We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of STK - CLOSED

STK
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: West Hollywood
Cross street: Waring between Santa Monica and Melrose
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The service and ambiance were really good. The fresh baked bread and olive oil/chive to go with it was out of this world. I had the tenderloin which was cooked just the way I asked for it. Overall it was good food and worth trying.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Togrp, Guest Relations Manager at STK, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to post this. Your compliments are shared with our staff and we collectively look forward to your return!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Went to STK on a Thursday night.

Greeted by the Host staff was very pleasant, which was a surprise. Not necessarily for STK but in recent dining experiences on holidays you would normally get grunted at with plenty of attitude. Not here. Well done you are already in the top 10%.

Waiter was extremely helpful with suggestions & recommendations.

Food was well priced for the quality, tasty and timely.

Overall STK has a pleasant hip atmosphere wit great food and service.

I will be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMDO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Last night was our first visit to STK but definitely not our last. Our server, David was phenomenal! We had questions about wine and he not only gave us his suggestions but brought over the manager to assist us in our choice. Not only was the wine delicious but so was the food. We started off with the Rice Crispy Shrimp which had awesome presentation. For our main course we both had filet's with the Chimmichurri & peppercorn sauces. David recommended adding truffle butter to the Mac n cheese which was an excellent addition. After our dinner another manager stopped by to check on us and to suggest the donuts for dessert! Even though we we happily stuffed we decided to give them a try...they are a MUST!! Overall we could not have asked for more attentive and professional service. The management and staff did a superb job of making sure we had everything we needed! If you're in LA and looking for a great steakhouse with a cool, modern vibe this is definitely the place to go!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mshaw200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Togrp, Guest Relations Manager at STK, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback and will pass along the kind words to the staff that made your experience a successful one. We are eager to see you again soon too!

Warm Regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“birthday dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

it was nice, we made a reservation and when we arrived they told us it would be a few minutes, but it was longer and we saw a couple come in after us and they were seat. so we went back and ask the hostess and she seated us, I guess they forgot us. My steak was ok, I liked the corn pudding. Not overly excited.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rubbery steaks, unpleasant and overpriced ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Ate here with 4 colleagues on a Thursday evening - restaurant had maybe 5 tables occupied. Now we understand why. Pushy waiter trying to up sell us constantly and relentlessly. Pushing sides and sauces and drinks to the point where it was uncomfortable "want the seafood platter?" No. "How about truffles on your mac and cheese?" No. "Any other greens besides asparagus?" No. You get the idea. I don't mind a helpful waiter but STK is in the business of pushing you to order what you may or may not want and it's extremely annoying. We had avg Kumamoto oysters, some over dressed salads, mediocre and overpriced wine, and then the steaks. Thin and dry and rubbery - totally unpleasant and not worthy of a steak house. Avoid STK Los Angeles. It's just not a good restaurant at north of $100 a head.

Helpful?
Thank torabera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed STK also viewed

 
West Hollywood, CA
West Hollywood, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing