We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place, nice people”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weaverville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weaverville Hotel & Emporium
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weaverville
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting place, nice people”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was our first time staying here. Every staff person we met was friendly and helpful. The charm of a B&B with a bit more of the structure of a Hotel. Very nice balance. The only drawback is that since the building in "vintage" the floors creak when walked upon. So, if you are are really light sleeper, bring some earplugs and you will be fine. Also, the local mill announces breaks and shift changes with a fairly loud whistle. However, I wake easily and neither of these noises were a large problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWGRECO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
71
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was a very friendly place. We really enjoyed talking to the owner of the Weaverville Hotel. She was very welcoming. She upgraded our room to a lovely room 3. It was delightful . She advise dus to go to La Grange restaurant which was great. When we arrived in Weaverville we went to the Park Ranger office. they were extremely helpful and gave us great maps with trails to walk in the area

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I am glad so your visit to Weaverville and the Trinity Alps was a memorable one, and we appreciate your kind words. Trinity County was once known as the place to come for gold, but now I believe our treasure is in our beautiful wilderness, our big-hearted people and our gold-rush history. Thanks again, and wishing you happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This room/suite so reminded me of a European hotel room, with it's older furniture and creaking/slanting floors. This is Charming with a capital 'C', I also liked the Champagne bath, the chocs on the turned down bed and the cookies and coffee in the morning. Jean the owner is a lovely lady and very friendly and her emporium is well worth a visit, we both loved this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Paul,
What a wonderful review! On behalf our whole team, thank you for your kind and encouraging words. I hope we can always leave our guests as pleasantly surprised as you were by their "Weaverville Hotel Experience!"

Wishing you everything good,
Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I fell in love with the hotel the minute we walked in to register. Both owners were very gracious and friendly and made us feel welcome immediately. Our room, the Corona de Oro was immaculate and stunning and the creaks and groans of the floors added to the charm of this beautifully appointed hotel. Unfortunately we only had one night and I didn't have time to take advantage of the champagne tub, which I regret. However, next time we are in the quaint & delightful town of Weaverville I will certainly luxuriate in a bubble bath! The Weaverville Hotel is fabulous & I highly recommend it for anyone looking for accommodations!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose-Meri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Wow! What a nice review!

I know I speak for our whole team when I say we do so appreciate your taking the time to pass on your kind words. Like gentle ripples in a still pond, may your kindness spread and come back to you ten fold.
Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sea Ranch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We arrived in a heat wave (well over 100 degrees) and found our hotel room cool, nicely decorated and quite roomy. The owners were so very kind and friendly, we immediately felt welcome. They have decorated the hotel in the period Weaverville was known for - the gold rush. Very authentic. Be sure to visit the Josh museum across the street. The guide was knowledgeable and seemed to love his work of showing off the oldest buddist temple still in use in California. We enjoyed the book store, many many new and used books, and an owner who says he ready to move away if anyone wants to buy his little store. A nice trip to yesterday in the beautiful mountains. Wish it had been a little cooler so we could have explored outside of the shade trees.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joangriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you SO much for your kind words!

I believe life is a mirror, that if you smile, it will usually smile back. Your must encounter many many smiles along this journey we call life. Wishing you all the best!

Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Those are the best words to describe what the owners bring to the guest experience at the Weaverville Hotel. Firstly, it's clear that the owners are madly in love with one another as well as with the hotel that they have poured their hearts and souls into. Secondly, it's equally clear that they constantly pour their hearts and souls into their guests' satisfaction.

Sure, some of the rooms are a little uphill, some are a little down hill, but all are beautifully appointed and decorated and the overall result is that guests can experience all the quirkiness and charm of the old west in wonderful hostelry.

If you're a Hampton In fanatic, stay in Redding. But if you want wonderful memories of this charming gold-rush era town, this is the ONLY place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Reviews don't usually bring tears to my eyes, but yours definitely did. Sometimes we get a little bogged down in the day-to-day nitty gritty and forget that in our own small way we might be making this old world a better place. And you are paying all that forward with your kind words of encouragement. Thank you so much, and with wishes that it all comes back to you a hundred fold.
Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
361 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It was too early to stay in the hotel but we loved shopping in the Emporium. Fantastic items of all kinds and wonderful people running the shop. They were very helpful about places to see and things to do in this great little town. But most of all they had such unique gifts and items of interest.
Next time we'll work it out to be able to stay there. What a neat little town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, Owner at Weaverville Hotel & Emporium, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We so appreciate your glowing report on our emporium, our team, and our town! We do try to provide real hospitality in a more and more stressful and fast-moving world, as well as fun shopping! (A little retail therapy never hurts.) We are thinking of making this our motto at the emporium: "People who think money can't buy happiness don't know where to shop." Happy shopping to you, and looking forward to having you as our guests at the hotel.
Till then, and with many thanks for your kind words,
Jeanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weaverville
0.3 mi away
The Whitmore Inn
The Whitmore Inn
#1 of 1 in Weaverville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
5.6 mi away
Indian Creek Lodge
Indian Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Douglas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Lewiston Inn
The Old Lewiston Inn
#2 of 3 in Lewiston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Strawhouse Resorts & Cafe
0.4 mi away
49er Gold Country Inn
49er Gold Country Inn
#5 of 5 in Weaverville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weaverville Hotel & Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weaverville Hotel & Emporium

Property: Weaverville Hotel & Emporium
Address: 481 Main Street, P.O. Box 537, Weaverville, CA 96093
Region: United States > California > Weaverville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weaverville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, originally built in 1861, was last rebuilt in 1880 after burning to the ground. We have painstakingly restored it to the original high ceilings and wood floors, attempting to recapture as much of the original charm as possible. Private bath with shower in all rooms, most also have claw-foot tubs with bubble bath. All rooms are air conditioned with ceiling fans; most also have gas log fireplaces, a welcome feature during our colder months. Prime retail therapy is to be had in our great little Emporium downstairs where everything from sterling silver jewelry to women's clothing to great gift items can be found. The emporium is open every day, 9am till 6pm except Sundays, 10am-6pm. That's every day of the year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weaverville Hotel And Emporium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing