We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Name says it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Reviewed 14 March 2014

It is very very standard. Hip, cool and chic, but this place is a little on the 'old' side. It was once a old peoples home, and the smell still remains. The rooms are big and clean, but just not at all luxurious.

It's in a great location if you want to be right in West Hollywood..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Betul O
True, this building was a convalescent home at one point in its colorful history, but was originally built as a hotel back in the 1960’s. Hence its architectural design which has become an icon part of Sunset Strip. We work very hard at maintaining our guest rooms and public area keep it looking fresh and clean for our guests. We appreciate your candid feedback and will continue to find ways to improve on things our guests find important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The heater has no temperature control so it's cold in the room. the bass beat in the club is so strong the ear plugs are not enough and the room moves. the kids who work here think they are hot and show attitude. there's no shower curtain or place to put soap. The rooms are old 70s with failed attempts at cool. Only good for party weekends and drug users

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Pooleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Public Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Pooleh,
Sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Our heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system is regulated with respect to temperature and humidity, using fresh air from outdoors. The system seeks to keep our rooms at a comfortable temperature. Our building engineers have checked to make sure it is functioning properly. Our shower stalls are equipped with a glass panel to prevent against water splashes and the floor is leveled in a way that ensures proper drainage into the drain strip on the floor. Lastly, our design aesthetic traverses 3 design decades to evoke a since of familiarity yet modern and fresh. We appreciate your candid feedback because it is an important component as we continue to grow our brand and improve our product and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I suppose the fault is my own for not realizing the calendar had turned and left the Standard behind. We decided to stay here b/c the rates were compelling, especially in relative terms, and I remembered the Standard being a great hotel in a great location. I was wrong on both counts.

The location is no longer great if it ever was. The hotel is dated, smells bad, and the service leaves much to be desired.

I appreciate the casual vibe of the place and the staff, i can do without formality, but the level of service is not casual, but asleep at the wheel. Over a 3-4 night stay that included my birthday, the front desk staff dropped up multiple requests, including instructions from the Misses pertaining to a gift.

The day we checked out, they forgot our wake up call. When we notified the front desk staff, they rolled their eyes and indicated that we were not the only people they heard that from.

Time to put an emphasis on training, motivation and retention.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsM_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

MrandMrsM_M

We are so bummed to hear that your experience with us was not what you’d expected. We aim to provide our guests with service that is casual and personal. We have ongoing program for all our front line staff regarding service and ownership of guest requests. Thank you for letting us know of your disappointments from your last stay with us. We have revisited our guest requests procedures to ensure these things do not happen again and all requests are handled and fulfilled on a timely manner. Please feel free to reach out to me personally at Hollywood@standardhotel.com on your next visit. I will ensure you both have a great stay. We really hope to see you back with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

As its brother the standard downtown, this standard hotel is made out of simple things as it used to be a simple hotel on west sunset boulevard and they kept more then enough from those times. The rooms are spacious and some have great view since the hotel is on a higher location, others face the boulevard, a bit noisy but somehow interesting to watch the crazy cars passing by all night. The lobby and pool area are a place where you meet locals that want to see and be seen, often with partys. So if you look for a calm place, call them and ask for a room before booking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Maxis78
Really appreciated your insight on our hotel! We are located on Sunset Strip so it is always interesting to see what unfold each night on the boulevard. That being said, we have a strict no party policy in our rooms and do not tolerate noise disturbance to our hotels guests, Guest Relation Agents respond quickly to any and all noise complaint. Please feel free to contact us directly and we would be happy to place you in a room that best fits your needs. Come back and visit us soon, after all summer is right around the corner and the weather in LA is only getting warmer. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lots of fun to stay here and a great location. Restaurant downstairs has limited but high-quality menu. Nice outside pool area for drinks and conversation. And check out the "performance art" behind the reception desk.


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks Michael R!
Come back and see us again soon ! FYI, we just launched our new cocktail program which is fantactic - made with hand crafted liquor & fresh ingredients. Summer is practically here so come enjoy food and drinks on our pool deck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great location. Great staff. Great surroundings. Great atmosphere. Simply a wonderful and very cool hotel! I can warmly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to add a little glamour to the Hollywood experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the pool area if you have sleeping problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Anders F,
Thanks for your review and we’d love to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I'm a big fan of the Standard hotels -- I've stayed in most of the properties. This is one of the least-frills. It's a converted older hotel with lots of creative design touches, some of them successful (great pool, cute cafe) some of them less so (the silver beanbag chair -- ick).

It could use a bit of an update -- it's starting to feel a bit like A Place That Was Pretty Cool 11 Years Ago.

Perfect place to have poolside drinks. The restaurant is good and room service is surprisingly tasty. Crowd can get a little iffy -- expect lots of tacky club-types and twentysomethings throwing Red Bull and vodka parties in the room down the hall. They're not anything you can't avoid.

The bottom line: it's central to everything and has a lot of character. It's got its quirks, but there's nothing average about it, at least. It's a fun place to stay if the Best Western next door would bore you or have too many families.

Go have a cocktail at the pool and enjoy one of the best sunset views in LA. Just don't touch the beanbag chair.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_Sleeper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Frequent_Sleeper2014 - thank you for visiting The Standard, Hollywood. So happy to hear that you’re a fan of our Brand ! Our location in West Hollywood is the original and the concept of this location is to provide a cool and fun environment while being affordable. The crowd we get here is very diverse but generally they are really fun people. We encourage everyone to enjoy themselves but we do not tolerate rowdy behavior – our Guest Relations Agents are always around and respond to that type of situations quickly. BTW, we want to assure you that our our Housekeeping Department cleans our bean bag chairs in each room thoroughly after every departure! Again, we really appreciate your recent visit and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
413 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,720 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,983 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 W Sunset Blvd, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £162 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing