We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find and highly recommended when traveling thru Northern California”
Review of Hi-Lo Cafe

Hi-Lo Cafe
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Weed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Description: The Hi-Lo Cafe in Weed, CA is located just about the right distance between Here and There. Whether we’re your intended destination or your favorite stop along the way to where you’re going, we’ll always make sure your meal is unforgettable and comforting. Our classic diner-style eatery has been serving up fan favorites to travelers and locals alike since 1951. For breakfast, lunch, and dinner our menu has all of the classic dishes that you know and love. Hearty omelets, fresh salads and soups, flowing coffee, smothered chicken fried steak, fresh wraps, fresh-squeezed orange juice, and locally brewed beer are just some of our popular offerings. Don’t forget to top your meal off with our famous desserts - cobblers, pies, and a fully functioning old timey soda fountain with milkshakes, sundaes, banana splits, and more. Cozy up in a booth, at the counter, or at a larger table; we’ve got seating for all tastes. We have pride in our food and pride in our town, and we invite you to fall in love with both! Our goal is to make you feel like family so you come back and visit us again and again.
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Traveling thru central part of town and asked a local for suggestions. This place was highly recommended. Kind if kitchy, but a great place. A family-run cafe and motel with lots of local history and roots. They serve the full breakfast, lunch, and dinner menu all the time which was amazing.

The portions were very generous and the service was very attentive. It didn't matter that we were in one server's station; anytime another server walked by and saw a dirty dish, it was picked up and taken away.

My companion had the taco salad which was huge; quite a nice surprise. My burger was very juicy and tasty.

Quite a great find and highly recommended if traveling thru Northern California.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, General Manager at Hi-Lo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi Ben D,

Thanks for stopping in. We appreciate your business! The Cafe was established by my grandparents over 65 years ago. We have never been called "kitchy". I need to go look that word up ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday morning traveling through. Staff were bright, cheerful and responsive. The restaurant was very clean. Lots of variety on the menu and when it quickly arrived, the large plates were overflowing for a VERY reasonable price. Our food was not only attractive but most importantly - delicious!

Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, General Manager at Hi-Lo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Great to hear Ellen R! Sunday's are one of our busiest days. I am so glad to hear everything was wonderful and delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Had the meat loaf, wasn't that great, my wife had the ground sirloin it was a very small portion. The waitress charged us the wrong price for both meals, she took back the bill and brought it back it was still wrong. Probably go back but this visit wasn't that great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, General Manager at Hi-Lo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Yikes Mike C!! Sorry to hear about your experience. We usually get great reviews on our meat loaf and portion sizes. Please come back and give us another chance. When did you visit? Date and time would be helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

For once I had I really nice hamburger with out having such a large plateful of food that I had to leave hallf of it. The service was fast and the atmosphere convivial. I can certainly recommend it.

Thank fritzmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, General Manager at Hi-Lo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hi fritzmobile,

Great to hear your burger was really nice. Thanks for coming in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Great little place right on the main drag. The waitress Bonnie was wonderful. Food was great. Looking forward to stopping by again!

Thank darleneensor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G, General Manager at Hi-Lo Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hi darleneensor,

Bonnie is one of our stars. I will let her know your comments. Thanks for the visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hi-Lo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing