We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t book this hotel - you will regret it”
Review of Petit Ermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Ermitage
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for one night in the hotel. I was a smoker that time, but as I´m a polite person and did not to disturb anyone I smoked on the street (not in the room, not on the balcony). I thought it would be nice for the neighbours to collect the old cigarettes.
Back from our journey I saw, that my credit card was charged with additional 400$ by this hotel. I called them as I thought it has to be a mistake. But they said: We found cigarettes in a bag in the trash of your room. So you smoked in the room. I was totally surprised and explained what I did (I was also VERY surprised that they charged me a fine without notice. I tried more than one time (several calls from germany) to clarify that I did not smoke in the room or on the balcony, after few discussions they promised to transfer the 400$ back. I´m waiting until today. "Very nice". So: Don´t book this hotel, they are a) charging without notice fines, even you did nothing wrong and b) don´t pay you back, even if more than once promised.

Room Tip: Don´t book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 163Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

I've lived in LA off and on, and am here very often for business. Sadly, that means staying in a lot of hotels I wouldn't necessarily choose if I had an unlimited budget.

The Petit Ermitage was a wonderful surprise: price-wise, it's comparable to some of the other four star hotels in the area, but it has loads more charm and character. This is not another one of those vaguely Vegas-y or depressingly condominium-like place that you usually get for the price and star level. It's thoughtfully designed, with cozy lighting and eclectic and funky furniture -- even the lobby is cute and chic. It's not pretentious or trying too hard, and the staff are lovely. I disagree with anybody who thinks it's "scene"-y, and if you'd rather be at some bland chain hotel you'd find in any city in America, I suggest you stay there instead.

The biggest plus may be the beautiful, private roof restaurant, where I passed a lovely afternoon working in the sunshine, among flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds. Not only is it gorgeous, but the food is excellent and I had the world's most amazing server. It's a hidden gem in the neighborhood and I hope it stays that way.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_Sleeper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our second visit over the past 3 years and it remains a place that we would recommend. The rooms are rather dark and dreary, but the bathrooms and shower are terrific. We make the journey though, for the pool on the deck and the great, central location in West Hollywood. Convenient to the bars and action, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: If you don't want to get up early, stay away from rooms on the 3rd floor under the deck/pool. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_L35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I was in LA visiting friends. When in LA, I am usually a Beverly Hills Hotel, Beverly Hilton, Four Seasons kind of person, but this trip I was alone without my family and decided to try something different. I was looking for a kitschy boutique hotel -- and did I ever find it.

When you first walk into the hotel, you are smacked with the scent of sandalwood. I understand the appeal of this, but it is a bit overwhelming. In fact, at timesit was so strong that my nose itched and eyes watered. That being said, the staff is very friendly and helpful and also with a good sense of humor. I arrived a little earlier than expected, but they were able to get me in a room right away and even a bit of an upgraded room. The room was spacious and very well appointed. You can tell there was a lot of thought put into the fixtures as they were not you standard fare, but more stylish and designer. I loved that the bathtub/shower had a nice fixed as well as a handheld shower head. The bed was very comfortable, and the furnishing were more 'homey' not institutional. There was even a nice fireplace that led to the ambiance and original artwork. The closet was a decent size, and had a safe. The room was very clean, and all service was prompt and courteous. Room service seemed reasonably priced for room service. Just make sure to ask what it comes with when ordering. For instance, the omelette does not come with any kind of bread, just mixed greens. The coffee pot is a tad small, but you can squeeze 2 cups out of it.

As for the hotel itself. I believe it is a condo conversion. There is a wonderful rooftop pool that was a relaxing retreat during the day, but at night it turns into quite the 'scene'. Children are not permitted at the pool after noon, and there is definitely a reason why. In fact, I would not recommend the hotel at all if bringing the kids. However, if you are in town for a few days or looking for a nice getaway with the significant other, this is a fabulous hotel.

The hotel has a garage with in and out valet service. The parking was a bit high at $36 a night, but it was definitely convenient.

All in all -- if you something a little out of the ordinary, in a great location, with some serious kitsch while still having a nice luxurious feeling -- this is the place!

Room Tip: when making a reservation, ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wickerlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After the stellar reviews and gorgeous website, I was prepared to fall in love, but up on arrival, I was less than impressed with the overly fragranced, stodgy lobby, and then the frumpily furnished rooms. If you are going to be on the roof 100% of the time and the hotel room is to be used as a staging area for wardrobe changes -- then it's great -- but the rooms are not great and the walls are paper thin.

The rooftop is lovely. The view is nice. Really the only redeeming part of the property. It lacks the history and charm of the older venues in West Hollywood and has no great secret past as an excuse for the musty halls.

They try to pass off the word bohemian in hopes you'll excuse the poorly appointed and tattered furniture. I've seen grandmas decorate from thrift shops with more charm.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you are planning to do a lot of visiting and need a place of rest and respite with character and attention to detail, this place is for you.
The breakfast is a special moment: enjoy a peaceful moment as the sun rises, in a secluded garden-style breakfast terrace. I am sure it loses some of its charm as the day goes and people start assembling close to the swimming pool which is expectedly small. But face it: if you were here to swim, you'd be at the beach.
The rooms were a good size and I definitely recommend the second floor: far enough from the quiet street but not as exposed to the rooftop celebrations. This matters because the building however well refurbished has a couple of giveaways. For instance when in the common areas, you can definitely hear people stepping overhead. The good news is that this does not happen once you are in the rooms.
The food was solid quality and overall reasonably priced, and the service was attentive. There clearly has been a big focus on improving this vs some of the earlier reviews I have read on this site.
The crowds hanging out at this hotel were an interesting mix: starry eyed tourists mingling with Hollywood-type members who have clearly found a playground. Clearly in the evening, a lot of people here knew one another but somehow it did not feel clique-y.
Finally a point for the travellers who do not driver (or are environmentally conscious): there are many good bus lines within easy access of the hotel and you can therefore get a lot of visiting done very conveniently, even if you do not own/rent a car !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling_Chuck_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I live less than 5 miles away from this charming property yet I stay there on any special occasion I can conjure up! It is literally like stepping into a story book. Between the fairy tale like decoration and the bizarre characters (and stars) that stay there - it is just the break from the LA hustle I need a handful of times a year.

Room Tip: rooms are small sop the suites are worth the extra money if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,739 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,038 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,057 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Ermitage

Address: 8822 Cynthia St, West Hollywood, CA 90069-4502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £206 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Ermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned after a private pied-a-terre, Petit Ermitage offers guests an intimate sanctuary in which to take refuge from the bustling city of Los Angeles. Nestled on a quiet street in West Hollywood, but located just steps from the Sunset Strip, Petit features an extensive art collection, eclectic European antiques, custom-crafted mattresses, 618 thread count sheets, in-room fireplaces, balconies and hand-woven Turkish carpets. The Private Rooftop - replete with native gardens, a salt water pool, cabanas, an outdoor sunken fireplace and 360 degree views of the Hollywood Hills - is considered one of the premiere dining spaces in LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Petit Ermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Ermitage Hotel West Hollywood
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit West Hollywood
Valadon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing