We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming inn in a charming town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whitmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whitmore Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Weaverville B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming inn in a charming town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Whitmore is a fabulously refurbished Victorian style home that has been converted into a comfortable and relaxing inn. The rooms are well styled to suit the era but with the felling of modern comfort.
The proprietor or hosts were wonderfully friendly and made me feel very much at home.
The town of Weaverville itself was a very pleasant surprise. The rustic buildings of the quaint main street are well maintained and with a number of old mining antiques places around the town give a Weaverville has a real "gold rush" to it.
Weaverville is definitely worth a stop if you are passing through and The Whitmore Inn is a perfect place to begin your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
19
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I were able to stay at the Inn only one night and didn't get to see the guests rooms in the house, but the Garden Room was a perfect match for our needs. It was more comfortable for us to come and go with our privacy without disturbing other guests. The positive descriptions of the house are accurate, and the hostess was casual yet quite gracious. It worked perfectly for us to not have a full breakfast because we were able to sleep in and come in for coffee and warm muffins, more to our wishes our wishes than most early B&B breakfasts. We were easily within walking distance of the shops, galleries, and restaurants in town. The atmosphere of Weaverville was a relaxed and pleasant change from larger cities. The locals were warm, inviting, and interesting in the small town. This is charming rural America, and a person expecting big city luxuries should keep to their cities.
I was juror for the almost-next-door Highland Art Center photo exhibit. Being so nearby allowed my wife to easily return to the room while I visited with the photographers and public at the Saturday evening art walk. The three meals I had in town were wonderful. Restaurants and delis in town seemed to be very service oriented and have very good quality meals, sandwiches, etc,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneRimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

It's rare to find an accessible room in a charming victorian B&B, but the Whitmore Inn has one. The downstairs room has wheelchair access and a bathroom that worked for my husband. It's always a pleasure to find charm and character along with accessible amenities. And Weaverville is quite an interesting place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have stayed at The Whitmore Inn many times over the years, coming back home to attend various events and visit with family. I found the casual atmosphere to be refreshing from the usual B and B "stuffy" kind of ambiance. I am able to walk every where I needed to go, and used the little daily shuttle bus to get to the other corners of town. I so appreciated Noell letting me prepare a family dinner for my loved ones using the beautiful dining room and accessible kitchen. I have enjoyed watching the process from old fixer upper Victorian to its gorgeous and well thought out beauty that it has become. There have been garden weddings, luncheons on the deck and family parties. come home to Weaverville, the Whitmore Inn is warm and waiting!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamangirl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The room was nicely appointed and clean though the main street traffic noise is unfortunate. Route 299, Main Street, passes right in front of the B&B. Service is nil. We arrived and no one was around but the back door was propped open. We let ourselves in after awhile and found our room. Maybe Weaverville has no crime but having guests leave personnel articles in an open, unattended house is unusual to say the least. It was also odd that there was a half-eaten croissant on the sideboard when we went through the dining area... Someone who said she was the innkeeper's niece arrived later to swipe our credit card. The breakfast consisted of coffee, OJ, a little fruit (grocery store marginal produce) and cold Costco croissants and muffins. (We were actually told that the "pastries" were from Costco!) Given the price of the room, and that we were staying at a bed and breakfast, we expected a fresh, homemade breakfast. We were traveling by bike and needed a hearty breakfast, so we ended up purchasing breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leavethecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this inn. Noelle, the innkeeper, is friendly and accommodating. The building is beautifully restored with Victorian charm but not too fussy. It is clean as can be. As always with older buildings the rooms have character. We stayed in the only ground floor room which is right off the dining room. It is a little less private but well worth it for us because it is ADA accessible.

For us the Main Street location was a plus. We did not find traffic noise a problem and we loved being close to museums and shops.

We did not try the breakfast as we prefer to provide our own food for dietary reasons. Noelle very kiny let us store food in the inn refrigerator and use the kitchen and dishes.

Next time we're in Weaverville we will stay here again !!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
597 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Gorgeous house; spacious rooms; great location right in downtown Weaverville. Innkeeper, Noelle, was extremely friendly and accommodating. Remember to call ahead as this is a small Inn and it is courteous to let them know when you are coming so they can be on hand. The room was beautiful; well appointed; and the bathroom was quaint. Great touches like Q-tips; real Kleenex; and a hairdryer. Right on the main street of Weaverville and within walking distance to every decent restaurant. Coffee and yummy muffins in the AM; apparently starting a full breakfast option soon. Pricing a little steep, but a nice change from a typical hotel/motel. Also have hot tub for guest use.

Room Tip: Rose Room has its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weaverville
5.3 mi away
Indian Creek Lodge
Indian Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Douglas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Old Lewiston Inn
The Old Lewiston Inn
#2 of 3 in Lewiston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
14.1 mi away
Strawhouse Resorts & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
49er Gold Country Inn
49er Gold Country Inn
#4 of 5 in Weaverville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Whitmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitmore Inn

Property: The Whitmore Inn
Address: 761 Main Street, PO Box 1730, Weaverville, CA 96093
Region: United States > California > Weaverville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Weaverville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the unique quality of our Victorian home in the heart of the historic district of Weaverville, CA. The gateway to the Trinity Alps Wilderness and the Trinity River, the home of the best salmon and steelhead fishing in the West. Enjoy the cool air and mountain views while sipping coffee on our grand veranda surrounded by luxuriant gardens under a canopy of Black Locust trees. Special rates for fishermen, seniors, weekday travelers and special events. RV & Boat parking TV-DVD, WiFi, handicap-accessible room, A/C, smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whitmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing