We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Los Angeles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best of Los Angeles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The Mondrian Hotel was kind enough to house this LA native while the burst pipes in my apartment were fixed. The staff took such great care and went out of their way to make this glamorous jewel feel like my home. There is non better in LA.
The refurbished rooms blew me away- so chic, yet not pretentious. The Malin & Goetz bath products rank as some of my favorites. I order dinner in my room and it was quick and delicious. (I always try the hamburger wherever I stay. This short rib burger ranks as one of the best).
The Morgans Group hotels are in a class by themselves. Yet also affordable for the traveller who can spend a little bit more without wanted to drain the bank.
The staff go out of their way to be accommodating and welcoming.
My only complaint, which I have for all LA hotels is the overnight valet cost is outrageous.
But that's a small complaint when you're dealing with one of the best hotels in town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank barrettny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our hotel. We really take pride in making sure all of our guest have nothing but the best experience with us.
I am so happy that we accommodated you during what must have been a difficult time for you. It's never a fun experience when pipes burst into your house.

Did you get a chance to experience our new restaurant Herringbone? It's delicious and Thomas Schoos did an incredible job designing the space. I would love to show you around if you have a chance (I will take care of the parking ;) )

See you in the neighborhood.

Nicolas
nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    577
    271
    153
    128
See reviews for
190
758
123
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the Mondrian Los Angeles.Rooms were amazing.Front desk staff was wonderful and staff at the new restaurant Herringbones was great.one exception ...your security was rude and unprofessional.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mabaAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to fill out this review.
I am glad that you had a great stay and had the opportunity of enjoying our new restaurant Herringbone. The fact that you find our security staff rude and unprofessional is concerning to me and I would love to know what happened. You can contact me directly at nicolas.black@mhgc.com.

Nicolas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My stay at the Mondrian was excellent in many ways. Comfortable, stylish rooms. Very prompt room service with good food. Great front desk and concierge service. The problem: I stayed at the hotel for four nights. On two of these nights there were guests up all night on my floor partying and talking very loudly in the hallway. I called the front desk multiple times and I'm sure they did their best but the noise continued. I could not sleep. I've heard from others that this is not uncommon at this hotel. I hope the Mondrian can find some way to solve this as, otherwise, the hotel was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Sara,

I am glad that you are stay was excellent in many ways . I am so sorry to read that your night was disturbed by some disrespectful guests. Our security team patrols our property and our guest floors on a constant basis but I apologized if they were not able to get there on a timely manner to stop the noise.
Please do not hesitate contacting me if you plan to come visit LA. I would love to be your ally for the future.

Nicolas
Hotel Manager
nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Control. Your. Security.

You would think that such a "fancy, high class hotel" would have given their security proper training opposed to treating anyone who even LOOKS like a teenager complete crap. Re-evaluate your staff.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you have teenage girls, unless you want to be treated horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Hannah,

I would love to hear what happened exactly that you feel this way. please feel free to contact me directly. My e- mail address is listed below.

Unfortunately we had some celebrities this past week-end who went ahead and released information about where they were staying and therefore many parents decided to book rooms at our hotel in hopes their daughter would be able to meet with them. Some of the teenage daughters were left unsupervised and thought it would be a great idea to wander the hallways and knock at the doors of all guestrooms in hopes that their idols would answer the door. As you can imagine, we had to take immediate action as our number one priority is the safety and privacy of all of our guests. I am again sorry if you felt like we were too abrasive.

Sincerely,

Nicolas
Hotel Manager

nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My friends and I were so excited to stay in such a fancy hotel. The price was a stretch for us but we split the cost for a fun night out. Evidently there was a band staying at the hotel that night and the place was swarming with excited teen girls hoping to get a glimpse. My friends and I went out that evening and when we walked back into the lobby and were greeted by THREE security guards who angrily let us know that "IF" we were staying with teen girls and "IF" they see them in the halls or running in the lobby tonight, we will be thrown out. I was berated in a public place for something I did not even do. The teen girls did not bother us one bit. It was kind of cute to see them all around so anxious to see their idols. It was the security that was a nuisance. They were constantly questioning us and making us feel as if we had no business being in the hotel at all. It seems that if they have a hotel in Hollywood, they should know how to handle a situation like this a little better. To say that this hotel was not warm and welcoming would be an understatement. For the entire stay I felt that I was constantly reminded that I was not in my element and I did not belong. When we were leaving we talking to another gentleman that was staying with his two teen girls and he said his treatment was the same and he would never stay at this place again. He said if the hotel is for 21 and older it should be stated as such. I agree.

The room was lovely and the view was fabulous but to be treated as second class when you pay a first class rate was beyond disappointing. I was happy to leave. This is a hotel for young adults who want the party scene - not a relaxing place for sightseers or for families with young teenage girls apparently.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Michelle,

I am sorry to read about your experience at our hotel. As you can read in many Tripadvisor reviews, our staff is friendly and goes above and beyond to make our guests always feel like they are at home. I am disappointed that you did not find this to be the case.
I would love to speak further about your stay if you have a chance.

My sincere apologies again if we did not meet your expectations.

Nicolas
Hotel Manager

nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Always have been a fan of this hotel. I had friends stay here over the weekend and as always they were pleased with their stay, we spent Saturday night enjoying the Skybar and had a nice time but the new restaurant food odor was taking over the whole lobby. Everything smelled like friend fish. Such a turn off.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Schugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello Shuggie,

Pleased to read that you are a big fan of Mondrian. As for the odor in the lobby on Saturday night I am not sure what it was but our new restaurant does not serve any fried dishes. I have not heard any other complaints about the smell but I will definitely look into this.
Let me know next time you plan on coming here as I would love to invite you for a cocktail at our new restaurant so that you can see what we are all about.

Nicolas
Hotel Manager

nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Mondrian West Hollywood, the original boutique design hotel in L.A. still lives up to its promise. The lobby is clean, minimalist yet bright and cheerful. Even after the renovation, still retains its whimsy (there is a swing in the lobby). I was upgraded to junior studio which was about 500+ square feet. It had a large separate seating area, panoramic views West towards downtown, a wet bar, and of course the very designed and glassed-in shower (visible to the rest of the room if desired). The bed was a California-king size and very fluffy although a bit soft for my taste (I prefer a very firm mattress). High-speed Internet was included which was refreshing. Surprisingly, the hotel was walking distance from most points I was going to while in L.A. including an Equinox gym. Like all of L.A. a car is absolutely necessary or prepare for spending more on taxis. The staff was very friendly (this is Southern Cali after all), professional and attentive without being overbearing. The Skybar is still fun. While I was there they were preparing to reopen the restaurant but still provided a full sit-down breakfast. Skybar has excellent drinks and pool-side food (sandwiches, burgers, etc.).

Pluses: Location, style, comfort, service.
Minuses: Valet is expensive (as are all hotels of this kind). Restaurant is pricey but good.

Room Tip: Like many hotels, if you arrive early, you may get upgraded at a nominal fee to a much more luxuriou...
See more room tips
Green Features: Typical energy efficient bulbs, dimmers and zoned temperature control. Option to have linens/towels changes every few days to save energy
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas-JB, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello Ted,

Very happy knowing that you keep staying at Mondrian every time you come to LA. Next time you will be pleasantly surprise with our new restaurant Herringbone which was not open during your last stay.
You summed up everything about what Mondrian is all about, please make sure to contact me directly next time you plan a visit to West Hollywood so that I can help you book a reservation and be your ally. Thank you for your repeat business.

Cheers,

Nicolas
Hotel Manager

nicolas.black@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#11 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing