We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cool spot”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Great location, updated hotel.....cool pool/bar. Convenient to all the fun that LA has in store! Only disappointment was calling and asking for 2 beds & being told that it was 1st come first serve, then being made to pay $30 per night extra.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Glad you got to enjoy our new updated pool and bar! It is cool; right? Hope you were able to partake in dinner at Asia De Cuba...perhaps enjoying the Butterfish or Short Ribs? Maybe the Cuban Chicken....all amazing! Did you check out our new Lobby Lounge Bar? Great alternative to our ultra hip Skybar...if your mood so desires. Thanks for the nice comments and so happy you had a great visit, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    592
    284
    160
    135
See reviews for
195
781
125
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Drove past it at first as didn't see the address.
Small reception area with one shop and bar area, resteraunt and large outdoor area with lots of places to sit. Pool quite small.
White trendy decor makes it all very clean and bright. Lovely in the evening all candle lit.
Rooms not huge but very nice decor.
Food is Cuban influenced and is lovely. Beautifully served and very nice quality.
Were lucky enough to see a few famous faces here. No names!!!!!
Found the corridors very dark and the pavements outside the hotel on a hill so could be difficult to walk for some .
Has a lovely trendy vibe. Would definitley come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Looks like you had a well rounded stay with us recently. Got to enjoy all the hot spots in the hotel! Not sure if you were able to experience our new Lobby Bar or not but it is a great indoor option. We really appreciate your nice comments and hope to have you back with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Mondrian hotel was built as a apartment building and renovated into a hotel in the mid 1980s.

The rooms are relatively big and quiet considering you are directly in the center of Sunset Strip. Guest services staff are friendly and accommodating. Beds are comfortable. Bathroom is rather small. Nice Hollywood experience all the way around.

Most evenings the hotel hosts events in the pool area so it can get a little wild.

I would suggest the crowd would be of a younger, Hollywood, flash and glam group. If you are looking for a quiet tree lined atmosphere, Mondrian wouldn't suite you.

A big plus; you are within walking distance to restaurants, clubs, and attractions.

Room Tip: I would suggest not selecting a room on the lower level. Bear in mind you are in a busy city center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia-LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Wow..you know the total history of our builing..very impressive. We did a total renovation of our rooms in late 2008 and have recently completed Skybar and the lobby areas. We are as fresh and cool as ever! Next time you are out check out Asia De Cuba and our new Lobby Bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is a little too 'hip' you might think...but its actually better than that.
There is a 'scene' at the pool and bar and its actually pretty fun. The good thing is you can just go up to your South facing upper floor room on the south-east side of the hotel. There you'll have a great view of the city from downtown to Santa Monica.
Service is good, restaurant is good and fun.
Get a suite and enjoy two very big rooms with all the 'kitschy' stuff you might need.
Stay away from the lower floors facing Sunset - a little noisy if you're susceptible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisSaintCalbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Looks like you are totally dialed in to our scene..nice job! Thanks for the shout out and gald you enjoyed the service we provided you. See you this summer....I think so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I celebrated my boyfriend’s birthday by getting a room for the night at the Mondrian West Hollywood. We LOVED everything about this hotel. The decoration of the room was very modern and filled with small detail like a TV in a swivel mirror- way cool! Don’t let me forget about the bathroom we had in our suite, the shower was amazing! And there was enough room for both my boyfriend and I to get ready without bumping into each other. We decided to get a table at the Skybar lounge and it was a lot of fun. It was a normal Sunday night but the place got filled with people enjoying themselves. You can tell the Skybar is a good place to be any night of the week. Overall, everyone at the hotel was extremely nice and I just fell in love with every aspect of the hotel. I would most definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Oh my goodness..both of you in the shower at the same time??? Well then, you fit right in. We like to think of ourselves as a hot and sext urban resort...and seems you teo fit right in! Thank you for the wonderful comments. Make sure you hang at our new Lobby Bar next time you are here. Brings the sexy inside as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

I celebrated my birthday for the first time at Mondrian West Hollywood. Modern and funky decor make it feel very Miami vibe. Room rates are pretty pricey, but you get the experience of a special occasion. Bed was quite comfortable with TV in the swivel mirrored furniture piece stand. The bathroom products were nice quality from Malin & Goetz. Very luxurious sizeable shower in our suite. Wonderful pool lounge with city views, which converts to Sky Bar lounge in the evenings. The location is fabulous because it is centrally situated on the Sunset Strip. Valet parking is very pricey too, but it's better than getting an even more expensive parking ticket because West Hollywood is very strict with meter parking. You get a VIP guest pass access into their Sky Bar lounge, upon check in. Sales and guest services took care of me for my special upgrade. But no coffee maker included in the room or courtesy coffee in lobby, so it was a little disappointing. Noise at night can be an issue as this location is very social and lively on the weekends with Sky Bar outside and downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveSchnauzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
So glad you had a wonderful visit with us! Seems you got to enjoy all Mondrian has to offer. Next time please visit our new lobby bar. Coffe/espresso in the am and jager bombs and mojitos in the pm!! We do serve complimentary coffee from 6am to 8am everyday in this location. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Excellent Hotel with a top quality service. Our room was huge with a king size bed, a sofa and a working desk. The front of the hotel is very discreet and is located on the famous Sunset Blv. The rooms are quiet despite of being in front of the lounge where have been two parties during our stay. The hotel style is modern with beautiful decor. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Even the rooms in front of the lounge are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre Xenofonte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich O, Hotel Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments! Glad the parties didn't bother you..actually, you should have joined in! Hope you had a chance to visit Asia De Cuba, our amazing restaurant, while you were here..if not, you will next time. Thanks, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
2,814 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,663 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
984 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,002 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 19 in West Hollywood
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing