We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential to be good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Potential to be good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here this past Mon-tues night. They were hosting an event for the espys with red carpet and all. I left the hotel and then had trouble getting back in due to the security for the event. I told them I was staying at the hotel but they made me cross the road (in the middle of on-coming traffic) and then recross in front of the hotel to get in because the sidewalk in front of the hotel was "closed." Then to top it off my room was directly above the red carpet so I had to keep my shades closed all night because of all the camera flashes. My stay Monday wasn't very relaxing or welcoming. The grounds themselves were nice and the pool is relaxing. Pool staff was attentive. All and all I think it has the potential to be better- they just need to focus on guests more and hosting events as second.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Ross,

Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at luis.saldana@mhgc.com should you visit the LA area again in the near future. I would like to invite you back.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    577
    271
    153
    128
See reviews for
190
758
123
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at the Mondrian last weekend and it was an unforgettable experience. First of all, the hotel smells like paradise. Just walking in, I knew my visit would be a delight. When I got to my room, I was totally taken by it. There was an incredible view of Los Angeles and the room was decorated in white, so it was super sexy. Housekeeping was on top of everything and the service was so nice. I went downstairs to lay out at Skybar and all of the servers and bartenders were fast and friendly. The crowd was attractive, young and hip, and the DJ played music fitting for a sexy summer pool party. It was very reminiscent of a Miami vibe, yet still with a sense of calm. Above all else, I was incredibly pleased because I lost my cell phone at Skybar, and they returned it to me the next morning. A+ experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeSpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello SkyeSpence,

Thank you for the great feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the vibe at SKYBAR. Please feel free to reach out to me directly on your next visit at luis.saldana@mhgc.com

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My most recent experience at the Mondrian was nothing short of fabulous. From the sweeping city views from my room to the attentitve staff, there's no wonder why this hotel is my top Los Angeles pick!

Room Tip: I have stayed here about 10 times and no matter what, there's always a good view from the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Michael S,

I am happy that Mondrian is your hotel of choice and value your feedback. Please reach out to me directly on your next visit at Luis.Saldana@mhgc.com. I would like the opportunity to personally meet and greet you.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I spent 2 nights at the mondrian, it was ok i guess but for the price you would expect more. The rooms where spacious and had a lovely bathroom and view. I could see sky bar from my room. there were a lot of diners and restaraunts around as well as shops so that was nice but other than that it was average.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0sann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi R0sann,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoy your time here with us at Mondrian. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at Luis.Saldana@mhgc.com should you visit the LA area again.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for a friend's birthday weekend and had an overall wonderful experience! The room was beautiful with an amazing view of the Los Angeles skyline & was on the 7th floor. I was greeted warmly by the concierge as well as with a handwritten note from the general manager in my room which was immaculately clean & aesthetically pleasing.

The restaurant in the hotel was also wonderful and originates from a Top Chef hailing from San Diego.

In comparison to the hotel and the restaurant, Skybar was a bit of a letdown; don't expect to swim during the day unless you're wearing your 4" stiletto heels, & by night expect a scene...

In summary, I loved the hotel and restaurant but could have skipped the Skybar. Thank you for a truly fabulous stay in LA!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrene_R_Dz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello Andrene_R_Dz,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your time with your friends. Thank you for the positive feedback. Please feel free to reach out to me directly on your next visit at luis.saldana@mhgc.com.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Wow. Thank you Mondrian for such an incredible weekend. I booked a stay here for a surprise birthday weekend for my boyfriend for his birthday. From the second we arrived we couldn't have been more impressed with the hotel and service. We were told straight away we had been updated to a suite which made the trip even more special. The room was impeccable. Usually you stay in a hotel and the lobby/restaurant area is nice then the rooms are a little dated. Not the case in any way. Whenever we needed help or service, the approach was consistently friendly and extremely helpful.

We've stayed at the Roosevelt and Chateau Marmont before and feel this is by far the best. The bar and restaurant is amazing. Location, you couldn't ask for any better. Wish I could mention all the staff we came into contact with but only got Garret and Jenni from the Front Desk's names, incredibly helpful trying to find a club for us to visit, couldn't have done more. Had a fab time @ Greystone Manor just down the road.

Back in September for my next stay, can't wait!! Thanks again!

Room Tip: Don't worry if your room faces onto the pool area, enjoy the view! We weren't disturbed by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahpatonbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Sarah,

We are glad you had an amazing time here with and I am looking forward for your next visit. Please feel free to reach out to me directly in September at Luis.Saldana@mhgc.com. I would like to personally welcome you back.

Regards,
Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is cool, hip and trendy blah blah blah. I like it. Its in a good location. Some of the staff are magnificent and well some are just the pits. I would have given this hotel a far higher rating but then they screwed up so badly that after i finish writing this review i am going to check out and forfeit tonights stay at a cost

So my girlfriend thought it would be fun to stay at the mondrian, she heard good things from a friend and she did all the bookings... great i thought to myself but that was until we decided to use the pool. At 300+ a night you would think the hotel would let you use the pool? Its california in the summer after all. Its hot and you would like to take advantage of the sun. Not at this hotel. We went down to the pool and there we encountered a door man, as a hotel guest i was not permitted into the pool area, i was not on anyones guest list, i had to pay $40 per person to go to the pool. A little steep i thought. I went to reception and they sorted it out so i could go to the pool. Forget swimming, forget laying by the pool. It was just a giant gathering of grease. I have never seen so much hair gel and oiled up bodies in my life mixed in with the most insanely dressed women. If these women were attractive then maybe this would be another story. But they werent. Women in pleather dresses with fake Louis Vuitton purses standing next to topless meat heads with slicked back gelled heads. Oh what a scene!

There was no where to sit. It was just a truly painful experience. (find attached a picture). So we head back to the room where people are drunk falling over themselves in the lobby. Forget the valet area, thats a complete mess. No one at the pool was a hotel guest. TOTAL NIGHTMARE.

I just voicing my concerns, no one cared. I was not on a guest list.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KaspXhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Manager at Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi KaspXhotels,

First thank you for your feedback, I would like to get more information regarding your experience here at Mondrian. This is definitely not how we do business. Would you please reach out to me directly at your earliest convenience at luis.saldana@mhgc.com.

Looking forward in hearing from you.

Luis
luis.saldana@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#10 of 18 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel

Property: Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Address: 8440 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#8 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mondrian LA is a parallel universe of perpetual possibility. Rejuvenated by Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz, this luxury boutique hotel in the heart of West Hollywood captures everything the Strip stands for - excitement, invincibility and glamour. Entering Mondrian through its signature, thirty-foot mahogany doors, guests will find the recently expanded lobby, accented with hues of deep purple and complemented by custom-designed furniture, a Lucite indoor swing and a mushroom-inspired concierge desk. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is offered in the lobby. Ivory On Sunset, a restaurant which is a collaboration with John Terzian of The h.wood Group, Built Inc. and Hakkasan Group, celebrates California cuisine and comfort foods to encourage diners to embrace the restaurant's communal philosophy, while our Lobby Bar serves a full cafe menu in the morning and small plates in the evening. Up in the sky, amid the clouds of Los Angeles, guests can enjoy the stunning view from our Skybar lounge, Los Angeles' mainstay for nightlife. Exxhibit Boutique, our gift shop, offers curated items tailored for the LA scene. Mondrian is located right on the Sunset Strip, close to Fox Studios, Paramount Pictures, Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Hollywood Hills, Santa Monica, Rodeo Drive and Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel West Hollywood
Mondrian Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing