We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad....”
Review of Holloway Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Hollywood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holloway Motel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I can't understand the only negative comments here. I've been to Holloway in 2010, 2011 and 2012. The rooms are in poor condition, but clean. The "front desk" is most certanly not "five stars" but effective and friendly. The value of money is great, specialy if you consider the location and "free parking". We spend one night in another motel (just oposide to Holloway). It was way wroste (less friendly staff and even poorer condition of the room). If you want a good hotel: Go somewhere else. If you want a cheap place to sleep in West Hollywood: Holloway Motel is the place to be.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Holloway Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Rude staff, no security, couple opened our door with a key to a different room and said sorry wrong room, complained to staff, couldn't care less. Just don't stay here, plenty of better places, a DUMP!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helenm2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you want to stay in a sewer you have the perfect place. Insane Management, Rude, and not guest oriented. Room Smelled and had Bedbugs. If you shower wear your shoes. I have seen cleaner alleys. You might as well hand your money to a homeless person, at least they will not treat you like dirt. Be warned.. Jeff

Room Tip: Any where but here!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveljunki039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Very simple STAY AWAY
Filthy place, rude manager and staff and the smell. I wonder what died there.
Not worth my effects to say more TRUST ME STAY FAR FAR AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I have stayed at the Holloway three times, and I have never had a problem with the hotel staff. Maybe a little "folksy", but never mean. I don't know what all the negative reviews are about, as I had a good experience each time. The price is great and the room is always clean and comfortable, and I appreciate the free parking, just get back soon enough because the lot does fill up. Within walking distance to the Weho bars, and the IHOP next door is great for a hearty breakfast the next morning. Room Tip: If you have a hot date, try not to make too much noise in the room, or the one next door might hear, as it's an older building, uh-oh! But reminds me of the Old Hollywood (it is well maintained). And don't forget to have fun!

Room Tip: Manager knows the rooms, and each one is different, so ask about the room description.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I stayed at this motel in 2008 and was prepared to overlook the managers rudeness because it seemed to be good value.

This week I suggested that a friend should stay here as it is within easy access of the bars and clubs. Whilst checking in the manager asked if my friend was parking a car to which she replied no. I said that I was driving her and had parked my car here, but he did not here. When my friend was taking her case to her room I asked if he needed the car registration or should I just leave it where it was...

The manager went off saying that I was telling him I would park there and not asking, swearing at me, insulting me, saying 'you are nothing in this town' etc so on and so forth.

I told the manager that I had stayed here and referred my friend and that he could be more polite, but he said that he didn't my referrals, didn't want my business and to go and get my friend for a refund because she was would be thrown out and banned.

Trying to appease the situation I told the manager that my problem was with me and not my friend, but he was resolute. So had to endure the embarrassing task of telling my friend I had had her thrown out and banned from a hotel in the first time in her life.

I would love to say that he will lose business, but he is in a great location and he knows it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faran_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I made a reservation for one room at this motel for one night.I got there that night and the office was close.I left the motel and i rent one room to an other hotel close to this one .When i receve my credit card statment i realize that i was charged $91 from Halloway motel for that night.When i called to talk to the manager to tell him that i did not stay at his place but i was charged for that night this guy asked me to call him back for him to verify .I called him back after one week and he started to yell at me, call me liar and when a told him that i am going to make a complain he threatening me saying that he is coming to my home town and KILL ME,that he knows my phone nr.and my address, he call me all kind of ,,names,, and he used all kind of realy bad language i can "t even can tell you what was coming from his mouth .Believe this guy is a freak,very dangeros crazy and he should not be in this business.Please stay away from this place .My big mistake it was that i did not read the bad reviews before i call to make that reservation.I am happy that i did not stay there ,PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THAT PLACE IT IS SCARY ......

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank ciprian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,701 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
West Hollywood
Grafton on Sunset
Grafton on Sunset
#9 of 19 in West Hollywood
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
Le Montrose Suite Hotel
#13 of 19 in West Hollywood
989 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,022 reviews
West Hollywood
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holloway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holloway Motel

Address: 8465 Santa Monica Blvd, West Hollywood, CA
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Holloway Hotel West Hollywood
Holloway Motel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing