We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool bohemian hotel in West Hollywood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool bohemian hotel in West Hollywood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here while visiting my daughter at a nearby college. The rooms are large and quiet, the bed was very comfortable and my room had a sitting area with a small balcony. The fabrics and furniture are very bohemian. We loved the rooftop pool area. Although we did not swim, we enjoyed lounging on the large beds and looking out over LA as it is on the roof. Dinner in the butterfly sanctuary was fantastic and brunch was delicious. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    227
    84
    42
    45
See reviews for
85
414
91
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Finishing up a roadtrip through California, we stayed at the Petit Ermitage in West Hollywood for two nights. It is an absolutely wonderful hotel, very well situated between Sunset Blvd and Santa Monica Blvd, in a nice quiet neighbourhood. On the outside, one might describe it as unassuming. However, looks are deceiving; on the inside this hotel has a tastefully styled, designed and decorated atmosphere. Especially the artwork along the hallways is impressive and shows the excellent taste of the owners.

While our car was parked by the valet, we were impeccably assisted by the valet and by the hotel desk clerk. We had booked a junior suite, and this turned out to be a very nice and pretty large room looking out over the quiet street in front of the hotel. Again, styling was very much to our tastes, and both the bedroom and bathroom were absolutely, spotlessly clean. The bed was excellent, and without even the slightest noise from either the street or from inside the hotel, we slept like a baby.

When staying at the Petit Ermitage, a special mention has to be given to the wonderful private rooftop club. It is an absolute joy to visit. My wife and I settled on the cabana with a great view of the hills, and enjoyed some perfectly made cocktails served by very professional servers, before also enjoying a perfect diner in the rooftop restaurant area. In fact, diner was so enjoyable that we had diner there for both nights we stayed. Breakfast too was excellent: great coffee and delicious fresh food.

Staying at the Petit Ermitage was an absolute joy, and my wife and I would have no hesitations in staying here again. Even in the wonderful and huge city of Los Angeles with plenty of places to stay, a hotel like the petit Ermitage is an absolute gem. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crimboween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a terrific hotel if you're looking for a boutique hotel that will give you an experience you will always remember. It is pricey, and was a splurge for me. I crossed my fingers that it would not disappoint, and it did not! The hotel is so unique. It has a totally bohemian style. It is like a Tim Burton circus. This hotel is not for you if you are uptight or very conservative in your views. It has a great, dark sense of humor. European (topless) pool, intimacy kits in the bedrooms, abstract drawings in the stairwell of mouths popping pills. It is very tastefully executed, but not for those whose idea of a perfect hotel experience is the Ritz Carleton. Absolutely DO NOT leave this hotel without having dinner in the rooftop restaurant. The atmosphere is georgeous, and the food and drink were literally the best I have ever had...anywhere. It was so unique, and perfectly prepared. The staff is so friendly and accomodating. The only disappointment for me is that photography is prohibited anywhere in the hotel....I would have loved to get pictures of all the details. Not sure if they do this because of celebs or the European pool, but they say it's because of all the antique pieces of art (yeah right). You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stef552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Phenomenal dinner options in one of the coolest rooftop lounges LA has to offer. The Tangine du Jour was incredible, as were the cocktails and ambiance for our party of four. Can't recommend a more unique date in the city!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CtheWorld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great location in Beverly Hills/West Hollywood, this hotel is a little gem!

The rooms are large and nicely decorated, and the private rooftop bar is just amazing! We had a really top notch service and I'd seriously recommend this place.

The only thing I am not happy about is the $36 overnight fee parking, which adds a lot to the room price and is a bit of a rip off. In a country where everyone drives, they should clearly state this hidden charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyp816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Petit Ermitage in September 2013 and had the most amazing time. Our suite was fabulous, the food was wonderful and the drinks and service second to none.
I think sitting with a cocktail in the rooftop pool may be one of the best memories I have - can't reccommend this highly enough, we even got engaged here making it even more special! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I recently stayed here with my sisters when they came to Los Angeles for a weekend. The staff were very friendly and we had a great time at the rooftop restaurant/pool area. What a gorgeous little space to get away for a bit. The only downside was that we had a hotel room with a king size bed and a pull out couch. The pull out couch was very uncomfortable. We made it work for the weekend, but probably wouldn't choose a room like that again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#7 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Property: Petit Ermitage
Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing