We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific find”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weaverville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weaverville Hotel & Emporium
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weaverville
Reviewed 27 January 2007

We just returned from a trip to Trinity County and a stay at the historic Weaverville Hotel. The hotel was worthy of a trip on its own. The owners have done an incredible job of restoring this beautiful building. The entire hotel is immaculate and the detail of the workmanship is amazing. The woodwork, period furnishings, and beautifully appointed rooms all contribute to a feeling of quiet elegance. Yet the rooms have all the modern conveniences and most even have gas fireplaces. The linens are luxurious and the quality of the amenities is remarkable. But it’s the hospitality that really makes this hotel a jewel. The welcome is warm and welcoming, yet never obtrusive. Jeanne Muir, owner and hostess, is one of the most gracious you’ll find. She’s extremely helpful, knowledgeable about the local history, and goes out of her way to make your stay an enjoyable one. Jeanne, and her husband, Brian, certainly have it down right; this hotel is everything a small hotel should be. And that’s not even counting the big chocolate truffles that magically appear on your turned down bed every evening! We’ll return to Weaverville just to stay in this romantic inn. It’s truly worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LS-Los_Altos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Weaverville Hotel & Emporium
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 148 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Berkeley, CA
38
Reviewed 13 July 2006

We spent two nights in the Bully Choop room, a fabulous room with four-poster bed, sitting area, firelplace and a view of the town bandstand and distant mountains. it felt like we were guests of Jeanne and Brian, staying in their lovely home; they were perfect host and hostess. They even provide coupons for breakfast, good at any of the restaurants in town. We chose Noel's Cafe, down the block. For dinner both nights we ate at LaGrange, the restaurant across the street; great food and service!

We also loved Weaverville. Walking down Main Street, talking to the locals, you feel their pride and love for their town and its history. The homes of the early settlers are all marked with a placque denoting the name of the original owner. They have also created several miles of trails along the old mining ditches on the edge of town. It was a beautiful early morning walk.

And then, you have the Trinity Alps and Trinity Lake to explore. Two days was not enough in this idyllic piece of northern California. We definitely plan to return!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2006

Our stay at the Weaverville Hotel was most pleasant. The hotel has been carefully restored to its 19th century grandeur, with great care to detail, and with up-to-date amenities added to assure comfort (hair dryer, CD player, coffee maker). Our hostess even provided music CD's of our choice, and chocolate truffles with a bed turndown! Our room included a champagne tub, something new to us, as well as a modern shower. Downstairs, we had use of a sitting room filled with historical objects such as stereoscopes and a foot-pedaled organ. There was no TV or phone in our room, but they were available in a room off the sitting room. There's no elevator so bags must be carried up the slightly steepstairway. It was fun to take a step back in history and still be coddled with modern amenities.

2  Thank WashingtonSallyForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2006

What a gem!! Great price. Great location. Friendly helpful and genuine staff. My husband and I loved this hotel and would warmly recommend it to anyone. We spent 3 weeks travelling in California and this was by far the best place we stayed in.
We had a fabulous room with Cd player and great selection of discs to play on it. The bed was gorgeous and there was an amazing bath and seperate shower.
Downstairs there was an atmospheric, cosy communal room with board games, books, musical instruments and Victorian curiosities to intrigue and interest.
We could not have asked for more and were sorry to leave. Our stay in Weaverville really added to our holiday in the beautiful state of California and left us with wonderful memories and a warm glow!!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mobiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Weaverville Hotel for an extended weekend as part of a high school reunion and couldn't be more pleased. Jeanne and Brian are so friendly, interested in their guests and concerned with their comfort that we felt right at home while being pampered beyond our expectations (and beyond any home I've been in). In addition to the elegant accomodations, we so much enjoyed finding all the little unexpected touches; "old fashioned" alarm clock and radio thats a CD player with CD's supplied, "old fashioned cast iron" tub that turns out to be a modern whirlpool tub, thick and luxurious "turkish" bathrobes and linens, down comforter, excellent books to read are everywhere (selected and most of them read by Jeanne), wine glasses and cork extractor, coffee and drip coffee maker, not to mention the elegant chocolate truffles and gourmet cup-at-a-time coffee and tea with many flavor choices (in the TV room).
All the rooms and common areas are elegantly, authentically and very creatively decorated and furnished personally by Jeanne and Brian as part of their restoration of the old hotel. No two rooms or pieces of furniture seem to be alike. The furniture all appears to be antiques. The emporioum downstairs is stocked with interesting gifts personally selected by them. They rightfully take pride in their accomplishments and certainly seem to enjoy giving tours of the hotel, including unoccupied rooms.
Weaverville is isolated in the rugged and beautiful Trinity Alps yet within easy daytrip distance of northern California's best scenery and "must-see" sites. It's a vibrant little town with a colorful mining history. Although we visited off-season, we were surprised at the variety of shops and quality restaurants that were open and thriving.
We'll definitely stay at the Weaverville Hotel soon again!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisForan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2005

All of the previous reviews are true!
We spent Labor Day weekend - also our first anniversary - at the Weaverville Hotel.
Jeanne and Brian are gracious hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - we wished for more than 2 days!
Charming and comfortable are definitely words to describe the hotel. The town is also quite quaint.
Also, very close to some terrific hiking trails in the Trinity Alps - we even saw a bear!
Hands down, an A+ for the Weaverville Hotel! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2005

We recently stayed at the Weaverville hotel, as a break in our Northern California Trek. Our hosts, Jeanne and Brian were so wonderful and welcoming. The restoration is beautifull and their attention to detail is incredible. We really enjoyed playing chess, looking at all the antiques, listening to the old Victrolla in the Parlor, and soaking in the clawfoot bathtub in the room. It was a unique experience back into time, and we were treated more like family visiting a favorite aunt, than just hotel guests. The town is charming and everyone was so friendly. The location is great too, as there is much to see and do in the Trinity/Shasta wilderness. This actually became a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mswsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weaverville
0.3 mi away
The Whitmore Inn
The Whitmore Inn
#1 of 1 in Weaverville
46 reviews
5.6 mi away
Indian Creek Lodge
Indian Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Douglas City
115 reviews
14.0 mi away
Strawhouse Resorts & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Old Lewiston Inn
The Old Lewiston Inn
#1 of 3 in Lewiston
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
49er Gold Country Inn
49er Gold Country Inn
#3 of 5 in Weaverville
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weaverville Hotel & Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weaverville Hotel & Emporium

Address: 481 Main Street, P.O. Box 537, Weaverville, CA 96093
Region: United States > California > Weaverville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weaverville
Price Range: £73 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, originally built in 1861, was last rebuilt in 1880 after burning to the ground. We have painstakingly restored it to the original high ceilings and wood floors, attempting to recapture as much of the original charm as possible. Private bath with shower in all rooms, most also have claw-foot tubs with bubble bath. All rooms are air conditioned with ceiling fans; most also have gas log fireplaces, a welcome feature during our colder months. Prime retail therapy is to be had in our great little Emporium downstairs where everything from sterling silver jewelry to women's clothing to great gift items can be found. The emporium is open every day, 9am till 6pm except Sundays, 10am-6pm. That's every day of the year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weaverville Hotel And Emporium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing