We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Reviewed 11 May 2014

my partner and i booked the standard hotel after a fortnights road trip in ca. being in our 40s maybe the elder of guest didnt maybe fit in to their normal clientel. reception staff friendly. room spotless, maybe a bit modern for my liking, we started our trip at the best western sunset blvd... more my scene i think. no problems with noise, or maybe we drank to much vodka on an evening to hear. pool area spotless, staff very attentive when ordering drinks ect. would book again if we were 20years younger. but i think if returning the other would be more suited to us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

enncle4gotmepassword
So glad you decided to give us a try and thanks for your feedback. Believe it or not, we have a very diverse clientele from all age group ranging for 20’s to 80’s. The common threat between our guests is that they are sophisticated travelers seeking a fun, inviting and unique experience whilst traveling. Very pleased to hear that our service staff left such good impression on your visit. We are really hoping to see you again on your future visit to West Hollywood. Please feel free to reach out to us and we will be sure to find a great room for you.
Until then, Cheers !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Noisy. Underfurnished. Slow service. Don't.
I knew I was in trouble when I saw that the hotel supplies all guest with ear plugs on your bedside table. That kind of said - "It will be noisy, so deal with it." This is a hotel mainly aimed at media industry types, here to be busy and connected in Hollywood. Staff are friendly, especially at reception, and everything happened smoothly on check in. No complaints so far. The retro decor and loud bar build the 'hip Hollywood' atmosphere. But this is not a comfortable or a well-equipped place to stay. The rooms are so under-furnished there is no where to put your clothes. There is only hanging space for perhaps 4 items. And nowhere to lay your case either. My large double room had just one desk chair and a bean bag for sitting. Inadequate and uncomfortable. Noise travels through inter-connecting doors and the walls. I could hear telephone conversations from neighbouring rooms. Room cleaning was poor. My bin only emptied every other day. The internet, even when you pay $14.95 to upgrade to a 'faster' speed, is painfully lethargic. The bar by the pool is fine, but the menu (the same one throughout the hotel) is strangely limited. Though there is always the burger. Breakfast, in a cool 'diner' restaurant is stylish but oh so slooow. How long does it take to get some cereal to the table, for god's sake? Activity round the lobby suggests plans are afoot to refurbish, but it needs more than that. Unless you are happy with trendy, loud and unfurnished - look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you ignore me and stay here anyway, the city view rooms offer a less noisy option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilmTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

I’m sorry to hear your experience at The Standard, Hollywood was not what you were expecting. We do take pride in our venues for their social aspect and great programs. While our rooms are minimal, we do offer several room types with seating area and large closet. Please feel free to reach out so we can select the perfect room for your needs; we are all about recreating personalized experiences and great relationships with our guests We do thank you for taking the time to write a review, the Hotel can only improve from such critiques. If you do come back to West Hollywood, we'd love to welcome you again to show you what a great little hotel we truly are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. Amazing rates/value for the quality. Good shower. Great vibe. No gym. Walking distance to a bunch of Sunset Strip hotspots. Hotel diner/restaurant has good food and is open 24 hours per day.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks! Glad you had a great stay, please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've been at the hotel for 8 nights! If you choose this hotel you have to be aware that it is not like a regualr hotel. The athmosphere is great and very young-ish whic includes very relaxed people (at the reception and the valet parking as well, not very much friendly though).
I've gotten a room with pool view, very nice. The rooms are sort of 80's glamour style and I liked them. the coomon area as well, same style.
If you get a pool view room bear in mind that they have music by the pool till midnight, which you can hear clearly in your room.
The pool is great and so are the people enjoying it.

I confirm that there is a bad smell in the corridors and in some rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Standard, Hollywood. Our Design Team along with our Culture Team work really hard at creating aesthetic and feel that are true to our culture while respecting the locale of this building. So glad you had a good experience with us. We do hope you’ll join us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Having visited The Standard in New York we felt comfortable booking in LA expecting great quality. DO NOT be fooled! This is a very average hotel. Firstly, it looks like they bought a cheap motel and converted it. Secondly, there appears to be no insulation throughout the building so you can here guests around you constantly. We are a young couple from London out most nights, not an elderly couple so we generally don't get bothered by noise.

There are many other flaws - it is expensive for what you get (big empty room). There is no gym, you have to go up the road and pay. You can't get served breakfast until 9.30am by the pool or anywhere outside. The list goes on.

A tip for the Standard - stop wasting money paying that girl to sit in a glass box trying to look cool and start investing in more important things. This hotel is ruining your brand.

After 2 night we actually moved to The Andaz just across the road. Significantly better in all respects and would highly recommend for the same price. Do yourselves a favour - if you want to stay on Sunset Blvd try The Andaz.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DuncanAlistair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Alistair,
I appreciate you sharing your thoughts and glad to hear that you like our younger sister hotel on NYC. The Standard, High Line is truly an amazing to hotel to stay in New York; a destination by itself. I am sorry you did not enjoy our location as much, but I wanted to share a little bit of the thought behind the concept of this location. The West Hollywood location was the original and seeks to offer a fun and cool environment while keeping our rates affordable to our guests. Therefore some of the amenities offered at our larger and newer locations are not available at this location e.g. on-site gym. However, we have an affiliation with a local gymnasium, at a nominal rate our guests have full access to their facilities and great classes. Our Restaurant and room service is at your service 24/7, but pool side dining starts at little later this is due to flow of business; outdoor demands simply starts later in the morning. Please feel free to reach out if I can help with anything else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for our 7th year anniversary. This hotel is perfect in the West Hollywood area friendly employees our room was beautiful and clean comfortable bed the restroom was nice love the shower the pool was nice. Delicious food in the restaurant definitely My husband and I we will staying again in this amazing hotel the staff are well trained with customer service skills they made us feel amazing love everything. thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Jose,
Thanks for your reviews. Lovely to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us and we thank you for letting us be a part of your special day. I will be sure to share your compliments with our staff. This is the reason why we do what we do on a daily basis. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel seems to defy a consensus with ratings split equally between excellent and terrible.
It's basically a motel style property with a little designer frou frou sprinkled on top. Personally, when I'm on business I find the big chains are just fine, I'm not looking for anything boutique or designer so I didn't rate this more than average. However this is pitched at a different demographic and the hip young gunslingers gathered poolside seem to really go for this place.
Getting down to brass tacks: pool facing rooms are preferential to road facing if you are a light sleeper - the hotel seems to acknowledge this by thoughtfully providing ear-plugs. Sound proofing is not good and you will hear every step and creak of the bedsprings from the room above. The rooms are a decent size and were well serviced, decor minimal but pleasant. Front desk were friendly and helpful. Parking is valet only and comes in at $34 per night.
One very minor design touch I did like - the plexiglass shower screen had a small hole allowing the user to engage the flow without being dowsed in cold water.
Usefully for night owls the diner-style cafe operates round the clock.
Overall; not cheap, but this isn't Pig's Knuckle, Arkansas.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crouchender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

I appreciate you sharing your thoughts and understand your view. We are housed in a building built in 1960’s which became one of the iconic buildings on The Strip. With that comes challenges such as floor board you mentioned. We are constantly looking into ways to remedy these challenges while retaining as much of the original structure as possible.
I am glad you like our bathroom and the glass shower stall. It is the small, thoughtful touches such as these that make our minimal design aesthetics work. Our Diner serves up good, simple food 24/7, hence the name. The locals just love our diner and its ever evolving menu and cocktail program. Lastly and mostly importantly, I am very happy to hear that you find our staff helpful and friendly. After all, service is our primary product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
460 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,133 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#7 of 19 in West Hollywood
161 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,752 reviews
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Address: 8300 W Sunset Blvd, at Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £172 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing