We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tons of charm and an incredibly friendly welcome”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weaverville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weaverville Hotel & Emporium
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weaverville
Bay Area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tons of charm and an incredibly friendly welcome”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here one night on Labor Day weekend. The place oozes charm and has clearly been a labor of love for the owners. Historical details are everywhere, with a certain whimsy. Beds are comfortable, showers have great water pressure and tons of hot water.

Being an old building the floors may not always be level and the walls are kinda thin but, hey, that's the way they built 'em back then.

I can recommend this place without hesitation to anyone who wants to experience the charm of the old west in this historic town.

I'll definitely stay at the Weaverville Hotel again next time I'm passing this way and have recommended it without hesitation to friends.

I have to make a special mention of the owners. You could not wish to meet a finer pair of Americans anywhere. It is very rare to feel such an authentic welcome. Great people!

Room Tip: Rooms away from Main Street are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanneMuir, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
I decided a while back it was time to acknowledge positive reviews too, and your kind words brought tears to my eyes. Thank you SO much. Life is a mirror: when you smile it usually smiles back. I bet you get a LOT of smiles! Happy trails to you... Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
77
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

On a road trip to visit old friends and places from my husband's past and stopped at the Weaverville Hotel to see if they had a room available. This historic inn has been in business since the mid-1800's and was recently restored. Our room was charming, comfortable and quiet. Jeanne was gracious and helpful, taking time to tell us about the inn's history and a run-down of the restaurants in town. If you like historic small relaxing, we recommend the Weaverville hotel and town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamapajamamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanneMuir, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. Whenever I get discouraged, I go upstairs and read from our room journals, or go online and read reviews from people like you. I love my work and you (and others like you) are a big part of the reason why that is true. Thanks again, and with best regards, Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and I have enjoyed staying here on multiple occasions. The innkeepers are very personable and friendly and the rooms are comfortable and relaxing. The building, decor, and even the music bring you back in time. The claw-foot bathtubs are wonderful and the lounge or outside swings are wonderful for relaxing with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kasong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanneMuir, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you SO much for the kind words which validate all we try to do here at the Weaverville Hotel. I had gotten in the habit of only responding to negative feedback, but that seems so wrong. People like you who encourage and inspire those around you deserve a pat on the back too. Your kindness spreads and grows, making this old world a better place. Life is indeed a mirror and I know you see a great deal of happiness coming your way. Thanks again and with warm regards,
Jeanne Muir and the staff of the Weaverville Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The number one criteria in choosing an hotel or B&B for us (or anybody with a sound mind) is:

Can you sleep at night? If not! As well sleep in your car in a quiet setting .It will be cheaper!

Since this hotel is on Main street (Highway 299) a well travelled road, I doubted very much it is as quiet as most reviews have suggested, if your room is facing that main street!

I sent them an e-mail inquiring ,which rooms were facing the Street and the ones in the back if any.

Having not received a response, I send them a second one in case they missed the first.

Their non response to both of them, tells me what I have suspected from the start, that any hotel located on a main street is going to be noisy .

Why have a contact e-mail, if you do not bother to respond?

I could not stay in a hotel with a management that is not up front about it. What else will they do if you stay there?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacefullcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanneMuir, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
I am so sorry for your negative experience. We take great pride in answering all email in a timely fashion, part of our effort to provide real hospitality in an increasingly stressful and fast-paced world, but yours seems to have fallen through the cracks. (I do wonder why you did not contact us via our 800 number. )

The only lodging not on Main Street in Weaverville is the Red Hill Motel, a particular favorite of fishermen, and with the best prices in town. Next time you are in Weaverville you will want to consider it. It is a 1950's style motel with individual cabins.

Again my apologies and with best regards,

Jeanne Muir
The Weaverville Hotel & Emporium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We had an absolutely perfect two-night stay at the Weaverville Hotel and Emporium. Jeanne and Brian are cordial hosts, the hotel is deeply historic (in continuous operation for 150 years), beautifully furnished, and comfortably quiet. And it is right in the middle of the fascinating town of Weaverville, whose history (gold mining, Chinese immigration, California frontier) is everywhere, and whose very good restaurants and shops are always only a few steps away. A+

Room Tip: All are superb (and quiet). The Governor's Suite is splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Exactly what DoctorPoisson said, including the 300 miles of twisties per day. We really enjoyed this trip back in time. Very well restored and the people couldn't have been nicer. The only negative for motorcycles was parking. We parked on the street with no problems.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

After two days of riding 300+ miles on the twisties of PCH and the mountain pass of 299, the warm reception at the Weaverville Hotel & Emporium seemed like stepping back into a pristine 19th century luxury hotel. Like a meticulously restored automobile, you can see the care taken in resurrecting this 150 year old hotel to its original form. The hotel is clean, packed with history, with some concealed modern amenities - but is true to the period. The owner quickly showed us around the hotel upon arrival, but sensing we were tired got us up to our rooms quickly. The beds are surprisingly comfortable and you could spend an afternoon exploring the historical books and memorabilia throughout the hotel, especially the sitting room. Upon arriving back from dinner, on the bed was a hand made truffle along with some literature about the area and the hotel. The owner obviously has a lot of pride as she should. For the money, I was blown away. I have stayed at 4 Seasons that showed less care. What a great place. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All you can eat ribs across the street! Use your Weaverville dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoctorPoisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weaverville
5.6 mi away
Indian Creek Lodge
Indian Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Douglas City
112 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Lewiston Inn
The Old Lewiston Inn
#1 of 3 in Lewiston
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whitmore Inn
The Whitmore Inn
#1 of 1 in Weaverville
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
49er Gold Country Inn
49er Gold Country Inn
#4 of 5 in Weaverville
52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Weaverville Hotel & Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weaverville Hotel & Emporium

Property: Weaverville Hotel & Emporium
Address: 481 Main Street, P.O. Box 537, Weaverville, CA 96093
Region: United States > California > Weaverville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weaverville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, originally built in 1861, was last rebuilt in 1880 after burning to the ground. We have painstakingly restored it to the original high ceilings and wood floors, attempting to recapture as much of the original charm as possible. Private bath with shower in all rooms, most also have claw-foot tubs with bubble bath. All rooms are air conditioned with ceiling fans; most also have gas log fireplaces, a welcome feature during our colder months. Prime retail therapy is to be had in our great little Emporium downstairs where everything from sterling silver jewelry to women's clothing to great gift items can be found. The emporium is open every day, 9am till 6pm except Sundays, 10am-6pm. That's every day of the year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weaverville Hotel And Emporium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing