We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping for!”

Pioneer Yosemite History Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.00*
and up
Yosemite and Glacier Point Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Wawona
Certificate of Excellence
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth stopping for!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A very interesting collection of old dwellings and farm equipment which you can wander around at your will. Gave a taste of what it must have been like in those early pioneering days. Great historic attraction well presented. The Wawona Hotel is nearby for food and there are picnic tables under the trees. Also ample parking. So pleased we decided to visit. Learnt a lot about early pioneering in Yosemite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orkneycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    40
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinole, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to spend an hour or so..”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stopped by on a Sunday afternoon, about mid-day. Took the self-guided tour of cabins that early settlers to the Yosemite lived in and an early bakery. Degnan's Bakery. This name is still used in Yosemite Valley as a Deli and Pizza parlor, covered bridge and a wonderful collection of old wagons. There are horses to rent and a stagecoach/wagon ride around the property and Wawona hotel next door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goodwich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
467 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Open Wednesday to Sunday in Summer”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We arrived late on Sunday afternoon as the Pioneer Visitor Center was closing down. We saw enough to wish that we could have experienced it earlier. There are horses for riding, stagecoach collection and 15 minute rides for $5. There is a working blacksmith and other buildings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Easy to miss this place as you hurtle into Yosemite - take a look on the way out. It is an interesting collection of old buildings that only take about 20 minutes to stroll around

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JURNEYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Informative Attraction”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We visited in late May while a California middle school group was there so all the village sites were staffed with reenactors, which made it very interesting. Unfortunately we came late and only had a hour before closing. We'd been there years before, and it's much more interesting with the reenactors. Also has a beautiful covered bridge leading into the encampment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Verne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pioneer Yosemite History Center also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Pioneer Yosemite History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing