We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school Hollywood”
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Marmont
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old school Hollywood”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A piece of LA history. Hidden away this place is the perfect bolt hole to recover from a breakdown, have a mad affair, write that screenplay or just laze around the pool having delicious food and drinks brought to you before heading back to your bungalow and then on to dinner in the gorgeous restaurant.

Room Tip: Garden bungalow is a treat - old world feel to it, personalised notepaper is a special touch. Not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guliver101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    87
    29
    31
    26
See reviews for
49
172
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is great. The rooms are dated but that's part of the character. We loved our kitchen with the old fridge etc.

Service was excellent until exactly 6pm. At this point the great and the good turned up, and then we felt like impostors rather than guests. We asked for a restaurant table for two and were offered a 9.45pm seating which we declined. We were sent to the Marmont bar down the street instead. Good food and atmosphere but felt we'd been kicked downstairs a bit.

On returning we had a few drinks in the drawing room which was great, although a bit deserted. Our time there seemed to be at the pleasure of our waiter who dictated when we pay our bill, and once we had signed the check swiped it up whilst talking to somebody else and without so much as an acknowledgement - we were amused by the rudeness. Glad to have paid a 20% tip there. Why we had to pay some three hours before closing was a bit of a mystery.

We asked if we could sit in the courtyard which had more of an atmosphere but we were told that in order to get a table there we had to ask permission from a hostess who we had to queue to talk to. Several overly groomed individuals stood between us and our goal. We gave up and retreated to our cottage.

It's worth staying here and during the day it's lovely. But in the evening you need to have the nouse to deal with the waiters and maître'ds. We couldn't work out the technique.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank hpw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights and had a great time. My room was spacious and very clean. All of the hotel staff were very kind and accommodating. I ate at the hotel bar and had room service brought up a few times and the food was excellent.

My only complaint was the bathroom. Normally the hotel bathroom is one of my favorite places on a trip; unlimited hot water in a shower is hard to beat. In this case the bathroom was cramped. A good portion of the tile in the shower had been damaged at some point and just cemented over instead of being replaced with new tiles. The shower head was covered in hard water deposits and sprayed water everywhere. The tub I was showering in was very narrow increasing the sense of being closed in.

These guys are well deserving of the 4 stars I gave them, and I'm nitpicking a bit. But an updated bathroom situation would probably have pushed me up to 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have stayed here a number of times when visiting Los Angeles and it never fails to impress me. It is part of the very soul of LA. This is definitely one of those places that could tell a few stories if walls could talk.

The hotel was was designed around the Château d'Amboise, a spectacular villa in France's Loire Valley and built in 1927. It opened two years later. It was originally an apartment block and was described as “Los Angeles’s newest, finest and most exclusive apartment house ... superbly situated, close enough to active businesses to be accessible and far enough away to ensure quiet and privacy.” That didn't save it from the Great Depression though and shortly after it opened it was sold and converted to a hotel.

Bar Marmont and the main hotel restaurant both feature wonderful, delicious, market-fresh California cuisine.

The hotel is steeped in history. Sofia Coppola shot her film Somewhere at the hotel in 2010. The opening scene of The Canyons was shot at the Bar Marmont. Lana Del Rey sings of the hotel in many of her songs on her album Born to Die.

Annie Leibovitz, Dorothy Parker, Bruce Weber, Hunter S. Thompson, Tim Burton, Jay McInerney, Sofia Coppola, F. Scott Fitzgerald, among others, have all worked from the hotel.

If you go to the bar (or sit on the terrace you have to have a Martini. They are the crispiest martinis in the world (well LA anyway).

John Belushi died of a drug overdose in the Spanish Cottage that we stayed in (luckily a number of years earlier), Jim Morrison almost managed a heavily drug-fueled leap from a fourth-floor window trying to reach the pool (he didn't make it).

The hotel gradually fell into disrepair until being sold a number of years ago to hotelier André Balazs who completely revived it from near-dereliction. Now The Chateau (in LA speak) is enjoying its own celebrity.

If you are staying in LA give The Chateau a go - even if its only for one night. It is a piece of LA's history that is really worth enjoying.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights during our honeymoon.
We booked a bedroom but were upgraded to a huggggeee one bedroom suite.
We were also treated to welcome chocolates and wine which was a lovely touch.
The hotel itself is stunning - an ornate chateau in the middle of commercial west Hollywood.
The hotel is old and quaint and much of the communal areas are quite old fashioned. Small reception but with very friendly staff.
We had lunch at the hotel which was delicious. The outdoor patio restaurant attracts all manner of people hence it can be difficult to concentrate on your food rather than your neighbours conversation.
The pool area is lovely, fairly small but very pretty. With all the trees and plants you feel worlds away from the busy street just outside.
We visited Bar Marmont after dinner on the Sat night. It was very busy but as guests at the hotel we were given a table.
We had room service breakfast which was nice if a little pricey.
The room itself was a big suite - large sitting room, separate kitchen, bedroom and a bathroom. All nice and smart only complaint was the bathroom was quite dated and in need of an update. You can probably find much smarter rooms in Hollywood for less of a cost.
We stayed on the 2nd floor nearest the bungalows so it was a little noisy, especially one night there was a big party but I doubt there's many hotels in Hollywood that don't suffer from noise disturbance on a fri/sat night.
We can see why celebs love this hotel. It's a pretty property, tucked away, with great food and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Chateau Marmont is a trip back to another time. Nestled in the Hollywood hillside it takes you away from the city. Once inside you get the feel of the 1920s with 40s/50s decor. The service was good. The front desk, valets, and bellman were attentive and warm. Unfortunately, there was construction in the street behind our room in the morning which was a bit noisy and the blonde hostess at the restaurant seemed dismissive as if we were just looking around until I clarified that we were guests. But that's not the point in staying here which is why I still give it 5 stars. What a treat to have such an experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ackad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at the chateau marmont on three occations have stayed in standard room junior suite and garden cottage being my first choice it is so private being just of sunset strip it is so quiet,the resturant food is good too,staff are friendly they even remembered us from the last visit, highly recommend at least one night stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sequinstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Property: Chateau Marmont
Address: 8221 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046-2484
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Marmont 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing