We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Motel 6 I have stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Walnut Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Walnut Creek
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Motel 6 I have stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

First, the staff were wonderful. At check-in we were told to ask for anything we might need from a hairdryer to safety pins, and at checkout a different woman asked us how our stay was and seemed genuinely interested in knowing. The rooms have clearly been renovated and looked very nice. The mattresses are on platforms, not box springs, but were plenty comfortable. We were given a choice of being against the freeway or on the other side, and we chose the freeway side and the noise didn't affect our sleep. This location is essentially at the end of the freeway ramp, less than a mile from the BART station. We asked if we could leave our car at the motel on the morning of our check-in so we could walk to the BART station and the staff was very accommodating about that. Lots of restaurants within a couple miles. Note: BART parking is free on weekends and you can get to downtown San Francisco or Oakland on the train in about 30 minutes from here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "inside" (between the buildings) are quieter than ones against the freeway wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
13
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was a pleasant surprise when we pretty late needed a room for a night, on a short roadtrip. Floorboards in the room, fresh and clean bed and updated furnitures. A bit pricey for Motel 6 in general but beyond expectations for cleanliness and freshness. Right next to the hwy as any motel, and a vague smell of smoke even though it's a non-smoking room, but good overall.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristina0782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this room as it is pet friendly. The room was very clean with floorboards, however it was so small that our 2 retrievers and us barely fit in the room. Upon arrival some dodgy looking smoking youngsters were on the balconies and certain rooms in passing buy smelled like marijuana. As I walked to the car park another dodgy looking guy was staring at me and tried getting my attention by calling out and softly whistling. I did not feel comfortable or safe here. We have stayed at other motels with the same price where the rooms were much larger and more appropriate, I would definitely not return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Positives:
Clean pool
Friendly guy at the front desk
It wasn't as dirty as it could have been,
but our room it did smell slightly like sweat and stale cigarettes.

Negatives:
There were several people high ion drugs hanging on the balcony.
Not exactly a place where I want to have my children.
Do I need to say more??

For single travelers looking for a bargain, fine.
If you have young ones, skip it.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms still smelled a bit if you are sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmeliaRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walnut Creek hotels

Austin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Motel 6 has the minimal functional items one needs for a night in a hotel: a bed, a bathroom, some soap (you have to ask for shampoo). But it was clean and convenient. The front desk assistant was helpful and friendly at 1:00am. No one stays at Motel 6 for luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dddiane34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

My experience with this motel 6 has got to be the worst. The lady that worked there was beyond rude and made me feel belittle. Around 11:45 i heard a knock on the door and the lady told me it was due for checkout i asked her if she can give me to 12:00 because my ride was going to be late she said "ok". Well 12:05 came I had lots of luggage and my haven't came yet I asked for assistants no one came to help. I got a knock on the door this time yelling telling me to "GET OUT NOW!"She grab my bags and literally threw it outside the room and slam the door. I was beyond pissed at that point. After that experience i will never ever ever go back to this witch. If this how you treat people you will never stay in buisness.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missladyterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester (LA), CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here 1 night in Mar. to attend rowing regatta at nearby San Pablo Reservoir (El Sobrante/Orinda). This was convenient location, and comfortable room with only limited noise from a siren or two. I liked that it was very close to "downtown" WC area, shopping, restaurants (I splurged at Il Fornaio) Starbucks, and within about 2 miles from a Safeway where I picked up some bakery items for the rowers. Anyway, the room has been recently renovated, has a nice flat screen television. The bed has a light blanket but the heating was fine and quiet so I didn't miss more "cushy" comforters that hotels generally have. The sink area/bathroom was nice, and there is an ice machine and vending machines for sodas & snacks near the main office. I'd made a reservation on their website, & they allowed me to check in slightly before the normal time. I would stay here again -reasonable rate with tax included (about $81). Note the pool is kept nicely and had a number of chaises and chairs although it's unheated.

Room Tip: 2nd floor had quiet H/AC and room facing Main Street has less freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank socaltravelmom_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
0.1 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
1.2 mi away
Diablo Mountain Inn
Diablo Mountain Inn
#5 of 7 in Walnut Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Walnut Creek

Property: Motel 6 Walnut Creek
Address: 2389 N Main St, I-680 / Sinclair Freeway at North Main Street, Walnut Creek, CA 94596-3547
Region: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Walnut Creek 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Motel Six Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Motel 6
Walnut Creek Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing