We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool design and a happenning scene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I decided to stay at the Mondrian in West Hollywood to catch up with friends over the weekend. I had first wanted to stay at the Andaz, but given that the two hotels are so close I was pleased to have chosen the Mondrian.

The room experience is very nice. Clean design and nice use of high end furnishings with soft comfort. The treatment of the TV inside the mount swiveling between the bed and sitting area was thoughtful as was the contents of the minibar, once again demonstrating that a little thought and originality can go a long way.

I dined in the restaurant on the Sunday morning, which has a lovely view over the city of Los Angeles, although the table that I was at in the corner was a little warm as the air conditioning could not penetrate due to a supporting pillar. Otherwise, nice food and friendly staff, although the attentiveness of the service tailed off later in the meal, causing me to have to get someone's attention.

On the Saturday night the hotel creates quite the scene on the pool deck and surrounding areas with the who's who and beautiful people out for a good night. Very Las Vegas in a Californian way. Happening would be the word. I could have made better of the experience if was in better condition. Suffice to say, it had been a long afternoon.

The bed was very comfortable and I was able to sleep late, although as the morning rolls on you do get some road noise if facing Sunset Boulevard.

I didn't experience it, but the property has a Sunday session around the pool. Once again, very Las Vegas, with a bit more sophistication and on a smaller scale.

The property is well situated to enjoy being in Hollywood and I was able to walk a comfortable distance to most places that I wanted to visit. A short Taxi Ride down to Melrose or the main shopping areas.

Overall, the staff were cheery and pleasant, where I have found in hotels/places like this sometimes can be a little stuffy or pretentious. Not here. Wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Im_a_travlin_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello There,
Im_a_travlin_fool

Thank you for the great feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the scene. Please let me know should your traveling brings you back to LA feel free to reach out to me directly at luis.saldana@mhgc.com.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I was there on business and stayed for 6 days. I had arrived very late and was starved so ordered room service. It arrived very quickly so I was very grateful for that.

I had a studio on the 12th floor and had an awesome view of the city. The room was quirky, girly, glam, fabulous. The room was pristine and the bath amenities were very wonderfully lush. The AC was noiseless so sleep was perfect.

The Herringbone restaurant downstairs served some delicious meals, though on the pricey side. Two of my favorites were the 10-hr pork appetizer and the rack of lamb entree. In both cases, the meat was super tender and flavourful.

Service was friendly and professional. I would come back here for sure.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on one of the higher floors for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Junibugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Junibugs,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us even though you were here on business, its good to make some time for yourself. Thank you for the positive feed back about the hotel and Herringbone. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you come back to LA.

Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights at the end of May as part of my 50th birthday present to myself. I loved it as the staff made me feel really welcome. My room was very nice and the telly behind the mirror was certainly a great feature. I also got free wifi when they found out it was my first time in the USA.
When one of the bar staff found out I was going to Las Vegas, he gave me some good tips on where to go and which shows to see. The concierge was very helpful and showed me on a map exactly where to go and how to get there.
I loved it, thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi Clairew,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to me should you be traveling back to LA in the near future.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and our two daughters checked into the Mondrian last Friday night. From the valet, check in and bell hop the team could not have been better. The rooms were very fresh, great amenities, television etc. We particularly liked the TV's located behind the mirrors, the amenity items.....etc. I thought the mini bar and the practical purchase items were great! Flip flops, socks, snacks, etc. Great thought was put into every item. The cafe / dinning room was excellent~! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello Richard,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your trip with your family. Please feel free to reach out to me directly on your next visit here.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This was the start of our honeymoon and as soon as we arrived the staff were all really friendly and helpful. We actually ended up getting our room upgraded and also free wifi because it was our honeymoon which was nice. The room was really nice we had a double head shower and a large sitting area. The only downsides that we found were that the aircon took a while to cool the room down and as it wasnt near the bed you didnt feel it for a while and also if you have a car and use valet try and not get your car out at night when the restaurant is busy as it will take a long time to get your car.

We didnt eat at the restaurant or go to the skybar really. We went out there a couple of times to have a look as its really nice out there but cant comment on the food or service.

All in all i would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. We have stayed at another hotel really close to this one a couple of years ago but much prefer Mondrian.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi Nathan,

Congratulations, we are glad you stayed with us on this special occasion. Thank you for the great feedback. We will definitely address the AC issue as well as the valet concern. Please feel free to reach out to me directly when you plan your next trip to LA.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel just after Memorial day last month for three nights - What a hotel!! We checked in on Memorial day and there was a pool party going on in their Sky bar that day.. This hotel does surely attract a lot of the rich and famous - as was evident by the people in the party!

We also got upgraded and our rooms were magnificent! The staff at the reception were very polite and gave us a lot of recommendations of places to eat, clubs to go to, etc.

The bell boys/valet guys at the entrance were the best! They were always very sweet and went the extra mile - whether it was flagging taxis for us, giving us wake up calls, etc.

All in all - this hotel, even though it could get very expensive, is worth every penny! Will make sure i look out for this group's hotels, whenever I travel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the higher floors have a better view, you also cannot hear the music from the bar - whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suraj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi Suraj,

We are glad you had a great time with us, please reach out to me directly should you return in the near future.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed with a friend in the Mondrian for 3 nights a year ago. Very cool, stylish lobby, chic and modern decor in the rooms as well. The rooms were a little small but not too bad. The highlight was definitely the pool, and also the bar scene at night. Service was decent but nothing special. All in all a great hotel though, well worth the stay, for those looking for something in Hollywood that is modern and a little funky.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello Jeremy,

Thank you for your honest feedback, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay overall. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you visit LA in the near future.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#6 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,740 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
3,038 reviews
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#14 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
436 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range: £223 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing