We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Correction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I just wanted to correct the review from Antni Finney with whom I travelled on to this hotel with. The bottles of water "kindly" offered to us at check-in, which we thought was a nice touch after a 10hr flight, were in fact, charged to our minibar bill at $7 a piece. No mention was made of this when we arrived, we were merely asked if we'd like a bottle of water after our long trip, which we felt was a great welcome to the hotel.

Had we rejected them if they'd told us we'd be charged for them...? No, we wouldn't but it would have been nice for them to be open/up front at the start, especially when you're tired from travelling.

I took a bottle out of the minibar during the stay so was shocked at check out when I was charged $14 for what I believed was one bottle of water. When I queried the minibar bill at the end of the stay, the lady who checked us out just smirked when I commented that that was quite steep for a bottle of water.

Everything else about the stay was great but a nice touch ended up leaving a bad taste in the mouth - time for a $2 bottle of water from the store down the road......!!

Room cleaning could have been a little better. The previous occupant of the room kindly left us a pair of socks in the wardrobe which the cleaning team had overlooked....

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetePHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry your are under the impression that we charge for water at check-in. Just to let you know we have never charged for this amenity. It is complimentary. The charge your are referring to was for water taken from your minibar. No worries though, I went ahead and adjusted the charge. It seems that, besides this issue, you had a nice visit. Peter, we truly appreciate your patronage and hope to have you back with us again very soon! Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,322 - 1,328 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

The Good: location, vibe, luxury features - the TV mirror is sick. Friendly service. Nice pool deck (though the pool itself is the size of a glorified hot tub). Day bed more comfortable than bed. Great views of downtown LA. Nice bathroom amenities.

The Bad: was promised a king suite but bed was a queen. Queen bed was not comfortable - mattress felt cheap.

The Mark: makes it mostly. Great stylish spot though the Roosevelt and W are still the kings of Hollywood, for now

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymarkhongmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

I am very pleased you had a nice stay with us recently. I do sincerely apologize about the bed size and mattress. Not what we would want you to experience. I do hope this does not keep you from returning. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The rooms are modern, contemporary - elegance with that 'Stark' cutting edge appeal - but honestly, it was the service that made the difference. This hotel is about staff who really do seem to care about its customers. Rare in this day and age!

Peter was our waiter in Asia DC - he was first class. We were there with our daughter - who is nine and we had a short timeframe due to going to a show - Peter made our dining experience so, so enjoyable - Nothing was too much trouble. Plus the food was really exceptional.

In fact everything about this hotel was about what you want when you are away - we felt as though nothing was too much trouble. A "The answer is yes....now what's the question?" mentality.

I called in advance to book a roll away - "We can organize a better room with a sofa - no problem" - we need a quiet room... "Of course - we will put you on the quieter, city side.." And with a smile too...

(We stayed on the Tuesday before Thanksgiving - so it was relatively quite in the hotel)

We actually asked for the duty manager and conveyed our thanks for a lovely stay before our departure - I can't remember the last time I wanted to do that.

A very, very nice stay - and a very, very nice staff. They made our mini 'city break' enjoyable and special - so THANK YOU!

Room Tip: The city side is apparently quieter - our room was fourth floor and we experienced no problem with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturalskincarelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am extremely pleased you had a great stay with us recently. Thank you, as well, for your very nice comments regarding Peter, our Server at Asia De Cuba. I am glad he was able to provide you with great service and a memorable experience. Hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We received a warm welcome at the Mondrian. With complimentary waters on arrival, we were checked in and given a tour of the room promptly.

The suite was a good size overlooking the mansions in the hills at the front of the building. The room was well appointed, with a large wet bar area, sumptuous sofa in the lounge and a really comfortable bed. The mattress was enveloping and the pillows were plump and supportive. The large TVs concealed within the mirrors were an interesting piece of design, but seemed to needlessly take up space in the room. There was plenty of hanging space for clothes in the bedroom. The bathroom/wet room was stocked with nice toiletries, plenty of fluffy towels and was spotlessly clean.

Minor niggles. No in-room tea/coffee making facilities (tho you can get filter coffee in reception from 6am) and the mini bar charges are extortionate... $14 for a bottle of water! Also it felt a bit mean to charge $10 per day for wifi access.

Definitely recommend dining at Asia de Cuba. The service was exceptional and the tasting menu with wine was great value at little over $60 a head. It's worth contacting the hotel before you arrive to make your reservation as it gets pretty busy! Outside dining is probably the way to go with great views out over LA.

As residents at the hotel you are given entry to the sky bar. This is really popular with queues down the street, so it's handy to be able to walk in through the hotel. Both the cocktails and ambience are great.

All in all, a pleasant stay at a design-led hotel that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent visit. I am very happy that it seems we met or exceeded your expectations on many levels. Your patronage is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I have officially named the Mondrian my LA residence. The location is just perfect and it houses one of the top restaurants in LA and top Bar/Lounge in LA too. The service is superb down to the valet and house keeping. I highly recommend it whether you're in LA for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AFA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. That we were able to provide great sevice and a memorable experience is so nice to hear. Thank you for making us your new home and we really look to having you back with us again very soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Decent spot for drinks if you can get in...Drinks were good, crowd was decent, the outdoor area was nice on a November evening, they were doing some works on the back of the hotel, so view was non-existent... Overall though, not as impressed as it gets hyped up to be..

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PhilipFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated. Just to let you know all of our construction on the back wall is now complete. The windows are larger and the view is even more incredible! Come check us out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

STayed here for 4 nigthts on my way to Hawaii. Nice crowd, soso spa, great pool but super noisy at night. The place turns into a nightclub after 10pm on a friday and saturday night. Location is unbelievable with a great view of west hollywood and beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Glad you had a good visit with us recently! Thank you for your nice remarks and hope to have you back with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,752 reviews
West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
The Jeremy West Hollywood
#7 of 19 in West Hollywood
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,096 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £209 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing