We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy & convenient getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Standard, Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Standard, Hollywood
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy & convenient getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Standard is my go-to spot in NYC, and on a recent trip to LA, I decided to check out this location. The hotel had a cool vibe and nice, spacious rooms with very comfy beds. The front desk concierge was extremely helpful and gave an excellent dinner recommendation nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Maggie M,
Thanks for your recent stay with us at The Hollywood Location. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and was looked after well by our team. We can’t wait to see you again in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    230
    130
    102
    110
See reviews for
34
196
88
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I travel 2 weeks out of the month and have made this particular standard my home away from home. The staff are amazing, friendly, and sincere. I really can't say enough about it. I can wait for my next stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Paul O.
Thanks for the shout out! We love having you here as well. Come on back soon! Your Standard family awaits. Until then... take good care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Now I was aware when booking that this was a trendy hotel and a bit of a scene so that's not my issue. My issue is unapproachable staff who seem to think that they're not working in the tourist industry. I felt so uncomfortable I didn't even want to ask for directions or advice (thank goodness for google). It is also not a cheap hotel so I was pretty appalled that our bed linen was stained, both the blanket and the sheets. The other thing that I can't believe they haven't fixed given to enormity of complaints about it is the AC!! What AC?? Instead a climate control system that only does too warm. The human body does not sleep well when it's too hot. They really need to sort this out, it's California for goodness sake, do they even need heaters here? Location is good so if you can find somewhere else to stay nearby you'd be fine. Give the standard a miss though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank flicky_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I was distraught when I heard of your experience during your stay with us. Please accept my deepest apologies and rest assured that I will be addressing these points with the utmost seriousness and concern.

As the original hotel of the brand, we are proud to be able to consider ourselves as setting the bar for service standards. It is regretful that you were a victim of a rare lapse in those standards. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I can assure you that service of this standard is not the norm and that your next visit with us will be perfect
Please contact me personally for your future reservation and let me know if there is anything further I can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Hollywood hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a great stay at The Standard. Our room was funky and the shower was amazing with double shower heads. The bed was super comfortable and the balcony was large with a beautiful view. We'll definitely be back for our next special occasion.

Room Tip: It was a special occasion for us and they gave us a free upgrade for a suite. It helped that it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Julie,
Thank you for your recent visit with us. We are glad you chose us and can’t wait to have you back with us again soon. P.s. glad you enjoy the suite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you are looking for a fun place with nice staff and just a super cool venue thats super quirky - the Standard is your place !!!!

We had the best server named Tom, who looked after us every day - but everyone else was super nice too

Rooms were great, simple but nice and the beds were to die for

Menu's are awesome and room service fee was cheap

The only bad thing i can say is the fact you can hear people walking on the upper levels, so choose a top floor room if you can

Will be going back for sure

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room as its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffybunnyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi fluffybunnyMelbourne
Thank you for your wonderful review! It sounds like you truly had “The Standard Experience”. I am excited to share your compliment regarding our staff and service with everyone, especially Tom. Our culinary team just launched our summer menu in The Restaurant, Pool Deck and Room Service. These menu items are really perfect for the warm summer months; can’t wait for you to try these new items + our new cocktail program with lot of new hand crafted cocktails will keep everyone refreshed in style. We can’t wait to see you again. Until then…revel in life ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here mid week. The room was nice and the bed was comfy. The staff were super, ESP Tatiana at the front desk. Everyone was super helpful. There were no noise issues or major problems. The location is good. Two small issues: one was that there was no room service one morning for a few hours. The other was that the vents are automatically giving hot air if the outside temp falls below 72 and you cannot change that. We ate at the restaurant where the food was delicious. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool area may have noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Family_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear NJ_Family_Team,
Thank you for your recent visit at The Standard, Hollywood. I can’t wait to share your compliment regarding our service and our food, with everyone especially Tatiana. We are so fortunate to have such a great team of dedicated individuals who take so much pride in making our sure guests feel at home. I would love the opportunity to speak to you personally about the concern outline in your review about our Room Service and can be reached at hollywood@standardhotel.com. We can’t wait to have the NJ_Family_Team back, please reach out to us once you have your future trip planned. We will make sure your next stay is a perfect one. Until then remember, to travel is to live.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
185 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

For some The Standard is “young and vibrant”, for others it’s “hip and cool” all depending your perspective… go there if like to party and need a central place in LA.

My own experience was excellent and fun, I stayed there for a week and had no big issues to complain about.

It is also a nice place to just hang.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richards_remarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StandardManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Standard, Hollywood, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Richard,
We can’t thank you enough for sharing your thoughts of our hotel. Happy to know that your experience was “excellent and fun”. You are the perfect fit for your brand and we would love to have you back with us again soon. Until then, live….vibrantly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#10 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#9 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, Hollywood

Property: The Standard, Hollywood
Address: 8300 Sunset Boulevard, At Sweetzer, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Standard, Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Standard, located in the heart of the Sunset Strip, is a true original catering to a young-spirited clientele who appreciate the hotel's "timeless modern" design and offbeat sensibility. The hotel features a floor to ceiling shag carpeted lobby lounge, a live DJ at the front desk, an outdoor pool with a sundeck covered in cobalt blue Astroturf, an ongoing exhibition devoted to fine art video, and live performance art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Standard, Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Standard Hotel Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing