We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week during a conference that was being held in downtown SF, being across the street from the BART train made the trip into the city quite easy. I should of brought my walking shoes !

The hotel it's self is in a very quiet corporate area of town, not much going on and quiet at night, but on the other side of the highway (10 min walk) you can find a walgreens, burger joints, and a BevMo which is the biggest beer store i've seen. What else do you need ?

Breakfast was great, happy hour was a nice touch. I took the shuttle a few times and the service was fantastic with friendly staff all over the hotel.

My room was next to the BART tracks and I didn't find it to be a bother as some others have mentioned. I did have a problem with my first room, but that was quickly fixed and I was moved.

If you are looking for a great place to stay and not pay the SF prices, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 416torontoRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi Matt - thank you for your great review. We are indeed conveniently located to everything our guests may need for their stay. Our shuttle will take you within 5 miles of the hotel, so if you don't feel like walking, you can hop in and have the driver take you. We hope that when you visit from Canada again, you choose the Embassy Suites for your lodging!

Tracy Gimbel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    327
    185
    114
    76
See reviews for
426
176
53
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel is conveniently located next to a BART stop, and within comfortable walking distance to several restaurants. The hotel staff were very friendly, and went out of their way to make sure that I was satisfied with everything. Complimentary breakfast included made to order eggs/omlettes, pancakes, potatoes, bacon/sausage, fruits, pastries, and cereal. Cocktail reception was also nice. I enjoyed sitting on the outdoor patio in the evenings. While the hotel likely caters to families, I was there on business. There were times when it was somewhat noisy, but overall the noise was not a significant distraction.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank RB2RB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review - we appreciate feedback from our guests and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast is very popular and delicious and the weather has been so lovely that sitting outdoors on the patio is very relaxing. We hope that when you return to the area, you plan on staying with us again!

Tracy Gimbel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This Embassy Suites is one of two places, depending on what night you stay. We stayed Wednesday-Tuesday and saw it all.

Monday-Thursday it's a business crowd. They mind their manners. The biggest annoyance will be excessive cell phone yakking at breakfast, but I can live with that. The line for breakfast is manageable, and you'll find a seat.

Friday-Sunday it's both families with kids (most of whom love to run around the corridors and are never stopped) and drunks (often sports fans) who gather in the atrium at night. You need not be an architect to figure out how the sound travels. Also, forget about the cooked breakfast and a seat in the dining room; head straight to the back, grab whatever bread and cereal you can, and return to your room.

The room itself was OK for $142. Yes, it's nice to have a separate bedroom that you can close the door on. But the room was drab. The wallpaper was an unappealing green. The bathroom door had a hole where the hook presumably once was. On the positive side, there was good water pressure, plenty of hot water, and the beds were comfy (thought the pillows were mush). There was a mini-fridge and microwave.

The property is clearly the oldest building in the Contra Costa Centre development. If you miss seeing an elevator with a light for each floor, rather than the modern digital floor display, come here.

Staffing is uneven. Arrived late and the night manager announced they didn't have the king bed I'd reserved a month earlier on Hilton.com, but we could change rooms another night. You've got to be kidding. There were some candies, sodas and other treats in the room, but no price list. When I called the next day to ask if they were free, the woman laughed and said we could have them for free because we'd been put in an upgraded room, even though we hadn't reserved it. Oh, and they were never restocked.

The guys cooking breakfast are very friendly, as are the housekeeping folks, who keep the place very clean. There's a coin laundry on 7. It's $1.75 for a wash and $1.75 to dry.

Best thing going here, plain and simple, is location. It is across the street from the Pleasant Hill/Contra Costa Centre BART station on the Pitsburg/Bay Point Line. One train to SFO, about 70 minutes, $10.05 one way. Embarcadero is about 35 minutes, $5 one way. No need to rent a car if that's all you're doing, though beware that BART runs only every 20 minutes weekends. Use the real-time arrivals on bart.gov so you don't stand around.

There's a Walgreens and some other stores you can walk to over I-680. Contra Costa Centre runs a lunchtime weekday free shuttle to other shopping centers, which we used. The schedule is on CCC's website.

Would I come back? Monday-Thursday, maybe. Weekends, doubtful. But if you're looking to save big over downtown SF, this is a place worth considering.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestReviewForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for the very comprehensive review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your week day stay and apologize for the experience during the weekend. As you said, we are very conveniently located for the Bay Area Rapid Transit line and are close to great shopping and dining in Walnut Creek and Pleasant Hill. We hope that you will consider coming back on your next visit to the area.

Tracy Gimbel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Overall a great experience. The only negative was that we had a premium room and it was to be on the 8th floor. When we checked in we were placed on the 7th floor which didn't have any of the items you usually get on the 8th floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi Stephen - thank you for your review. Our premium floor is the 7th floor. We apologize if you didn't receive the complimentary snacks that are provided to our guests. We hope to welcome you back at another time in the near future.

Tracy Gimbel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The location of the hotel is good, right on the BART line. If you fly into San Francisco airport it is a direct line. There is a change of trains from Oakland. The hotel is okay overall, but I think it needs some upgrades in rooms and in general too. My room was quiet and clean but it smelled like there was a heavy smoker right before my stay. The personnel was quick and accommodating and especially in the restaurant. Also their shuttle was good and knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: Top level is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WojtekLisicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for the review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you found the hotel satisfied your needs. We know you have a choice when choosing hotels for business travel and we hope you return to the Embassy Suites Walnut Creek.

Tracy Gimbel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchorage
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Excellent place to rest, very comfortable bedding & spacious rooms. Will definitely choose this Hotel again on my next trip. The location is close to everything. Requests made such as location of room was honored.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank nemotama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and glad you were able to rest up before heading to Yosemite. We will see you again in the near future.

Tracy Gimbel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Embassy Suites in Walnut Creek from Saturday to Wednesday recently while vsiting the San Francisco Area.
The hotel is convenientely located across from the BART station. This make it easy to get to many parts of the Bay Area, including both airports, without having to drive.
The staff were were very plesant and helpful. The room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Two TV's, dining table, bar sink, microwave and mini refirgerator gave all the comforts of home in a two room suite.
The included breakfast was excellent with many choices, including made to order omlets, pancakes and eggs. The cooks were very friendly, the open kitchen was very clean and the service staff was helpful. They served freshly brewed starbucks coffee.
Have been traveling for sixty years and have stayed in many hotels around the world and would rate this one as one of the best we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Wwe were given a room across from the elevator and next to the ice machine. I spoke with the desk an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi Happy Traveler! Thank you for a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it! We know you have a choice of hotels when visiting the area and are so glad you chose Embassy Suites Walnut Creek. Please come back and stay with us again!

Tracy Gimbel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
1.1 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
0.2 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
Address: 1345 Treat Blvd, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2173
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Walnut Creek hotel is ideally located in the beautiful East Bay of Northern California. We are convenient to Oakland, San Francisco and SFO airport and BART. Spread out in a two-room suite or upgrade to an Executive suite for extra space and amenities. Enjoy a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and evening drinks and snacks at the Manager's Reception. Host an event in our 7,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, or celebrate a special occasion in the eight-story tropical atrium. This hotel offers valet only parking for guests for $25/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing