We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged, ripped me off £275.69”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palihouse West Hollywood
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The room was nice and all, and we liked it enough to stay two extra nights - big mistake.

Upon checking out we received our invoices and saw we had been charged at double the rate that we had on our booking confirmation (-1). The guy on the desk agreed that they had messed up but said he personally could do nothing to correct it and we would need to email their sales manager Cara Federici to sort out the refund (-2). I emailed her that day but received no reply until I chased her up again a week later (-3). She told me it had 'all been taken care of', but upon checking with my bank we had only been refunded half of what was owed (-4). Emailed Cara again asking what was going on and was told they were only refunding the first two nights as this is all we had proof for, and that the second two nights would stay at their highest rate! (-100)

Really disappointed at being scammed like this, it was not what I was expecting from a seemingly respectable establishment. So watch out!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rj_ferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your posting. We apologize for any confusion regarding your booking, and it is by no means our goal to overcharge anyone! We are fair and honest and only oblige to our policies according to the terms of each reservation.

Anytime we are asked to bend the rules, make refunds, or reduce rates regardless of reason, we always do our very best to accommodate when possible yet also ask that our policies as outlined are respected in turn.

That said, it seems there may still be an unclear understanding of what specifically occured during your stay. Would you be so kind as to call Gonzalo Quintero, our Rooms Housemaster, at 323 327 9607 so he can look into the matter for you & we can make sure this is made right for you if an additional resolve is needed?

We thank you for your response.

Warm regards,

Palihouse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Palihouse this November. It is a beautiful hotel with huge spacious rooms. The grounds of the hotel are very clean and well looked after.
The courtyard and dining area of this hotel is gorgeous especially at night. The hotel is very central to main roads, there is easy access to and from their underground parking garage.

The staff are so friendly and very helpful. Our room was cleaned every other day, the cleaning staff was great, they would provide extra items if requested no questions asked.

We really enjoyed our stay with the Palihouse and would suggest it if you are looking for somewhere to stay in West Hollywood whether it is business or leisure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Hi CLS06,

Thank you for your 5 star review of Palihouse. We are truly delighted to hear the terrific feedback on our staff and that you and your mother enjoyed your overall experience!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Palihouse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

From the moment you walk in, this place was great. We must have looked a little bewildered because what turned out to be the hotel manager greeted us and walked us to the reception desk. He was excellent throughout the stay, seemingly always available, and always had a smile on his face. The young lady who checked us in was lovely as well.

It does get a little noisy some nights but, you are in Hollywood so it was a somewhat expected. The cleanliness of the room was impeccable and the quality of the sheets were nice. Our TV did not work at first but that was quickly resolved with a phone call. We did not have dinner but the atmosphere looked inviting. Overall, it was a very nice place and we plan to come back soon. Thank you Palihouse!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Hi John,

Thank you for 5 start review of Palihouse. We are delighted to hear you had a great experience and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you again for sharing your positive experience with us!

Warm Regards,
Palihouse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

It's cute, quaint and the staff are lovely. But in my opinion this is not a hotel to stay in if you are on business.

For starters, the restaurant is closed Sunday and Monday - so no food. I am working long days, get back to the hotel and all I want is dinner and bed. They offer to go out for me but that's not the point.

There was an event one night during which the bass pumped into my bedroom - I called to complain and to their credit they turned the bass down. But they couldn't move me to a quieter room, I was given drinks vouchers and a free bottle of water by way of compensation.

There's also quite a lot of noise from the street as it's off Santa Monica Boulevard - definitely recommend ear plugs.

The Wifi is ropey. Better during the week, but at the weekend was horrendously weak.

Also, there is no business centre. Reception are more than happy to print out whatever you email to them, but that's not possible with confidential documents.

There is a bar open even when the restaurant is closed so that's something, but I won't ever stay here on business again. I'm not going to stay don't stay here, but for all it's PR, it falls well short of what I would consider a professional hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your honesty, and are pleased to hear our staff offered remedies to all your concerns whilst on premise.

We understand Palihouse might not be the right fit for travelers who are accustomed to a big box style property like Marriott or Hyatt. We pride ourselves on individuality, comfortability of our oversized suites, and personalized service.

For guests who seek out this type of experience, we deliver a product & value proposition that is always well received.

We wish you all the very best in your travels, and thank you again for your posting.

Warm regards,

Palihouse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Wonderful accommodations, clean, well maintained, attentive staff. Our stay was a true pleasure. I don't agree with some of the other reviews I have read on this property, I work in the travel industry, I travel extensively throughout the US and abroad, The staff, especially Jessica and Georgia were outstanding! This hotel is most like a residence property, the room we had was larger than my own home! Lush finishes, warm and inviting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffkurtzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear the terrific feedback on our staff and that you enjoyed your overall experience!

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future!

Finest regards,
Palihouse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The hotel is right off of Santa Monica Blvd right in between West Hollywood and Beverly Hills, so perfect Location.
Since this was originally a condo complex the rooms are very large and have kitchens. The beds are very comfortable and there is free Internet.
There are a few negatives to consider however.
The elevator often didn't work
Parking is $26
The hotel rents out its bar downstairs for huge parties (all 3 nights that we were there) so in addition to it being very noisy, guests cant even get a drink or sit in the bar. Guests seem to be sort of an afterthought. They put earplugs in your room along with a preprinted card apologizing in advance for the noise!
There is no pool or a gym, not a deal breaker but it would have been nice.

I would probably stay elsewhere next time because for the money we paid, I expected a more full service hotel.

If you are just looking for a large room and you don't care about anything else then you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get one farthest away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience, and feedback.

We agree our location in West Hollywood is ideal, centrally located yet situated on a private residential side street. It offers guests privacy yet with the ability to walk to local shops, restaurants, and sites - thank you for complimenting this aspect of your stay.

We are delighted you feel the suites are large, and the beds are comfortable. It is our goal to ensure our product exceeds expectation, and we are also pleased you noticed our efforts.

We are sorry to hear you felt your room was noisy, and because of it the value of the rate was minimized. Part of the allure of Palihouse is not only the location, size or décor - but also the ambiance and vibe created by our culture. While we understand this value might not be important to everyone, our priority is fully committed to providing a restful, and peaceful nights sleep for every guest.

We do not have record of a noise complaint during your stay. We encourage all guests to advise the front desk immediately of any concern so it can be remedied at that time, and do whatever needed to ensure you enjoy your time with us.

We hope to have another opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincere regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Expensive for the services.

I went with my family for a week the last month and I reserved 4 rooms, one of the rooms had to be cancelled for major reasons and we sent the evidence of this and they never replied .
On my arrival they pretended that they didn´t know anything about the cancellation and we show the evidence again, they said that they would take care of it, but they didn´t do anything and charge the room anyway and It was an elevated charge.

This place dosen´t have house keeping every day and dosen´t respect the conditions, no parking for guest and if you have a car you need to pay separetely and there was no concierge at all, the have one pricipal entrance and always its chaotic for the events in which you are not welcome. Anyway, I don´t recomend this place.

Room Tip: You can check a rooms in a diferents hotels. I don´t recomend this. Always is better any corner a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gems20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your posting. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We strive for the utmost in customer care at all times, so we are dissapointed to hear we may have fallen short.

We are always open minded to feedback that helps us grow, so we appreciate your remarks about parking and check in. We will make sure to address them with our team going forward.

We checked our records, and show your cancellation was within the penalty period. We also show our Rooms Housemaster contacted you multiple times with an explanation of the policy, a sincere apology for the situation, and an re-booking incentive to return on another trip, with complimentary upgrade and value added amenities. We understand you declined the offer.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again, and hold to the commitment we previously given. To confirm a stay or discuss your concerns further, please feel free to call our Rooms Housemaster, Gonzalo Quintero, at anytime via the hotel front desk: 323 327 9607.

We wish you all the very best in your travels.

Warm regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,739 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,098 reviews
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,062 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,038 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihouse West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse West Hollywood

Address: 8465 Holloway Dr, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £192 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palihouse West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palihouse West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palihouse Holloway West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing