We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Thai, but priced for that”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Plearn Thai Palace

Plearn Thai Palace
Ranked #89 of 291 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Average Thai, but priced for that”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

A reasonable selection of Thai food and pleasant service, but there is plenty of competition. If you're there, you'll probably have a good experience, but it isn't my first choice.

Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stopped in for lunch at spur of the moment while Christmas shopping in Walnut Creek.

This restaurant is small, but very nicely decorated, clean, and with adequate room between tables. Service was prompt and friendly. Satay chicken was excellent, as was the cucumber salad, and Thai iced coffee. Price was reasonable; not cheap, but not expensive either. Good value for the total experience. Many of the customers appeared to be of Thai descent, and I believe that says good things about the quality of food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Delicious curries and pad Thai! Really friendly staff!

Quickly grew to our favorite Thai place in Walnut Creek!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow, delicious food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

My husband & I really enjoyed our first visit to Plearn in Walnut Creek. We had read that they're always busy, and I can see why! We dropped in on a weeknight and waited for a few minutes for a table. The food was great! He had yellow chicken curry and I had pad thai (Pat Thai on their menu.) Great sauces, textures, seasonings. The staff was very busy but courteous. Not sure how many cooks are in the kitchen; it took a little while for us to get our food but we'd ordered the ghio-krob appetizer, which tided us over till then. The appetizer (fried won-ton stuffed with potato, corn, onion & curry powder, served with a unique sweet-n-sour sauce) was delicious and the sweet-n-sour sauce seemed made from scratch using honey. It was light brown, clear, and a far cry from the red sugary gunk many restaurants serve. We would definitely go back and sample more dishes there again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amastelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
554 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The kids and I took my wife here recently for her birthday. To serve the group, we ordered a wide assortment of appetizers and main dishes. Everything was well prepared, fresh and bursting with flavor. The service was adequate but not exceptional. Bottom line - we will return again when we are looking for Thai food in Walnut Creek.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plearn Thai Palace also viewed

 

Been to Plearn Thai Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing