We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What's expected”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The parking lot is in the basement. There is parking in front of the hotel but it is only for compact cars and it is always full. The basement parking is nice and it always has room. The only thing that I don't like about the parking is that the hotel requires having this parking tag on your dash... Many times they give me the tag when I check in but I don't want to go down to the basement again just to place the tag on my dash... just sometimes it is not convenient. After a long day at work or on the road you want to go to the room and not to the basement...
The rooms and amenities are what you would expect from Holiday Inn Express. They gave me an upgrade to a very nice suite. Room 201. It's worth it to ask for it. It's a nice room.
The only complain that I have is that the breakfast doesn't start until 6:30. I have to be at work at 7, so I miss the breakfast. But breakfast is free so I can't complain. Some hotels have at least coffee all night but not this one. Nothing before 6:30. But it’s free.
The vending machine is the only food available if you get there late. They have some wonderful tuna cans or Top Rumen depending on your taste.
The staff is very nice and efficient. The rooms are clean. The beds are comfortable. In general, the hotel is very average what you would expect from Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Ask for room 201. It's a good suite. Otherwise ask for a room on the side of teh freeway. Believ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingchapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Ingchapin:
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your valued feedback. We appreciate all feedback and the time provided to comment about our hotel. Our entire team is glad to hear that you had a great stay at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. We hope you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    212
    85
    18
    8
See reviews for
190
121
40
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Reading all the rave reviews of this hotel makes me wonder what the other hotels in Walnut Creek are like! Don't get me wrong, not a horrible experience, just nothing special. Incredibly average, and slightly overpriced for what you get. I have never stayed in Walnut Creek before, so I did not know what to expect. However, I have stayed in better Holiday Inn Express hotels. The Pros are that the front desk staff were courteous and helpful, and the room was clean. The cons are that it was overpriced for what you get. It really seemed more like a La Quinta or Motel 6. Enough said.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Su S,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We certainly regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We value your comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these give us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay.
Your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement needed.

Thank you again for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay close to everything in the Bay Area. The staff was courteous on check in. The room was clean, bathroom was well appointed, the beds were comfortable with nice linens. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. The free breakfast was better than comparable hotels. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Likestodine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Likestodine L:
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valued feedback. We appreciate your time for this review and the kind words towards the service. The entire staff tries to provide excellent service to all of our hotel guests and when you feel that we accomplished that is very important for the staff to know that their efforts are being valued. Thanks again for your comments and we hope another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Thankfully stayed here only one night. The lobby and breakfast area are the only great things about this place. Pluses are free internet and parking as well as a good breakfast variety. Our room was very small and cramped and not well cleaned. The floors were grimy as well as thick dust and trash behind night stand and under beds. Seemed like we stayed in a heavily trafficked room that needs a deep scrub!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yellowmellow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Yellowmellow6:
Thank you so much for your honest review. We are sorry to hear that your room was not cleaned properly. We will share your comments with the appropiate party for resolution. we hope you give us another chance in the near future. Thank you and I wish you Happy New Year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

From the underground parking to the breakfast room, this hotel made for a great stay on a repeat visit. Of interest to us, for the first time anywhere, we received a "no party" notice which we had to sign and which we endorse highly.

The room that we occupied was very quiet and comfortable which made for several nights' pleasant sleep. We had to request additional towels and the bath soap was amongst the smallest bar we have encountered. These are the only problems.

As for the breakfast room, not only were the furnished items plentiful, but two staff members were constantly cleaning, replenishing and made for an extremely well-run breakfast area even though it was very crowded. The room itself is very large.

We recommend this hotel highly and have already booked our next stay in June.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear lightpackers:
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. We value your business and your kind review. We will share your comments with the entire staff for recognition. We are glad to hear that you liked our no party policy, we just want our guests to have a pleasant stay. Hopefully we will see you back soon. Merry christmas and a 2014 full of nice surprises for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

It's so nice to see that there are still reasonably priced hotels out there that not only take pets but are clean and have wonderful service! A big shout out to Luis who was most kind and helpful. We have stayed here before and will stay again. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Kathleen C:
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your premier lodging option in Walnut Creek. Thank you so much for taking the time to remark the excellent service that Luis Valdivia provided you. We will make sure to recognize him for his efforts. Thanks again and we hope your continous support and wish you a merry christmas and a happy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for the Walnut Creek International Marathon and 5K. And it was a great decision on our part as the location is a mere 1.5 mile from the starting line and has free parking… unlike the $20 valet parking at Marriott which is just .7 mile closer to the starting line.
The front desk staff is professional, courteous and very helpful. We originally got a 2nd floor room which is huge because it is a corner room but it is also the room closest to the freeway so it has a lot of freeway noise. We requested a different room and were granted a 1st floor room. Room has a flatscreen TV, free Wi-Fi, comfortable bed and a bathroom with bathtub and sufficient counter space. We also requested and was granted a late checkout.

Hotel has fitness center with 2 treadmills, a bike and an elliptical machine. There were late afternoon cookies in the lobby during the weeknights. The complimentary breakfast - - eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuit & gravy, bagels, cereals, oatmeal etc. is filling.

A Great Value!! We will definitely stay here again when we run the Walnut Creek Marathon next year!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_Junketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear SF Junketeer:
Thank you for choosing our hotel amongst the other options in the area. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight the free parking, the high speed internet access, and the friendly services. We hope that you visit us again soon and we wish you a merry christmas and a 2014 full of wonderful things for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
481 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diablo Mountain Inn
Diablo Mountain Inn
#5 of 7 in Walnut Creek
78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
#2 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing