We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful large shower in suite room upgrades, with the Sunset strip view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful large shower in suite room upgrades, with the Sunset strip view!”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

I celebrated my birthday for the first time at Mondrian West Hollywood. Modern and funky decor make it feel very Miami vibe. Room rates are pretty pricey, but you get the experience of a special occasion. Bed was quite comfortable with TV in the swivel mirrored furniture piece stand. The bathroom products were nice quality from Malin & Goetz. Very luxurious sizeable shower in our suite. Wonderful pool lounge with city views, which converts to Sky Bar lounge in the evenings. The location is fabulous because it is centrally situated on the Sunset Strip. Valet parking is very pricey too, but it's better than getting an even more expensive parking ticket because West Hollywood is very strict with meter parking. You get a VIP guest pass access into their Sky Bar lounge, upon check in. Sales and guest services took care of me for my special upgrade. But no coffee maker included in the room or courtesy coffee in lobby, so it was a little disappointing. Noise at night can be an issue as this location is very social and lively on the weekends with Sky Bar outside and downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveSchnauzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
So glad you had a wonderful visit with us! Seems you got to enjoy all Mondrian has to offer. Next time please visit our new lobby bar. Coffe/espresso in the am and jager bombs and mojitos in the pm!! We do serve complimentary coffee from 6am to 8am everyday in this location. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    598
    288
    165
    143
See reviews for
202
793
126
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Excellent Hotel with a top quality service. Our room was huge with a king size bed, a sofa and a working desk. The front of the hotel is very discreet and is located on the famous Sunset Blv. The rooms are quiet despite of being in front of the lounge where have been two parties during our stay. The hotel style is modern with beautiful decor. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Even the rooms in front of the lounge are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre Xenofonte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments! Glad the parties didn't bother you..actually, you should have joined in! Hope you had a chance to visit Asia De Cuba, our amazing restaurant, while you were here..if not, you will next time. Thanks, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

stayed here 10 years ago and was lovely, went back last month and very dissappointed, the restaurant on a saturday night had 3 tables and the service was non existant so jumped in a taxi and went to The Beverly Hills hotel instead, the rooms at the mondrian were very small and no hot water on arrival, ver poor and dated has been hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Had you decided to stay for dinner at Asia De Cuba you would have had the opportunity to enjoy the amazing Butterfish and Calamari Salad...possibly a mojito or two? Very surprised the there were only 3 tables on a Saturday night..I'm assuming only 3 tables left? Rgardless, sorry you left and hope you do come back to enjoy soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

As I am travel agent in Australia, I had really done my research on the Mondrian and thought I knew what I had paid for but it was beyond my expectations by far.
During all interactions with staff members I was consistently wowed by their level of service, expertise and care. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was beautiful and looked over Sunset Boulevard. Excellent bathroom and Malin & Goetz toiletries which were a plus, extremely comfortable king size bed, living room, bar area and just so much space!! Amazing contemporary decor as well and their sky bar was a must for cocktails of an evening. 5+ stars and would 100% recommend this again - more often than not people do not give the advice properties deserve!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurarobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Glad you had a "WoW" experience with us!!! Great to hear that you found our accommodations comfortable and our staff friendly and attentive. Hope you got a chance to visit our new Lobby Bar and maybe have some apps and drinks at SKYBAR...if not, next time for sure. Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times. There is nothing wrong with it but there is also nothing super special about it. The issue to me is that the style isn't my taste and I'm not impressed with the whole 'LA attitude' vibe.

I do very much like the hardwood floors. To me, its so much cleaner than old carpets. The shower is great and they do make good use of the space.

The restaurant is delicious which is a good thing, since there isn't much else around that area on Sunset.

If you want a trendy modern space, this is for you.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lunagoddess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
True..we are cool, modern and hip hotel...and we do appreciate if you are not into the "scene" which is LA..but hopefully our kind, polite and professional staff can make up for this. We consider our guests as our "frinds" and have an exceptionally high repeat percentage..hope you add to this percentage very soon! Thanks for your patronage...it is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Get an all inclusive package if you can otherwise the extras can add up but this is typical for LA 4 star hotels. We were upgraded to a balcony standard room which had great views over the pool & towards downtown. Room is stylishly appointed with a great bathroom/ dressing area. Mirror TV is innovative and performs it's double function well. Lifts have funky retro travel videos playing in them- a welcome distraction. The pool is in the bar area and is more for posing by than swimming in. Concierge is fabulous- full of great trips & will efficiently help with all queries- absolutely invaluable to help make the most of the enormity of LA. Asia de Cuba has great poolside views, breakfast server Alex is a wise-cracking New Yorker I could have done without in the mornings. I raised his abrupt manner with the management & was informed he was working on this- hope so (also comp'ed breakfast when his attitude was raised with them so can't really complain). All other staff were unfailingly delightful & went out of their way to assist- I had expected more attitude.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CassiusCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Glad you had a great stay...hope you also got to enjoy our great vies and vibe at Skybar! If not, you missed out and HAVE to come back. Also, please check out our new Lobby Bar...a great alternative if indoors is your thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

And....where's the soap? Okay, a bit of an exaggeration but not by much.
Check-in line took almost half an hour
spartan amenities (pack your bags don't forget anything)
no drawers for your clothes
very vey small closet (okay, I'll put my stuff on the floor)
No coffee maker
Not enough towels
Small sink area (move over - no you move your stuff)
Lightbulbs were out
Tv plug came out often (when you turned it)

Impressive decor - fairy tale style, Alice in wonderland meets Lady GaGa
A lot of car attendants
Beautiful people!
Comfy bed
Great view (but wait for your elevator, if it works)

Room Tip: Don't go for a two bed suite as it is small. Don't settle in until you analyze the room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank educatemassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
You can have as much as you want of whatever you want. Want some more Malin and Goetz bath amenities..you got it! Need extra high quality cotten towels and silky linens...they are yours for the asking! Need a larger room with a bit more closet space...we have that too! It's yours. Ask and you shall receive. Appreciate the gracious feedback...see you soon back here at the Mad Hatter's Tea Party
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,901 reviews
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,026 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,005 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing