We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely never stay here again”
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will definitely never stay here again”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The location is nice given the fact that West Hollywood's hotel options aren't plenty. I stayed in their junior suite. The room itself was definitely not worth it. Small bathroom, nothing special about the room itself. It had a balcony that had a view of a wall. They advertise that they have a 24 hour salt water pool, but the pool is nothing special, fairly small, only 3 1/2 ft. The view is very nice though. Now to top off my mediocre stay, their customer service is horrid. The girls at the front desk were snobby, they weren't very helpful. You would think that when you pay a decent amount for what's supposed to be considered a nice hotel that you would get compensated with good customer service to go with it, especially since it's a boutique hotel and has a much more intimate setting. I had an issue that I addressed to management and they did absolutely nothing to help. Not once was I asked if the problem had been resolved, nor did they ever even offer to help or accommodate in any way. They really need to work on their customer service, if one is paying to stay here there is no reason to be treated as if you're not a paying customer. All in all, I will never recommend this place nor will I be back here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JacqueTS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico H, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear JacqueTS2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review on Tripadvisor. I was mortified to read your review, especially the part about the Service throughout the Hotel, as this is actually a strong focus of ours.

Nevertheless, I have taken your constructive feedback about your experience with our Service to heart and will research and address all issues you have experienced. I understand that you would not like to stay with us again, but please let us know, if you do change your mind, as we would like to be able to redeem ourselves to you.

Sincerely,

Nico H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    230
    87
    43
    47
See reviews for
87
423
93
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you are looking for a boutique hotel - than this place is for you. Very quirky, full of character and characters! We had a mind blowing weekend.

The rooftop pool area is great for evening drinks, but not really designed for swimming. More of a plunge pool. Breakfast on the terrace is not to be missed - great food and pleasant setting.

The location is great - you can get away with not having a car as there is a lot to do in the local area.

Rooms could be better - felt a bit tired.

Staff were polarising - either amazing and couldn't do more to help, or surly and frankly rude (in fairness this was one male member of staff who served breakfast).

Would I stay here again? Probably.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York city
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Nice small inn in a good locale. Lobby, hallway and rooms (mine) need renovating. Staff is friendly. Restaurant area is lovely and has decent food based on the 2 things I tried. Pool area is very prettu but overwhelmingly crowded with very few areas available in the sun, which I was craving in the winter - and the pool is tiny. It would be nice if complimentary morning tea/coffee were offered in the lobby (or rooms). I had to go up to the restaurant to get a cup of coffee and was charged over $7.00 once service and tax were added. Would I stay there again? Yes. Is it on the top of my list of LA hotels? No.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sma0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Pros:

Good location in West Hollywood
Cookies at the front desk
Toiletries smell amazing
Fireplaces in the rooms are a nice touch
Staff is very friendly and accommodating

Cons:

Rooftop pool is the size of a postage stamp and perpetually overcrowded with smokers
Literally could not find somewhere to sit in the pool area. Every single lounger was taken. Some people had put towels on the ground and were sitting on those
Upon first inspection the hotel looks pretty cool and Boho and European but after a few nights we realized it was all paint effects on the walls - very little in the way of amenities or luxury
Bathtub was uncomfortable and poorly designed. You have to sit straight up as there is a wall right behind you preventing you from leaning all the way back
Valet parking is $35 a night and there is no street parking or other alternatives that we could find

Overall we were very eager to check out. I can imagine there are people who would love this place for its eclectic style and European vibe but we booked this hotel mainly for the pool which was too crowded to use so we were very disappointed

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgelbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico H, General Manager at Petit Ermitage, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear dgelbard,

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write the above review on Trip Advisor. I very much appreciate your very constructive feedback.

I am so sorry to hear that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay at Petit Ermitage. The Hotel has been unusually busy during this month, due to the early awards season. In general we are trying not to sell out Petit Ermitage to its capacity to avoid issues such as the ones you have experienced.

Nevertheless, I would hope that you will give us another chance in the future to experience Petit Ermitage under different circumstances.

Sincerely,

Nico H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel is located in a great, quiet neighborhood. The staff members were excellent and attentive. While the hotel has a unique charm and decor, it's a bit worn. For the amount of money paid, I would expect the rooms and public space to be in better condition. It was clean though! The exercise room also needs a treadmill. Overall ok place but the price for the condition of the hotel may be a bit steep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank js836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had a lovely experience at the Petit Ermitage in West Hollywood. The hotel is boutique and clearly used to be apartment buildings. It is located on a quiet side street just outside of the bustle between Santa Monica and the Sunset Strip. A very short walk takes you to either location and Melrose Drive is only a little further. This part of LA is in 'the hills' so do note that although short, the walk up to Sunset or back from Santa Monica or Melrose involves a steep climb.

I stayed in a Jr. Suite overlooking Cynthia Dr. My room was large and well laid out with nice separation between the bed and sitting area. The bathroom was not particularly luxurious, but the wall tile was a beautiful mixture of greens and it was very clean. The bath products were lovely and as it used to be an apartment, I had a medicine cabinet behind the side mirror which allowed my to tuck away al my bits ad bobs. There were 'bohemian' touches throughout the room with hand plastered walls, hand painted doors an finishes throughout.

The bed was a perfect queen and the towels, and linens were very nice. The hallways were filled with 'actual' art and not 'hotel' art. Very worth walking around to see what is on the hallway walls.

The roof top restaurant was very nice, VERY private and the food was good, not great. I did not use the salt water pool but there were certainly people using it. The pool and rooftop deck feel much more like an adult space than a child's space.

I had room service once during my stay and it was the best I have ever had. I ordered simply. Burger, salad and fries. But my food was delivered within 15 minutes with the burger nice and hot, the salad fresh and the fries crisp instead of the sodden mess usually delivered to one's room.

Service was uniformly pleasant top to bottom.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimyagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

It's a nice little apartment style hotel in the middle of hollywood. The location is pretty good in terms of access to shopping and restaurants. The rooms are a bit old, but clean. The staff is super helpful and gave great insight to the destinations around. it's worth staying.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,645 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,664 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,819 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#7 of 19 in West Hollywood
553 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Property: Petit Ermitage
Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing