We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Holiday Inn Express hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Above expectations for Holiday Inn Express locations! You really get a bang for your buck here. The location is not in downtown Walnut Creek, but it is my experience that these HI Express hotels are not in the center of town. Their free local shuttle service 8 - 4 p.m. brought us to and from BART station. The room was comfortable, I would rate it higher but for the fact that the towels really should have been relegated to car wash/dry service. They were really worn out. Breakfast was all that HI Express is known for. I was particularly impressed with the people who worked here: they were conscientious, and very helpful, from front desk person to clean up breakfast area person.

Room Tip: Only two stories high, I don't think there is a noisy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Dramom:
Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to provide us with a review. We thank you for your remarks in regards of the friendly service at the hotel and we are sorry to hear about the towels. We appreciate your kind feedback that help us improve and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel once in 2012 and once this year, and they were quite different experiences. In 2012 I remember being pleasantly surprised that the hotel was convenient, clean and nice enough considering the relatively low cost. I decided to stay here again recently and would not recommend it based on this last experience.

I booked several weeks in advance, and when I checked in I asked for a quiet room away from the freeway. They gave us a room on the first floor, which was away from the freeway but near the street. Street noise was not bad though, what was bad was the noise from upstairs. I could hear people's footsteps and whenever they flushed the toilet there were loud sounds coming from the plumbing upstairs. Also, they gave us a room designed for someone with a disability, so while the bathroom was spacious, there was absolutely no counter space to lay anything. Other little things like there not being outlets by the bed that were open and easily reachable is a minor quibble, I find that to be true in most hotels I go to. But the lack of counter space in the bathroom, no real closet, and noise are the main reasons for the low rating. If this was the only option in this price range in the area I might consider it, but after I realized I could have stayed somewhere a bit nicer for minimal extra costs, I questioned why I ever stayed here in the first place. Anyway I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest:
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a inconvenience due to noise. We have a courtyard facing alternative that will probably fit your needs. We hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Thank you for staying and for your sincerity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We often stay here when we visit our daughter's family. It is convenient to the freeway but off enough to be quiet & has a delightful courtyard. It is clean & rooms are quiet. It has a great breakfast. The cinnamon rolls are specially scrumptious. The host & hostess (Janus) are excellent, keeping the breakfast area well supplied & very picked up & clean. Their efforts deserve kudos!

Room Tip: courtyard view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brad j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear BradJ:
Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We appreciate the time taken to provided us with such a positive 5 star review. Thank you for recognizing the great service that Janus provides at breakfast. We will make sure to pass on the message to her. We hope that you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel with several other people on business - it's what we got stuck with for work basically. While the room was 'meh', this hotel/motel was terribly outdated. From the elevators, to the room, to the outdoor pool area; this place is stuck in 1987.

The rooms need to be outfitted with more current electrical outlets and it would be great to be able to turn on the light in the bathroom without a fan that sounds like an airplane engine on final approach overhead.

Room Tip: The sports bar across the street isn't good - no matter what the front desk tells you. Also, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vizmerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear hotel guest:
We regret to hear that our hotel did not meet your standards. Our guests rate us highly because of the great service our friendly staff provides to all of our guests. We hope you give this hotel another opportunities to serve you in the future.
Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Clean hotel, nice, well-presented breakfast buffet and kind managers. Good eating options within walking distance plus a pharmacy around the corner - so good location for a business traveler. Luis V. the operations manager has been especially helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Vickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Vicki F:
Thank you so much for your time taken to provide us with such a nice review about your recent experience at our hotel. we appreciate your stay and for recognizing the good service provided by our operations manager Luis Valdivia. We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the breakfast. Staff Janis and Gilbert were great! Thank you!

Really enjoyed the breakfast. Staff Janis and Gilbert were great! Thank you!

Really enjoyed the breakfast. Staff Janis and Gilbert were great! Thank you!

Really enjoyed the breakfast. Staff Janis and Gilbert were great! Thank you!


Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for such a wonderful feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time taken to provide us with a nice review and also for choosing us amongst the options in the area. thanks for recognizing Janus, we will pass on your positive feedback to her and we hop you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I recently had a trip planned for business, which was canceled on short notice. I needed some assistance clearing up a missunderstanding, and the front desk personnel was more than helpful! if you stay here please tell Donna hello for me, quite the angel i must say! When i am in the area, i will without a doubt be staying here! Great Job!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear NewmanL:
Thank you for staying and for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We will pass on your nice comments to Donna and greet her for you. Thanks again for everything and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
815 reviews
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Concord
Crowne Plaza Concord
#4 of 8 in Concord
409 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diablo Mountain Inn
Diablo Mountain Inn
#5 of 7 in Walnut Creek
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range: £86 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing