We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor 2 star with good design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“poor 2 star with good design”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

when this hotel was owned by Viceroy it was chic and perfect, the new owners made changes that are horrible, room design is great however that was due to Viceroy. Little things changed in order for cost cuttings i presume, the chic pens in the rooms have been replaced by cheap plastic pens, bathrooms have no longer robes and the stag of towels have been reduced to just two, glassware in the rooms have reduced, the new bathroom soaps have been replaced by some cheap new brand, service is horrible from front office to restaurant; Breakfast takes forever and when it arrives it is the wrong order. The only consistency on the hotel is the valet & housekeeping; those guys are great, quick and friendly. when you enter the elevator (after waiting forever) you get accompanied by the kitchen staff that have trays with food (they share the same elevator as guests)

I booked a package online via Expedia (I always do); it included items that were A; never delivered and B; the response from the hotel was that Expedia did not tell them about the package so they would not be able to help me, EVEN when I showed the confirmation

I am not sure what happened, however it is a shame that such a lovely amazing little gem in West Hollywood became a cost cutting Inn like all others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euro7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    500
    157
    66
    49
See reviews for
307
530
126
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

stayed at this hotel for 5 days and loved the location, breakfast was beautiful in the nice restaurant that they have, i love the boutique setting of the venue, very stylish. Its nice and quiet, very clean, cleaners do a great job, and the bed was heavenly put me to sleep when ever layed down on it. The staff at this venue would have to be the nicest and most helpful we have had for a long time. We thought in Bali people try and try to make you happy , but these guys and girls were very very very good. My wife and i recommend this Boutique hotel to anybody. Give it a go!!! yes there are the big hotels but this seemed more personal and servicwas brilliant. Love The Chamberlain......

Room Tip: There all good , you sleep in them and do tours all day, rooms are great. Bed is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandRemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The effort that this hotel put into trying to charge us extra money was absolutely incredible! We booked this hotel through a reputable third party travel site. We pre-paid for everything, including parking, taxes and fees. We had receipts and vouchers to show that we had paid and what was covered. At check-out, they attempted to charge us for the whole stay. We showed them the receipt. Then they took off everything but parking. We again showed them the receipt, which clearly included parking. Several weeks later, after we thought the issue had been resolved, they charged our credit card for the full price of our 3 night stay. It took multiple phone calls over several days and disputing the charges with our credit card company for them to remove the charges. Then, a full THREE MONTHS later, they charged our credit card approximately $75. When my husband called, they claimed this was for taxes and fees, which weren't paid through our third party travel site. We, fortunately, still had a copy of the receipt which clearly stated that taxes and fees were indeed included. However, it still took several phone calls and our threatening to again dispute the charges with the credit card company for them to remove the charges. I WOULD ABSOLUTELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. At this point, we feel we would be well within reason to send them a bill for all the hours we spent trying to get their many bogus charges removed from our credit card. And who knows, it would not surprise me at all if there were more charges several months down the road. These guys are relentless!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LKFlaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Really liked The Chamberlain, especially their pool. Loved the decor, quiet street. Location is terrific: walk to Santa Monica Boulevard, Sunset Boulevard, lots of shopping and dining options. Ate breakfast and dinner in restaurant as well: two terrific meals.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriCoastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I had to call for a room service menu, I had to call for a coffeemaker, I had to call to figure out how the fireplace worked. My key didn't work the FIRST time I tried it so had to be replaced. The air conditioner was nearly useless. There were two steps down to the beds from the landing that led to the bathroom. Basically just a trip and fall waiting to happen since they are not demarcated in any way. Balcony with no view but at least helped the airflow. A couple of chairs out there would have been nice! Staff was great, except that one that took our request for a wake-up call and then ate the note apparently. Location seemed good altho if you're taking a cab/car everywhere I don't think that makes much difference. I did like the neighborhood feel and the nearby Trader Joe's was handy. Wouldn't stay there again when so many other/better options are available.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sausalito2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Because this is a older, converted apartment building, the rooms are quite large. That's great if you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room, and especially great if you are using your room as a gathering place for friends and familyl. My room even had a working fireplace and a small balcony (no view). However, the room had a musty, "I"m really old" smell- not awful, but if you typically stay in newer hotels, this could be a deal-killer. The a/c was provided by a small, poorly located and barely functioning window unit. Most of the year in L.A., this is not an issue, but if you're visiting during the summer months, consider it. I thought the room was uncomfortably warm during the day, even with the a/c unit blasting.
The beds had very nice linens; the mattress wasn't great.
The rooftop pool is truly a gem and I received excellent service there. The bar and restaurant: were nothing exceptional but the service was very good.
There were errors in the bill when I checked out, and the morning wakeup call never came.
The neighborhood has a residential feel, but you are close to lots of activity. Big plus: there is a Trader Joe's a half a block away!
For me, this was a 2 star hotel, because of the smell, a/c, mattress, and lack of a wake-up call for the $$. But I could see this place being 5 stars for someone staying for a week or more, taking full advantage of the large room, interested in spending a lot of time in the immediate area, and visiting the rooftop pool every day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAOPAOFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauting
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Room with its Black-White decor felt A Little outdated, but perhaps it is just me, Not keeping up with current Fashion Tips.

Otter than that, very good Place if you like the Area. I went for a jog across Beverly Hills right from the Hotel, if you like Things like that, the Hotel is really well situated. If you take a hoponhopoff Tour anyway, you probably don't Need to Invest in the Hotel Location itself.

Pricing is on the high end but still ok given the Service (really nice People at the Counter) the rooms, the decor and the Location.

Definite recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrickaufreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,901 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
979 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,006 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain West Hollywood

Property: Chamberlain West Hollywood
Address: 1000 Westmount Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly located on a residential, tree-lined street in West Hollywood amid the exciting Sunset Strip and the bustling Santa Monica Boulevard, our eclectic West Hollywood boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of glamour, comfort and impeccable service. The dramatic style, unique ambiance and convenient location of our West Hollywood accommodations make it an ideal choice for a relaxing extended visit or a short LA getaway for both business and leisure travelers. Step into the glamorous 80s with our avant-garde decor complete with intricate brass detailing, cool hues with rich gold and chocolate accents and a chic retro feel. The Chamberlain West Hollywood boutique hotel features 114 spacious suites, an exclusive chic Bistro, in suite dining plus a stunning rooftop setting with 360-degree panoramic views of the Hollywood hills and elegant spaces for intimate events, private dinners or corporate meetings. Roof top pool offers private cabanas, dining and bar service. Our full service hotel also offers a complimentary 24 hour state of the art fitness center and a 24 hour business center with both MAC and PC's. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chamberlain West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Chamberlain Hotel West Hollywood
West Hollywood Chamberlain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing