We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alta Cienega Motel
Nearby Hotels
Chamberlain West Hollywood(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$323
US$220
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Le Montrose Suite Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$361
US$250
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Parc Suite Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Andaz West Hollywood(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$589
US$543
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palihouse West Hollywood(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grafton on Sunset(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Petit Ermitage(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$376
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunset Marquis(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$446
US$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
8
9
21
15
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
9
21
15
27
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I came into Lax from Manchester UK and took the bus to West Hollywood . Met a charming and beautiful guy who got on , the blackest skin I have ever seen We walked along Santa Monica Blvd, and he pointed out the Motel, He carried on home to North La Cienega. I have stayed at many motels in USA and the room was what I would expect for the price. I intended to stay a couple of nights and rent a car. I stayed two weeks and used the buses to travel all over Los Angeles County. Yes, the Police arrive, the Rent Boys work, you can get hot take out meals from the market, liquor stores handy, TV Air, Heat , My finances have improved so I now fly First, but I will still be staying at La Cienega on my next trip to California.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anthony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The folks that leave horrible reviews arent incorrect but they are snobs. The hotel is humble and is in the traditional 'classic motel' motif with an almost wild-west second level catwalk facing the southern sun. I had to purchase a space heater from CVS to keep myself warm on these cold autumn nights and the towels are cheap and scratchy but its inexpensive, clean, quiet and centrally located. I've been here for almost ten days and there are rarely more than two cars in the lot making the place feel very private. Its been a sanctuary for me to write a book without distraction and to meet with clients. Maria the cleaning lady is a sweet-heart. I tipped her $20 on Thanksgiving and she's treated me like gold for a week, nurturing me like my mom. Yes, there's an occasional siren or tranny sighting but hey, its like spotting a rare animal on safari. If you can get over the fact that the style is 'home depot' and there are no fancy shampoo samples you'll enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Second Level, North Side gets lots of light and is far enough from the main street as to keep most noise at a distance.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

It was fantastic! If I was a person that didn't have any sort of interest in Jim Morrison or the Doors, this place probably wouldn't be first on my list...or on my list at all, but since I am...
I Stayed there with my boyfriend for 3 nights and paid $267.00... a little more than we had expected, but I didn't even care...I had a grand time! I liked being able to watch the street below from the window of room 32, and for some reason this room was strangely comfortable! It's kind of small but was clean! The staff was really nice too! The cleaning lady would always say "Hello" every time and seemed extremely genuine. I also never felt unsafe at any point. The bathroom wasn't bad either, I liked the shower too, it was kind of dark with no light inside of it but I liked how it felt like a hole in the wall. The writing all over the walls was quite enjoyable too. Never ran out of stuff to read! After waking up, I was always able to find something new that I hadn't read before. Take a sharpie or other media and add your own contribution! I did! Overall, great expirience! hope to stay there again someday!

Room Tip: If your a Jim Morrison/ Doors fan, stay in Room 32!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The police came as soon as we got there because of gun fire and possible drugs in the room next to ours. On the other side of us was transgender call girls doing their jobs with the men. When my brother-in-law came to pick us up there was a giant cricket in the bed. and burn marks in a non smoking room , a gas heater which had to be lit and a nassty bath room. It will never be forgoten

Room Tip: very gross and don't
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ilizlovespongebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed there for 6 nights and i must say i expected something really worse. The room was not so bad, no bed bugs tho as other reviews say. Bed was small but quite comfortable, the room was cleaned every day. It is not a 5 star hotel but if you dont want to pay a fortune for hotel and rather spend money for shopping and sighseeing thats a place where you want to stay really. The location is very good santa monica blvd just 1 minute from metro which gets you everywhere. I would stay there again no problem

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
6  Thank abc025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews