We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Watsonville
Ladera Ranch, United States
1 review
“Unexpected treasure”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I didn't want to stay here after driving through the area, I was tired from being on the road for three days and we were at the end of a long day in Monterey. I asked if we could cancel our reservation which was silly because it was that night. The woman that was working the desk was really sweet and helpful and wasn't fazed by my crabbiness. She said since I was a best western member my room had been upgraded to a two bedroom sweet. Inside the room it was lovely, and the beds were a king and queen and the room was very clean. The floors were clean and the tile grout in both bathrooms was clean and it smelled good. The beds were very comfortable and I ended up loving the room. We went on a 6 day, 5 hotel trip up the coast and this was my favorite room. The breakfast was fun and easy to get in and out and of course it was free, who can complain about that? I'd stay here again. Our room key didn't work after breakfast, before we could check out so we had it re-programed, three times. It never did work and the staff was unable to use a master key of any type. The maintenance crew came up and crawled around on the ground putting what looked like a giant hanger under the door to manually open it from the inside handle. They didn't leave until we checked out the room to make sure no funny business had occurred and everything was fine. I'd still stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Kelley S,

I am so happy you found our facility to be a "treasure". After a long trip like that I would be tired too but I am glad you were able to enjoy the perks of being a Best Western Member with your free upgrade. I do want to apologize for the door. After you checked out we did replace it and send that door lock to be repaired.

We do hope you will consider being our guest again on your next trip to the area.

Have a great day,

Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    119
    67
    25
    10
See reviews for
158
81
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
reno, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here because it was a pet friendly Inn. I discovered a hidden gem in Watsonville, CA Close to both Monterey and Santa Cruz. It was like the small boutique hotels I have stayed in San Francisco and Europe without the cost. I would definitely stay here again. Quiet, clean and with all the amenities that the higher priced hotels would have!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Amber D,
I am glad you and your pet got to enjoy all amenities. We really appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you in the near future!

Happy Traveling,

Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here two nights with my one year daughter and my husband on a business/ family trip. During the day my husband had to work in Watsonville and I traveled to Santa Cruz and Monterey with my daughter. The hotel is clean and they offer friendly and fast service. However, the location seemed a bit sketchy. The rooms are a decent size, but they got very humid for some reason. As you walk past most of the rooms you can see the windows get very fogged up. May have something to do with the insulation. The people next door to us were very loud and we could hear them perfectly, as if they were in the room with us, so that was kind of a con. Overall, it was a pleasant stay centrally located between two great destinations!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenC_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear GenC_Travel,
First off I would like to apologize for your noisy neighbors. Just to let you know we do have some one at the desk 24/7 to help you with any problem you may encounter on your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Have a great day,
Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Lake, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Nice rooms, helpful staff. Parking can be a challenge but good hotel with central location. There is a restaurant across the street that is open late and good food. Staff is very attentive. They have a nice breakfast available as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Daniel W,

I am pleased that you enjoyed our staff as well as all our amenities. The parking can be a little difficult but we do have a back parking lot as well. We do hope to see you on your next trip to Watsonville.

Have a great day,
Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The room was big & spacious, beds were comfortable but the breakfast room was too small & crammed. The amenities were great. Check in/out was quick & easy. Neighborhood was not that great. Free parking & free internet was provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank W7401WEthomasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Arriving from Europe, I was looking for a place while I had no reservation and I came through this Best Western in Watsonville. In a few minutes I was given a quiet and nice room. It looks more like an American motel than a modern hotel. The breakfast was self-service. The overall was perfect for a business traveller.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Etienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Etienne B,

We are so pleased you found us on your trip! We definitely are a smaller and cozier hotel and we love to see good reviews as they are shared within the staff. We do hope that you make your way back to Watsonville and we wish you safe travels on your business trip.

Sincerely,
Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This experience was better than my experiences in Petaluma or Rohnert Park Best Western Inns. The staff is proficient from front desk to housekeeping, rooms are clean and very comfortable. For a in town location pretty quiet overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nickla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Nickla W,
You definitely left a lasting impression and my staff cant wait for your return!
We hope to see you in the near future and we appreciate your kind words.

Sincerely,
Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watsonville
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watsonville
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Watsonville
Comfort Inn Watsonville
#3 of 10 in Watsonville
82 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
8.8 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
317 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rose Garden Inn

Property: Best Western Rose Garden Inn
Address: 740 Freedom Boulevard, Watsonville, CA 95076-3811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Watsonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Watsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn has just undergone a multi-million dollar transformation capturing the strong Mexican heritage of the local area. We have added complimentary high-speed Internet access, a free Internet kiosk, several new rooms, a meeting/event facility and a fitness center.We are ideally located in the heart of the scenic Central Coast, near the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, redwood tree parks, championship golfing and prestigious wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watsonville
Watsonville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing