We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun spot! Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun spot! Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night using hotel tonight. Terrific experience checking in, the girl at the desk noted that we used hotel tonight and made sure it was a good experience using the app. Terrific checks and balances on some B2B interaction.

Stayed here to enjoy this side of the strip. Sushi, Classic Hollywood bars, and great stand up. Terrific location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    230
    130
    102
    110
See reviews for
34
196
88
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I happened upon this hotel heading towards Chateau Marmont but not wanting to spend too much. What a great find.
The staff were incredible and the reception had a great and relaxing vibe.
The food was wonderful and there was a friendly buzz between the staff and guests.
The rooms were minimal and large.
Would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonC141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I feel quite at home here. It's not the place it used to be, but I still meet up with friends once in a while, at the Standard. It is definitely more peaceful inside than it is outside during clubbing hours. Parking is easy, it's easy to get to, the sign is noticeable from the street, and best of all, I love dressing up and sitting out back at midnight, having intense conversations with long lost friends....or new ones....I feel the hotel's modern style brings out a sense of creativity that can break up a dull week.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
211 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This a fun hotel to stay at all the time. But especially fun on the weekends. The bar/restaurant down stair is a pretty happening spot. So if you are stay here you are already in the action. Food was very good for all the meals we had there. The drinks were good too! Staff is very polite & friendly. The rooms are nice & spacious!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our first time staying at the Hollywood Standard. We thought we'd try it after having stayed at their Downtown location a couple of time and really liking it. We stayed in room 360 from the 21st till the 26th of November. The staff at check in were very friendly and efficient.
We booked an XL Room. The room was a really decent size with a cool bathroom and a rainfall shower. We were lucky enough to have a couch in our room too which was handy. I don't think they have them in every room.
Our stay was really relaxed. I like the blue theme throughout the building and hallways.
The location is perfect. Pretty much in the middle of everything in terms of shopping and bars etc.
Melrose/Fairfax is about an $8 cab ride or 15-20 minute walk.
We ate at the 24 hour diner twice and really liked it. Once for dinner and once for late night snacks and beers. The Mac n' Cheese was ridiculously good. Cool lay out and booths and un-pushy, helpful staff.
My only complaint with our stay is that the description of the room when we booked said that the room would have "City Views" when our view from our balcony was in fact a view for trees, a dog park and a partial view of the Sunset Strip.
That was really minor though and we actually ended up enjoying the privacy and quiet of that side of the building by the end of our stay.
Will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great location, helpful and friendly staff, terrible rooms.

The rooms have very minimal furniture, it reminded me of when I moved in to my first apartment and all I had was a bed and a TV..

I suppose staying in this part of town you don't expect to spend any time in your room and that's just as well. I was here working and there wasn't even a desk to put my laptop on.. At least a seat would have been nice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Hollywood hotels

Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I can't say enough about the wonderful accomodations and the pristine service that I received while visting the west Hollywood location. Right in the middle of the action and the views from my balcony were simply breathtaking. Anytime I head to the LA area I have a new home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#10 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#9 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Property: The Standard, Hollywood
Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing