friends and never over crowded. The pool and whirlpool tub were separated. The pool was outdoor and had a bit of scum/dirty water, but just leaves, etc. The hot tub was great. Also served lemon water outside with extra pool towels as well. It was an easy experience without any issues, lots of local places (Fuddruckers, Target) close for family needs. Parking in lot and below in garage with several elevator access points. No complaints!

Room Tip: First level gives you straight access to pool and outdoor sitting area (as well as breakfast area).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 377TeresaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear 377TeresaR

Thank you for your glowing review about your experience at The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. It appears the staff did a great job taking care of your needs and you really enjoyed your stay. The staff will be sp pleased that all of the hard work paid off in making your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your review and we hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Steven Dodaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

the hotel is as good as the oven reviews suggest but could be improved in 2 ways. The swimming pool could be cleaned more often and the coffee available in the breakfast room needs to be rather stronger; I was not the only 1 to comment on how weak it was.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Simhampton, thank you so much for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with the staff. We are looking into other options in regards to coffee and we have reviewed the pool cleanliness schedules. Thanks again for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek and providing us with you valued feedback. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Recently we stayed at the Walnut Creek Holiday Inn Express as a central point for exploring San Francisco and Oakland Ca. The hotel is a half mile from the Point Pleasant BART and a half mile from the Walnut Creek BART which made transportation a breeze. I was traveling with my 12 year old son and my 20 son so I was originally looking for a room with two beds and a rollaway bed. When I booked on-line with the help of a Holiday Inn Express rep she said no problem with the bed arrangement however getting to the hotel they could not set up the rollaway bed with the room with two dbl beds because of the fire code. They did offer the suggestion of using a king bed and rollaway which worked out fine, The staff was very helpful for providing alternative arrangements. The only suggestion that I would give to the hotel is start serving breakfast at 6am instead of 6:30 since we had to leave early to make a boat trip on the bay and I planned to get breakfast first at the hotel thus we had to make a stop somewhere else to grab a bite to eat. Not a big deal. Overall a very nice place to stay...

Room Tip: Be aware that you cannot use a rollaway bed in room with two dbl beds because of the fire code.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrc451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here last weekend and had a roller coaster of an experience. The first night we were in room 243. When we checked into the room we had a few various issues that we just rolled with. For example the bathroom door would not shut unless you slammed it ridiculously hard, the toilet wouldn't flush at times, and I made the mistake of opening up our fridge only to have gross odors from an open carton of milk seep out into the room.

When we got back to our room that first night and got in bed we heard a bass sound bumping. We tried to ignore it (I acknowledge that I am a light sleeper) but when I couldn't fall asleep after a while I went out front (thinking it was a car playing music below us in the parking lot). At that point a very nice woman at the reception desk informed me that it was the club across the street. She informed me that their doors were open, but the music would stop at 2am. I asked for ear plugs and she graciously provided me with a pair. I think I eventually fell asleep at 2am- leaving me tired and grumpy the whole next day :(

That next morning, I decided I was going to request a different room on the other side of the property- knowing I couldn't handle another late night of club music. As I was getting ready in the bathroom the large pipe under the sink started leaking. We threw some towels under it and decided to hurry and finish getting ready then try to switch to another room. Several minutes later I heard a thud noise and when I walked in the bathroom the entire floor was flooded. The whole pipe had literally fallen off. We quickly got our things and hurried down to the front desk.

The man we spoke to at the front desk was nice and agreed to move us to another room that a) didn't face the club and b) had a functioning sink. I have to say that our new room was much better. It was cleaner and had an appropriately functioning restroom.

If you stay at this hotel I would recommend that you definitely request a pool-facing room and avoid room 243! With those specifications, we might give things another try because the hotel is located close to our family we visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSmith513902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. Our team truly values guest opinions and we use these to enhance the guest experience. We are sorry to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory. Our staff addressed all the issues mentioned in your review and next time in the area please feel free to call me directly, I will be more than happy to assist with a different location.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Rooms were clean. The space in the bathroom was larger than average and the room was very comfortable. The view was scenic - revealing a beautifully landscaped inner court. The complimentary barbecue on Wednesday evenings was tasty. A walking path was close by. The staff were friendly and very helpful especially the breakfast crew, Janus and Tony. I would highly recommend their services.

Room Tip: Corner rooms were larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
450 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
#2 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing