We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, good family feel but wasteful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a good HI Express with a nice courtyard and pool. Rooms are typical American style size and appointments with a slight budget feel to the bathroom. I normally stay in this hotel when in Walnut Creek but will have to reconsider in the future. I continue to be shocked at the wastefulness of serving breakfast to literally hundreds of people each day using paper plates and plastic utensils. I am sure this hotel is filling a couple of good size garbage trucks each week with paper and plastic headed for the landfill. Even more shocking was a Trip Advisor "Green" award prominently displayed in the lobby. Green awards should be more judisiciously awarded. I have brought this wastefulness to management's attention on several occasions but apparently they are locked into their paradigm of using paper and plastic.


So if you are offended by this gross lack of environmental sensitivity, you would be better off staying at one of the several other good options in Walnut Creek.

Room Tip: Select a room on the courtyard as is nicely landscaped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear DC-Brussels:
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are looking at your comments and wanted to let you know that we use biodegradable paper products in our breakfast buffett and we have been doing it for years. We will consider your comments for more eco friendly opportunities. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Walnut Creek is a 30-45 minute drive from San Francisco. The drive is well worth the cost savings to stay at this nice hotel. The rooms are spacious, the staff is very friendly and the building is in very good shape. Parking is free. There are several restaurants close by and shopping is a short drive away. The breakfast area is large, well organized, clean and had many alternatives. This is one of the best Holiday Inn Expresses we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebowl94991112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Rosebowl94991112:
Thank you for your positive 5 star review and for honoring us with your visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel to the fullest. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband for three nights. The hotel and room were clean and staff were always prompt when we had a request for a shuttle to the nearby BART station. Breakfast selection was good and they switched it up a little every morning so you don't have to eat the same stuff every day. The only complaint I have is that the window would not close the whole way so temperature control was a bit of an issue but otherwise a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. We are happy to know that our staff was able to provided you great service and you enjoyed our hotel as well. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I only stayed one night on this most recent trip to Walnut Creek, but everything was great. The internet was fast and stable, so I was able to perform some evening work without interruption. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. Finally, the breakfast was tasty with plenty of options (not to mention I'm a sucker for the cinnamon rolls). Will definitely stay here again when business next takes me to Walnut Creek.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the courtyard in the middle of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Michael D:
Thank you for honoring us with your visit and for providing us with your feedback towards your recent experience at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay and you were able to get some work done on your pc without any interruption, also that you enjoyed our new mattresses and the delicious cinnamon rolls at breakfast time. Thanks again for your comments and we hope that you visit us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on vacation and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The location is perfect, not in the big city traffic, but close enough to everything we needed. The bed was amazing. The most comfortable bed we've ever slept on! We had a quiet room facing the courtyard and never had any complaints with noise. And additional bonus was having a chickfila next door, which was a staple and comfort for us considering being from the south. The staff was very helpful and kind. Greatly enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Hsholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Hsholt:
Thank you for providing us with your feedback and your stay. We are delighted to know that you enoyed your stay to the fullest and that the staff was able to be on top of your needs. We are hoping for another wonderful stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Everyone who works here greets you with a smile, including maintenance. Front desk is always ready to help. Nice courtyard grounds. Convenient location. Great morning breakfast, lots of choices! Typical motel like setting. Parking available I front of building and an underground garage.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindasDoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear LindasDoral:
Thank you for honoring us with your stay and with the gift of your feedback. we are happy to see that you had such a wonderful stay and our staff was able to provided you with the best possible service. We are sharing the commenst inmediately for recognition and we thank you again for the nice comments towards your recent experience at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut creek. we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived late after a late arrival into SFO. The front desk attendant was cheerful and greeted us with 2 bottles of water-much needed after a cross country flight!
He directed us where to park that was closest to the room-thankfully as the hotel is way larger than it appears from the front! The room was big and clean, predictable HIE. Breakfast too was fine.
Overall, good stay. No hiccups.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Nickisee:
Thank you for honoring us with your stay and for your valued feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay at our hotel and we will continue to make more efforts to keep you coming back. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
521 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
1,021 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diablo Mountain Inn
Diablo Mountain Inn
#5 of 7 in Walnut Creek
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range: £67 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing