We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor judgement”

Benvenuti Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Benvenuti Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 294 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: To share our love and passion for Italian cooking, Benvenuti Ristorante (formerly know as Salvatore Ristorante) features exceptional traditional Italian cuisine in a warm and welcoming environment with local, sustainable, organic ingredients, an extensive list of Italian and Californian wines, a full bar and a robust cocktail program.
Lubbock
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor judgement”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My family went on the Sunday before Memorial Day, which was probably a mistake. The restaurant was tremendously understaffed that evening; certainly on the floor, and probably in the kitchen too. Yet, the restaurant was packed to the gills. It took 3 hours to complete our dinner, and most of that time was spent waiting. I think management showed poor judgement in accepting so many reservations, given the staffing limitations. The food was average. We had been before, and really enjoyed it. This time, though, several in our party said that they would not be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    28
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing 1st Anniversary Dinner that took us back to our Italian Honeymoon”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We just moved to the area and are celebrating our 1st Anniversary, we went to Rome and Sorrento for our honeymoon so wanted to have a nice relaxing Italian dinner to bring back those memories. We chose Salvatore Ristorante and are so glad that we did. We had made reservations and were immediately greeted by one of the owners (Angela) and sat at a nice table, we were served water, bread and a delicious brushetta sauce right after we were seated. Our waiter, Giuseppe, greeted us and took our drink order, they suggested an amazing bottle of wine which we were in love with after our first sip. We ordered a salad that we split and each ordered an entree, I ordered the gnocchi with the marinara cream sauce and my husband ordered the linguine with mussels, clams and shrimp in a white wine sauce. Both dishes were AMAZING! We ordered the Cannoli to take home for the next day and had the Tiramisu in house, both dishes were amazing. We topped off the night with a limoncello to set the evening off. By far the best Italian restaurant we have eaten at in the United States and the service and friendly atmosphere was the best. We will definitely take friends and family when they come visit us. Thank you for an amazing Dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaywardWander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Salvatore's was our favorite Italian restaurant when we lived in Walnut Creek. It's a lovely family run place with friendly waitstaff. The food is excellent - my husband and I never tried anything that we didn't like. Our favorite appetizer was the mozzarella capricciosa and our favorite entrees were the spaghetti carbonara, spaghetti w/meatballs, tortellini papalina and linguini alla pescatora. Wine was reasonably priced or you can bring your own for a corkage fee. They even occasionally have wine tasting events with appetizers for a small fee that you can find out about by signing up for their email list. We will miss this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients, great food”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Atmosphere is more comfortable than formal and prices are slightly high for pasta- but freshness of food is worth it. Enjoyed our dinner- brought our kids with us and they really liked food as well

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AandS_Norcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A very nice find”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

After living near and working in Walnut Creek for 20 plus years we finally dropped in to Salvatore's on Sunday night. We did not have reservations but there was one table left. We ordered a bottle of wine which was fairly priced. My husband, sister and i shared a caeser salad because my first test of a restaurant is can they produce a salad I would want to order again. We agreed....we would all order and enjoy that salad again. My husband had the house made fettuccine with shrimp. The pasta was al dente and very good. My sister has the sole and while she is very particular she deemed it excellent. I had the eggplant Parmesan and it was fresh, well seasoned with an excellent tomato sauce. We all loved Salvatore's and it will replace our former favorite Italian restaurant in Walnut Creek. The decor is not slick or modern but that is sometimes comforting. We are eager to return

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleeenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benvenuti Ristorante also viewed

Walnut Creek, CA
Walnut Creek, CA
 

Been to Benvenuti Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing